Zane Grey Theater (TV Series 1956–1961) Poster


Episode List



5 Jan. 1961
Union Army Col. Blackburn commands a squad of mercenary soldiers whose current mission is to get vital papers through Confederate lines. There's an air of mutiny as the mercenaries complain about the dangerous duty.
12 Jan. 1961
One Must Die
John Baylor is summoned to the home of a friend of his fathers. The man is dying and wishes to leave everything to one of his two daughters. John wants to find out why one daughter is excluded.
19 Jan. 1961
The Long Shadow
Major Will Sinclair is delivering the possessions of a soldier that has died under his command. On his way someone tries to ambush him and his companion. When he arrives at the boy's house, he is not well received.
26 Jan. 1961
Blood Red
Jess Whiting loved his wife and loved his life. Everything changed when an Indian showed up at his doorstep.
2 Feb. 1961
Honor Bright
Danny Thomas plays an ex-convict who vows to get revenge on the man who almost married his daughter (played by Marlo Thomas) - and helped to cause her death.
9 Feb. 1961
The Broken Wing
A father is upset at his handicapped brother for putting wild ideas into his son's head. It goes from wild to dangerous when the boy believes, with help from his uncle, that he can fly.
16 Feb. 1961
The Silent Sentry
A confederate soldier and a union soldier are assigned to keep sentry on a mountain to monitor the movements of the other army. During a snow storm, they decide to share a mountain cabin.
23 Feb. 1961
The Bible Man
Albert Pierce is a traveling preacher. His long lost son catches up with him and is determined to make him pay for the death of his mother.
2 Mar. 1961
The Scar
Jesse Martin takes a job in the mines to supplement his farm income, but he meets someone who reminds me of the abuse he suffered in a civil war prisoner camp.
9 Mar. 1961
Knight of the Sun
Henry Jacob Hanley is a wanderer always seeking his next drink. He stumbles upon a fort and a supply of whiskey. There he meets a woman who is on a mission to help the confederacy.
23 Mar. 1961
A Warm Day in Heaven
Nick Finn arrives in Heaven, Arizona - a town known for fair play and concern for neighbors. After his arrival, greed and selfishness soon follow.
30 Mar. 1961
The Empty Shell
Cletis Madden is a gambler. His wife wants him to change his ways, buy a ranch and spend his life making something of the ranch. Cletis loves his wife but isn't sure he can change.
6 Apr. 1961
The Atoner
The religious leader in a town called New Bethlehem, Arizona . has made sure there are no saloons or gambling halls. When something threatens to put it at risk, he proposes a hanging to preserve the community's pacifist values.
13 Apr. 1961
Man from Everywhere
Sheriff Jed Morgan is worried about his prisoner, Tom Bowdry, because the local gentry seems to be getting lynch fever. Morgan hires guide Branch Taylor to hustle Bowdry to the nearby town of Borrego.
27 Apr. 1961
The Release
Jailed gunslinger Lee DuVal can win his freedom by making a deal with the governor of Texas, who offers him a chance to use his talents-against the bandits who are making things hot near the Louisiana state line.
4 May 1961
Storm Over Eden
Chet Loring, Ellen Gaynor, and Billie Gaynor grew up together in the same house. Chet wants to marry Ellen but accidentally shoots and kills Billie. Now Ellen and Billie's father wants to hang Chet.
11 May 1961
Image of a Drawn Sword
Union Lt. Sam Kenyon informs the citizens of an isolated Rebel community that some rookie troops will be camping near there for a few days. For the sake of their own health, he offers the townspeople a warning: don't taunt the younger soldiers.
18 May 1961
Amy Schroeder is convicted of killing her husband and sentenced to die. Jericho comes to the condemned woman, supposedly about buying her land. Then he reveals himself-as an agent for the Attorney-General.

« 1960 |  1961 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page