The Restless Gun (TV Series 1957–1959) Poster


Episode List


Season 2

22 Sep. 1958
Jebediah Bonner
To explain to a young boy why he tries not to kill in gunfights, Vint relates to him the story of his grandfather, and how he dealt with a young hoodlum bent on revenge.
29 Sep. 1958
Dragon for a Day
After a minister and his wife are killed by Yaqui renegades, their young son vows to avenge their deaths by killing 200 of the tribe. Vint hopes to talk some sense into the boy before it's too late.
6 Oct. 1958
At the dying request of an old buffalo hunter friend, Vint brings the man's uneducated, unkempt, and poorly mannered daughter to town with him in the hopes of transforming her into a lady.
13 Oct. 1958
Thunder Alley
Vint and a sheriff locate two Mexicans they have been pursuing for horse stealing. One escapes, but Vint is shocked to witness the sheriff shoot down the other one while he has his hands up. Vint decides to continue the pursuit of the other thief, if only to make sure he is brought in alive. When he locates the man, along with his beautiful sister, he learns the sheriff has been lying to him about many things.
20 Oct. 1958
The Nowhere Kid
A cocky and cynical young man who just came into town looking for a saloon woman is the main suspect when a robbery takes place, but is released as there are no witnesses to identify him. The teenage daughter of Vint's rancher friend is smitten with the young man, much to her father's chagrin. Vint tries to see if he can change the hotheaded youth or else discourage the girl from him.
3 Nov. 1958
Bonner's Squaw
Just after Vint manages to avert war between the Indians and a white town, a new situation arises: he finds the chief's daughter sleeping in his room, wishing to become his wife. The chief says that according to custom Vint must marry her by the evening or war will be declared on the town again.
10 Nov. 1958
While riding in an area where road agents have recently held up a stage and killed three men, Vint is himself held up by a rather inept would-be road agent, who happens to be a young woman, and who manages to save his life.
17 Nov. 1958
Remember the Dead
Vint comes to the town of Dobie with evidence clearing a resident of murder, only to find that the man has already been convicted and hanged. Though the town's residents want him to leave because he reminds them of their mistake, Vint is determined to stay until he finds the real killer.
24 Nov. 1958
No Way to Kill
Vint joins with a sheriff and posse in tracking an escaped killer who is avenging his maiming by shooting his victims repeatedly in the arm and leg before killing them.
1 Dec. 1958
Take Me Home
Vint learns that a gambling house worker he knows is the daughter of a Quaker couple who believe she is dead. The girl is in an abusive relationship with the owner of the gambling house, who will not let her leave him.
8 Dec. 1958
Multiply One Boy
Vint brings an orphaned Southern boy to live with his Northern uncle's family. But the boy still has resentments toward the North, and is angry that his uncle fought on a different side from his father, who was killed in the war.
15 Dec. 1958
After being forced to kill a young hood in self defense, Vint rides to the man's sister's ranch, only to find she has already put out a bounty on him for shooting her brother in the back. Since she does not know who he is, Vint works for her under a different name, until he can convince her the killing did not happen in the way she was told.
22 Dec. 1958
A Bell for Santo Domingo
A priest asks Vint to accompany him, along with two nuns, to check on the status of a mission in the midst of hostile Indian territory. Vint agrees, even though he knows that whites are forbidden in the area and are not known to have ever returned alive.
29 Dec. 1958
The Way Back
Vint's friend Olaf Burland plans to take his newly earned money back to his farm in native Minnesota, but Vint fears that the gullible Olaf will be easy prey for some who want to separate him from the money and will use any trick to do it. A crooked trail hand and a saloon owner plan to do just that, with the help of a saloon hostess who actually has desires similar to Olaf's.
5 Jan. 1959
The Painted Beauty
An artist begins painting a portrait of a saloon girl, much to the displeasure of the owner of the saloon, who regards her as his woman, and thinks that the portrait, which will be hung on his wall, will show more of her than he wants to share with others.
12 Jan. 1959
Shadow of a Gunfighter
Vint takes the son of an ex-gunfighter friend out of a saloon where the young man was in danger of losing all the money he had just received from his first trail drive. The boy is ashamed of his father's past and refuses to go back with Vint, but lets Vint take the money back to his father. When Vint comes to the father's ranch he learns that the boy has been killed, that he has been accused of the murder, and that the father plans to avenge his son's death in a showdown with him.
19 Jan. 1959
The Lady and the Gun
Vint is infuriated when he learns that a young woman has taken his horse Scar for a joyride, but his anger quickly evaporates when he meets the girl, and soon falls in love with her.
2 Feb. 1959
Blood of Courage
A rancher, a former major in the Confederate Army, asks Vint to hire on as a ramrod, to be paired with another ramrod whom Vint dislikes. Vint soon learns that the other ramrod has plans to take the ranch for himself, taking advantage of an embarrassing secret he has learned about the Major.

« Season 1 |  Season 2 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page