The Gray Ghost (TV Series 1957– ) Poster

(1957– )

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
An excellent show.
chetrig30 October 2005
I think this was one of the better shows on TV. It was fairly accurate to history which was unusual for Hollywood. Tod Andrews was great as Mosby. This show showed a side of the Confederacy that some people didn't like. It actually showed a confederate as a hero. I believe that this was the reason the show did not last more than one season. All in all this was a very good show and one I would recommend especially to civil war buffs. The shows were based on events that happened as Major Mosby and his troops fought for what they believed. It is a shame that we do not have more episodes of this show to be able to view now. I plan on getting all of the episodes on DVD so that I can enjoy them again. I watched this show when I was a kid and I like it as much now as I did then.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Where can I get DVD copies of this series?
rajohans13 April 2007
I have fond memories of this particular TV show from my youth. I think there may have been repeats in the next few years after wards but I have not seen any of the episodes since the early 60s. Is there any repository that might market this show? One commenter stated that he was looking to get all of the episodes. As another commenter noted, there was a lot of historical correctness in this show but the western scenes did leave a sore spot but 50 years ago, TV did not stray far from the coast. Tod Andrews, who portrayed Mosby, died quite young and I only remember seeing him in one other venue, a navy officer in one of those WWII wide screen battles. I don't remember which one, but IMDb has it in his biography. As another commenter made a statement, Mosby definitely was on Grant's "kill on sight" list. He eventually resettled into Washington, DC after the war and resumed his law practice there.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It was good exciting fun but politically incorrect
vaproto-118 August 2006
The series tried to do justice to a man who would require a full length movie for that purpose with a great deal more violence then television in the 1950s was able to display.

However, the overall thrust of the show was excellent in that it showed the humanity and valor of BOTH sides of the war, Confederate and Union. There are villains, but often they are people trying to take advantage of a tragic situation rather than being members of the opposing armed forces. Naturally, as it was only a half hour long and aimed at a younger audience, every effort was made to keep the violence and bloodshed to a minimum - but that didn't preclude a lot of great adventure and more than enough 'fightin'.

No effort was made to present Mosby realistically PHYSICALLY on the show. Tod Andrews was a fairly good sized fellow while Mosby was quite small (delicate actually) who wasn't more than about 5 foot 3 inches or so and never weighed more than about 128 pounds. As well, the producers of the series avoided the reality that had Mosby been captured by the Yankees he would have been hanged without trial by order of Ulysses S. Grant! Even at war's end, it took John Singleton Mosby over six months longer than just about every other Confederate officer to be paroled and return to civilian life! Up until Grant finally allowed him to be paroled, he existed as an outlaw with a price on his head hiding out in Northern Virginia where he had fought as a partisan.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Australian Perspective & One Scene After 50 years
SgtPlodd5 June 2009
The Gray Ghost aired in Australia in about 1959, when I was 9 or 10. I can remember the theme song, and little bits from various episodes. The show was my introduction to the American Civil War, including some basic US geography. To my young mind the northern capital, Washington, was farther north. The show taught me that Washington was a southern city, and that there was military activity around it.

I remember allusions to the Mason-Dixon line, and West Virgina--where one of the main characters (Sgt Miles?) came from. I remember an exchange between Mosby and a young lady driving a buck-board outside Washington. She had a picnic basket--perhaps delivering it to her Union boyfriend, which was confiscated by Mosby, and after indicating that she had prepared one of the items herself, Mosby called back with "Miles, save the (whatever) for me". And then he gave a salute and a half- wave." It was romantic and gallant.

Through the mists of my memories, it was a good show that taught me that there are two sides to every war.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I loved this show
RondoHatton29 April 2009
I was reading the letters in the local fish-wrap's TV page yesterday, & somebody asked about The Gray Ghost, saying his friends thought he was crazy. I used to love that show....I couldn't think of any theme music for it, so had to content myself with the theme from "Swamp Fox"(of course, starring Lt Frank Drebbin, aka Leslie Nielsen as Francis Marion), but when I got to the part " no shelter when it rains, all we've got are Yankee brains.." I went, "Hey, that ain't right." Tried to find something on YouTube, but no luck, but actually, I think maybe I'd rather just remember it as really good. I've only run across a few shows that really have stood the test of time besides the mega-classics: I'm Dickens, He's Fenster, Real McCoys, Dobie, and The Bob Cummings Show/Love That Bob.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
My Favorite Weekly Show
mrsafetyman23 October 2008
As an 11 year old, I'd always schedule my time to see this show. The theme song was the tune to 'Yellow Rose of Texas' which played during the opening lines. While saddened by it's end, I was not aware, until now that it (not surprisingly)had been a victim of early 'political correctness'.

To read that it attempted historical accuracy was a pleasant surprise, considering many westerns of that era. There were other shows and movies of that time which also were kinder to the Confederacy. One was 'Drums in the Deep South' with Guy Madison.

I'm now pretty fuzzy on most of the episodes. Having more recently read about the main character, I learned a couple more facts:

(1) Yes, Grant wanted him dead, and the main person Mosby often outfoxed was a young officer named Custer. (2) After the war, Mosby joined the Republican Party, which ironically had played a part in pushing the South into the war to begin with. Coincidentally, another general (Longstreet) earned more ire from many of his former compatriots for doing the same thing.

Maybe some day, I'll get to see the series again through more mature eyes.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very accurate for the late 1950's.
djwillis-372-93648917 May 2012
This show was the best show on TV when I was a small child. I have had a lifetime obsession with the "Confederacy" and the Civil War, and the man I most admire in history is Colonel John Singleton Mosby.

He started out as a private in JEB Stuart's cavalry and one winter convinced Stuart to let him take 10 or 12 men to harass the enemy out of boredom and the legend was born. He was the only partisan ranger group that Robert E Lee approved of and unfortunately was instrumental in lengthening the war by keeping tens of thousands of Union soldiers out of the main thrust against Lee for fear that Mosby would sneak into Washington city and kidnap Abraham Lincoln. And because of his slight build was once captured and exchanged because the Yankees thought he was just a private. Someone MUST find this and let us die-hard fans see it just one more time.

Or better yet have HBO develop a new series. Two seasons would be great.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I Remember the Series Very Well
Mike Burroughs5 January 2017
This series first aired when I was 12; at that time, and I had just begin to develop an interest in the War between the States. Although it was hard to find at times due to the limitation on available channels, I did manage to watch even syndicated showings over the two or three years following its initial telecast season (1957-58). I would love to get this 39-episode series on DVD, but I have been able to find only one set, which has 27 episodes, with the note that the remaining ones apparently have been lost forever :-(

I have the two books by Virgil Carrington Jones upon which this series was based, and they are great reads. Maybe I will go with the "short" set since no complete set seems to be available, but I do recommend it as great adventure without the graphic violence seen in so much television nowadays.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Local hero
coyjramsey13 December 2016
I grew up in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia where Mosby made a name for himself. In all the political correctness of recent times history is forgetting that the South, and this area of Virginia in particular, was invaded and systematically damaged by a marauding foreign army and many people fought against this invasion not necessarily defending the institution of slavery but defending their homes and friends. The Gray Ghost series certainly portrays this part of history with a dashing hero and gallant soldiers. It made an impression on a young Virginian and has stuck with me for all these years. I still think of Mosby and his men as heroes (as well as many other Confederate soldiers/sympathizers, including my g-g-grandfather). Enjoyed the series immensely !
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews