IMDb > "To Tell the Truth" (1956) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"To Tell the Truth"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"To Tell the Truth" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 7 reviews in total 

15 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A Great Show

Author: Brian Washington (Sargebri@att.net) from Los Angeles, California
29 June 2003

Goodson-Todman were the innovators in terms of game shows. This show, as well as What's My Line and I've Got a Secret, made up that company's great triumvirate of classic panel game shows. I grew up mainly looking at the syndicated version that was on during the 1970's with Gary Moore as host, but I've recently started looking at the original black and white version. Although I preferred the Gary Moore hosted version, the black and white version is still a treat to look at. Also, you get to see the two mainstays of the show, Peggy Cass and Kitty Carlisle when they were a little younger. Also, Tom Poston and Orson Bean were great on this show as well. Poston had pretty much a great deadpan style and Bean was pretty much the clown prince of the show. This show will always remain one of the classic games to ever appear on television.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

I cannot tell a lie--I love "To Tell the Truth"!!

Author: SkippyDevereaux from Parkersburg, West Virginia
5 May 2001

Another winner from the stable of Goodson/Todman and it was a very durable program in its day. Four panelists try to figure out, through questions, which one of the three people connected with the story of an event, was the correct person. The black and white version with Bud Collyer as host holds up the best to me--maybe it is the innocence of the times, but all versions of this program were enjoyable--unfortunately, as time went by, the versions seemed to diminish all around. I mean, the last two versions only lasted one season each!! That should tell us something. But always, it was the final fateful question of "Will the real-------, please stand up? that was fun, especially if the four panelists picked the wrong person. The audience would just go wild in the screams and applause and it was always a thrill to hear and see that!! I could spend all day watching back to back episodes of "To Tell the Truth", "What's My Line" and "I've Got A Secret" and never be bored!! Classic programs all around!!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Still one of the best

Author: D. Mock (dfmock@rocketmail.com) from Rockville Centre, NY
5 December 2001

Packager Mark Goodson rightly called it the most golden game show idea of all. It's also one of Bob Stewart's masterworks, for Stewart created the Goodson-(Bill) Todman classic -- as he also did 'The Price Is Right' and 'Password'.

While the idea had roots in 'People Are Funny's Detecto segment, the Goodson-Todman crew developed a format in which not only the studio participants and the viewers could play along, but which still offers insights into human nature -- what better question to make people really think than 'which of these folks is lying?'

Stewart's ideas, Goodson's packaging, and the great supervision of executive producer Gil Fates meshed into a classic which lasts to this day, with the bright, polished John O'Hurley manning the moderator position first held by Bud Collyer (Mike Wallace did the pilot).

'Truth' is a timeless show that deserves to be one of two ('Price' is the other) to span six decades of national television.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Bud Collyer's Second Hit Show as Emcee

10/10
Author: DKosty123 from United States
18 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is the same Goodson-Toddman who developed the Price is Right. Only this one is earlier. This is a great show though Bud Collyer actually slows down and sits on this show as the host. Compared to Beat The Clock this is slow motion. This is one of the great game shows of all time anyhow.

All right folks - all three of these people claim to be Bart Starr, Quarterback of the Geen Bay Packers and this is his sworn affidavit. "I Bart Starr and with the 1st Super Bowl Championship Green Bay Packers. It was not always this way. When this program first started we only won 2 games that season with many of the same players including myself. The big change came when Mr. Lombardi came from the NY Giants to coach at Green Bay. At the same time Tom Landry, another Giants coach appeared on this program as an impostor. Now Mr Landry is the coach we seem to have to play every year with Dallas in order to win championships. How times change."

Bud- now the 4 panelists will question our three Bart Starrs to try and determine who is the real quarterback of the Packers. Each wrong vote will award the challengers $250 with a possible $1000 dollars if all the votes are wrong.

This is one of the great shows and Bud would close every show with the same you - "Now you all remember to Tell the Truth." Considering the whoppers being told today, times have changed. I loved this show as a kid. Made you think and see if you could do better than the panel.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Classic

8/10
Author: Jakester from United States
14 June 2016

My rating of "eight" refers to the Bud Collyer-hosted version from the '60s which I've been watching lately on Buzzr. I haven't really kept up with the show in its recent permutations.

I watched the show back in the day and loved it. I really like the re-runs today of the old programs; they're irresistible in terms of audience participation. Collyer is one of the two or three greatest game show hosts ever IMO - good-natured, disciplined, absolutely real. I believe he was quite a spiritual man and wrote a book or two about his faith. The go-to panel for me was (from left) Tom Poston, Peggy Cass, Orson Bean (who veered in his lifetime from being a disciple of Wilhelm Reich to being a fundamentalist Christian), and Kitty Carlisle; this panel got locked into place at some point in about '65 after a fair amount of experimentation and quite a few not-so-good panelists. (Buzzr rarely plays a show from 1964-65-66 - is it because they have trouble getting clearances from companies who sponsored the show then but don't want their old-fashioned ads shown today?) Don Ameche was a frequent panelist circa 1962; he often became Mr. Inquisitor, with a harsh tone to his questioning - Don, baby, it's a game show! Polly Bergen made a bit too much of her ditziness (ironically, she later became a strong feminist). Johnny Carson was still mastering the art of being magnetic on camera; he literally never looks at the camera on TTTT and comes across as your basic leering smart-ass (which of course he was; he later learned to ameliorate the smart-ass thing with greater approachability). Tom Poston was superb much of the time but occasionally seemed Tommy Smothers-like in his inability to speak a coherent sentence; long, long seconds of air time would pass as Poston tried to think of something to say. The most drop-dead gorgeous panelist in the history of the show was Dina Merrill who virtually glowed. (And was fabulously rich.)

The quality of the guests - well, it varies, but I'd say seven out of ten are interesting. Lots of guests from the Kennedy Administration, like for example a kid who joined the Peace Corps - everyone on the show just has huge admiration for this guy and for the idea of the corps. This is fascinating, historically - hard to remember, now, just how treasured the Peace Corps concept was circa 1961-63. Ancel Keys made an appearance - in the early '60s he was a supremely confident (in fact arrogant) researcher on nutrition, a hugely influential guy, but his reputation has taken major hits since then around the topic of fat. Science marches on.

One thing I'm confused about is the truth-telling of guests. In very early shows, Bud tells us that only the real person needs to tell the truth. Later on, this caveat is dropped completely.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"Is it Number 1, 2, 3 or you?"

8/10
Author: John T. Ryan (redryan64@hotmail.com) from United States
29 December 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

FOR SOME STRANGE reason, this is one game show which has always seemed to just a cut above the others. Then (when we were kids) and now (Boomer Generation gray-beards) it held an unreasonably higher degree of fascination.

PERHAPS WE COULD rack it up to "dumb luck" on the part of the producers, Mark Goodson & Bill Todman. However the team had successfully given us WHAT'S MY LINE?, I'VE GOT A SECRET, PASSWORD, THE MATCG GAME and many others; so there must have been some careful crafting involved here.

STILL, WE MAINTAIN our position that this did stand out from the many other also-rans.

PERHAPS IT HAS something to do with the cast. In the MC's chair, we had the former Radio voice of Clark Kent & SUPERMAN, Mr. Bud Collyer. The roll call of panelists is both long and distinguished; but we best remember: Kitty Carlisle, Tom Poston, Orson Bean*, Peggy Cass, Chester Morris, Dina Merrill, Betsy Palmer and many others.

MORE THAN ANY other family oriented panel show, TO TELL THE TRUTH, invited and even demanded participation from the home viewer. As the panelists marked their cards as to which of the three contestants was the real person that he said he was, we were kept busy weighing their testimony and testing our own acumen as detectives.

WHY THAT'S IT, Schultz! That's the secret of the show's success!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

An Average Game Show That Meets Minimum Requirements For Watching

5/10
Author: atlasmb from United States
20 June 2016

First let me say that Bud Collyer is one of the worst game show hosts ever. He's an okay guy, but he lacks charisma and has little sense of humor.

As for the usual panelists, Kitty Carlisle is cut from the same cloth as Bud, but she does bring sophistication to the show. Tom Poston is likable, but not very funny. Peggy Cass, on the other hand, is a hoot. Orson Bean is a favorite of mine--clever, quick-witted and somewhat irreverent.

Overall, the show entertains, but it falls far short of some other game shows of its era. For example, "What's My Line?" always features an intelligent, funny panel and is hosted by John Daley, who has a corny but cute sense of humor combined with a cosmopolitan body of knowledge and real style.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history