The Real McCoys (TV Series 1957–1963) Poster


Episode List


Season 1

3 Oct. 1957
Californy, Here We Come
Grandpa, Luke, Kate, Hassie and Little Luke McCoy travel from Smokey Corners, West Virginia to California. They take over an inherited farm and everyone loves it, but Grandpa who has trouble adjusting to the new place.
10 Oct. 1957
The Egg War
Grandpa gets into an egg feud with a rival egg salesman. He makes money, but the rest of the family suffers when Hassie wants to date the rival's son.
17 Oct. 1957
Kate's Dress
Grandpa and Luke need a new gun for a shooting contest. Kate needs a new dress to be inducted into the PTA. There's just enough money in the cookie jar for one of them.
24 Oct. 1957
Grampa Sells His Gun
The McCoys find out that they are three months behind on their mortgage payments and will lose the farm if they can't come up with the money. Grandpa fears that he will have to sell a 200 year old flintlock family rifle to get the payment.
31 Oct. 1957
A Question of Discipline
Kate wants to discipline Hassie and Little Luke for bad grades and skipping school, but Grandpa thinks she is being too tough. So Kate lets Grandpa takes over raising the kids.
7 Nov. 1957
You Can't Cheat an Honest Man
Grandpa's innate honesty saves the day when a dishonest real estate speculator tries to buy five unproductive acres of the McCoys' land for considerably less than its actual value.
14 Nov. 1957
Luke Gets His Freedom
Kate pointedly tells Luke that he is welcome to go fishing with Grandpa and Mac Maginnis and to do whatever he wishes for several nights thereafter, but Grandpa steps in to make amends when he realizes that Luke's "freedom" is causing a genuine strain on their still-young marriage.
21 Nov. 1957
Grandpa's Date
The Farmer's Association is having it's fall dance and Grandpa doesn't want to take Flora MacMichael until Little Luke tells him about the box supper that Flora is bringing.
28 Nov. 1957
The Fishing Contest
Grandpa and George MacMichael compete to win the fishing contest. The only problem is that both of them are better at cheating than fishing.
5 Dec. 1957
It's a Woman's World
Grandpa pretends to be able to read so he can vote against an uppity female politician.
12 Dec. 1957
The Bigger They Are
Grandpa gets struck with jealousy because of Flora MacMichael and tries to take it out on her apple tree.
19 Dec. 1957
Gambling Is a Sin
Grandpa and Luke jeopardize Kate's chances to be named to a church committee when they unwittingly allow a Las Vegas gambling house to advertise on the McCoys' barn.
26 Dec. 1957
Let's Be Buddies
Much to Grampa's consternation, George wants to join a private club known as the Loyal Order of the Mystic Nile.
2 Jan. 1958
Grandpa and the Driver's License
Grampa's vanity gets the best of him when he refuses to acknowledge that he needs eyeglasses to pass the vision test for his new California driver's license.
9 Jan. 1958
The Lady's Man
A multi-talented photographer obtains the McCoys' permission to take pictures of their farm, but Luke becomes jealous when he seems to be focusing most of his attention on Kate.
16 Jan. 1958
Luke's Mother-in-Law
Grandpa has Luke prepared for the worst when it is learned that Kate's mother is coming for a visit, but everyone is surprised when she arrives and repeatedly chides Kate for being insufficiently attentive to Luke's needs.
23 Jan. 1958
The Matchmaker
Grandpa trades a date with Flora for a hound dog.
30 Jan. 1958
The Goodys Come to Town
Amos invites their old neighbors to California for a visit including Luke's old girlfriend Elvira. Kate tries to hide her jealousy during the reminiscing of old times.
6 Feb. 1958
Little Luke's Education
When some of Little Luke's classmates tease and bully him about his "hillbilly" roots, Grandpa steps in to teach them about the perniciousness of prejudice.
13 Feb. 1958
Time to Retire
The retirement of the postman convinces Luke and Kate that Grandpa Amos should take it easier. It backfires when Grandpa instead works too hard and ends up bedridden.
20 Feb. 1958
Grampa's Proposal
Grampa breaks up Flora's romance, and is forced to propose to her.
27 Feb. 1958
The Honeymoon
After one full year of marriage, Luke and Kate finally get to go on their honeymoon.
6 Mar. 1958
Once There Was a Traveling Saleswoman
Luke McCoy is tricked into buying a swimming pool.
13 Mar. 1958
My Favorite Uncle
Kate's rich Uncle Dave stays with the McCoys for the weekend.
20 Mar. 1958
Grampa's Birthday
Feeling that he's been forgotten on his birthday, Grampa runs away from home.
27 Mar. 1958
New Doctor in Town
Grampa has a cold, but he doesn't trust the new doctor - or any doctor, for that matter.
3 Apr. 1958
For Love or Money
After Grampa refuses to give him a raise, Pepino quits and goes to work for neighbor George MacMichael.
10 Apr. 1958
Kate's Career
Kate creates a successful dress alteration business at home, much to the consternation of Grampa and the local tailor.
17 Apr. 1958
When a Fellow Needs a Friend
Grampa is in desperate need of character witnesses to testify on his behalf at his parking ticket trial.
24 Apr. 1958
It Pays to Be Poor
The McCoys teach a wealthy couple the joys of simple living.
1 May 1958
The Life of the Party
Grampa thinks he's the life-of-the-party.
8 May 1958
Three Is a Crowd
Grampa tries to stop a marriage-minded widow from chasing George.
15 May 1958
The New Look
Luke wants to modernize the farm, but Grampa is against change.
22 May 1958
The Volunteer Fire Department
Grampa has his heart set on joining the town's volunteer fire department.
5 Jun. 1958
The Homely Boy
Hassie refuses to accept a date with the homeliest boy in class.
12 Jun. 1958
Her Flaming Youth
Scandal erupts when a 30-year-old photo of Flora clad in a scanty swimsuit winds up in a local publication.
19 Jun. 1958
The Corn-Eating Contest
Grampa wagers Kate's prize hen, Jenny, on Little Luke winning a corn-eating contest.
26 Jun. 1958
You're Never Too Old
Grampa secretly joins an over-sixties club known as the "Young Old Timers".

 Season 1  Season 2  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page