IMDb > Hill 24 Doesn't Answer (1955) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Hill 24 Doesn't Answer More at IMDbPro »Giv'a 24 Eina Ona (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The first Israeli film... (SPOILERS!)

Author: zardoz12 from Somewher in So-Cal.
5 April 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

...is the story of a group of Israeli soldiers who have been sent to guard an outpost (the "Hill 24" of the title) overlooking a strategic valley. The time is 1948, at the end of the "War of Liberation." This four-person unit's job is simple: hold the position during the night, then put up the Israeli flag in the morning so the UN and the combatant's representatives can mark the position as Zionist territory. But before they can reach the hill, there is a long truck ride during which each unloads why they are fighting for Israel. And like "The Canterbury Tales", these stories are the point of the film. The first is about Edward Mulhare's character, an Northern Irish police officer who worked for the British in the Palestinian Mandate. We follow his investigation of a concentration-camp survivor who is in Palestine to kick the British out, and how Mulhare falls in love with the guy's architect student girlfriend. The next story is that of an American Jew who came to the Holy Land as a tourist, then became a Haganah or Irgun fighter in East Jeruselem. He is wounded, loses his willingness to fight in an ad-hoc field hospital, then regains it after getting a pep talk from a rabbi(!) The girl of the outfit (who I think is a Druze) was his nurse, so she doesn't spew her bio. Finally, there is this wiseacre Eastern European Jew who recounts how he ran into an ex-SS concentration-camp officer out in the desert while fighting Arab League soldiers. I cannot reveal what happens to them once the reach Hill 24, but I can say it is very similar to the old Humphry Bogart movie "Sahara."

"Giv'a 24 Eina Ona" really reminds me of Algeria's first film, Gillo Pontecorvo's "The Battle of Algiers," in that both are films of struggle, and in both good foreign actors are used. The American afaid of subtitled films will be relieved that most of "Hill 24" is in English. Certainly it is a propaganda film, but there are worse bits of cinema people can waste their time on. ("Nekromantik," anyone?)

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

I really Liked this movie...

Author: francodomenico from Hollywood, Florida
15 May 2004

Yes; sometimes the acting was hokey; but the Music at the Beginning; and, the Suttle, but kind interrelations between the "worn-out" British hanging on to their "inheritence" from WWI, and the Zeal by which the Europeans who found themselves just fortunate to be alive, after surviving the nightmare of Hitler's Europe, are Again called to fight for their Survival- Michael Shillo--who plays Yehuda Berger, does a marvellous job as a Polish Refugee, barely surviving a clandestine Landing at the Haifa coast, and Finally becoming an Officer in the Newly formed Army of Israel. I liked that actor the best. I only wish I knew more of his work. Maybe he lives in USA; and IF so, Write me!

I loved Haya Harareet, too---But the Prettiest lady in the Movie is Shoshana Domari--she Plays a Druze lady--She was "Miss Israel Bonds" in the Early 50's!

Also, the Little Yemenite Beauty, I think is Gorgeous! She is my type- I guess because I am part Italian! She, too, went on to become quite a Dancer and her family is well known in Israel these days, as accomplished dancers.

I hope you can see the movie. It is very good.

Mulhare is excellent, too. Watch for this line:"...Finnegan--Is that English?"

"...hell, no."!

ALSO: This Movie IS available on DVD (NTSC) and VHS(NTSC).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Early Isreali movie about its eternal conflict.

7/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
26 April 2010

This is a movie that focuses on the forming days of Isreal, during the war for independence, in 1947. That war has ended but not that much have changed really, from the events and thoughts depicted in this movie and the ones that are still being actual this present day and time.

It's by no means a great movie though but this is foremost due to its quality. It obviously had some low production values and it seems like one of this movie that got made by 1 director, one cameraman and one guy handling the sound. The picture and sound quality itself is also quite poor. Of course the movie is over 50 years old already, so the picture and sound of it haven't improved really obviously. But you can tell really that even back in those days, the picture and sound quality for this movie were below par at the time of production.

The movie is pro-Isreali of course and can therefore be also seen as a propaganda piece. It's not also very objective but it's nothing too bad or distracting really. Some of if story elements are obviously thrown in for the 'good' Jewish cause but none of it distracts from the movie its main story.

Not that the main story is being told that well either really. The movie is quite messy at times with its story-telling and it doesn't always flow well enough. At points it's even terribly dragging, such as with that whole thing with the Rabbi in the hospital. The movie obviously still had some good ideas and with some more time and money it would had surely turned out to be a better movie.

But all criticism aside, it's still a good movie. It tells a good story and in its perspective it's quite an achievement as well, as a whole. Despite the fact that its far from a perfect movie I can understand why it's being considered somewhat of an Isreali classic.

7/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The first Israeli film... (SPOILERS!)

Author: zardoz12 from Somewher in So-Cal.
5 April 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

...is the story of a group of Israeli soldiers who have been sent to guard an outpost (the "Hill 24" of the title) overlooking a strategic valley. The time is 1948, at the end of the "War of Liberation." This four-person unit's job is simple: hold the position during the night, then put up the Israeli flag in the morning so the UN and the combatant's representatives can mark the position as Zionist territory. But before they can reach the hill, there is a long truck ride during which each unloads why they are fighting for Israel. And like "The Canterbury Tales", these stories are the point of the film. The first is about Edward Mulhare's character, an Northern Irish police officer who worked for the British in the Palestinian Mandate. We follow his investigation of a concentration-camp survivor who is in Palestine to kick the British out, and how Mulhare falls in love with the guy's architect student girlfriend. The next story is that of an American Jew who came to the Holy Land as a tourist, then became a Haganah or Irgun fighter in East Jeruselem. He is wounded, loses his willingness to fight in an ad-hoc field hospital, then regains it after getting a pep talk from a rabbi(!) The girl of the outfit (who I think is a Druze) was his nurse, so she doesn't spew her bio. Finally, there is this wiseacre Eastern European Jew who recounts how he ran into an ex-SS concentration-camp officer out in the desert while fighting Arab League soldiers. I cannot reveal what happens to them once the reach Hill 24, but I can say it is very similar to the old Humphry Bogart movie "Sahara."

"Giv'a 24 Eina Ona" really reminds me of Algeria's first film, Gillo Pontecorvo's "The Battle of Algiers," in that both are films of struggle, and in both good foreign actors are used. The American afraid of subtitled films will be relieved that most of "Hill 24" is in English. Certainly it is a propaganda film, but there are worse bits of cinema people can waste their time on. ("Nekromantik," anyone?)

Was the above review useful to you?

Great Subject But Not So Great Story

3/10
Author: David Wile (davidcwile@gmail.com) from Mechanicsburg, PA
20 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Hey folks,

In over 60 years of watching American films, I had never heard of this 1955 film. When I recently read about this film and learned it was to be shown on Turner Classic Movies, I was looking forward to watching it for the first time. From my youth I have been interested in the establishment of the Israeli nation, so I was really expecting to find a great story in this film which was apparently the first film produced by Israel.

Sadly, the film simply does not tell a good story. It may seem unfair to compare this film to "Exodus" which was released in 1960, but "Exodus" really did tell a great story. This film contained four small vignettes within it where each vignette described a brief story about each of the four main characters. The four vignettes were not good stories on their own, and they did not come together to make a good story from the sum of their parts.

I know a lot of folks have expressed how good they thought this film was, but I have to wonder if many of these folks may sympathetic to the birth of Israel and thinking more with their hearts than their minds. I, too, have long been sympathetic with the birth of Israel, but this film simply did not do well at telling that story.

"Sword In The Desert" from 1949 tells a much better story about the refugees' struggle to enter Palestine, and "Exodus" tells a much better story which goes beyond that of "Sword In The Desert."

Best wishes,

Dave Wile

Was the above review useful to you?

Hifa the Old City the Nagev and now Hill 24: A link in the chain

6/10
Author: kapelusznik18 from United States
19 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

****SPOILERS*** With the UN truce about to come into effect at sundown July 18, 1948 the Jewish now called, since the founding of the Jewish state of Israel on May 14th, Israeli forces are determine to hold Hill 24 in the Judean hills to keep the life saving supply route from Tel Avive to Jerusalem open. With just four soldiers assigned to Hill 24 it doesn't look as if they can hold off a major attack of the Arab Jordanian legion supported by bands Arab irregular troops. It's during those tense hours that we get to see in a number of flashbacks the lives of the three men and one women assigned on Hill 24 who, as we saw at the beginning of the film, ended up losing their lives in defending it.

There's former British policeman James Finnegan who despite not being Jewish joined to fight for establishing a Jewish State for Jews mostly fleeing Europe after WWII and the Holocaust. Finnegan returned to Palestine, now the State of Israel,to reunite with his Jewish girlfriend Miriam Mizrahi whom he left for home two years ago. There's also American Allan Goodman who on a trip to then, in 1947, Palestine fell in love with the country and decided to stay when he rediscovered his Jewish roots there. The same goes for tough and non-caring, for anyone but himself, 1st generation Sabra, native born Israeli, Yehuda Burger and 4th generation Ester Hadassi who, in living there all her life, knows the area around Hill 24 like the back of her hand.

The ending is no real surprise in that we know non of the quartet survived. But the biggest surprise is that despite no one there being alive to claim the hill for Israel the UN observers gave it to the Israeli army. That in Ester clutching the Israeli flag in her dead cold fingers making it, in the UN observers minds, Israeli territory! There's also a very dramatic moment in the Nagev Desert when Berger tries to help an injured Egyptian soldier, who he was fighting against, to safety in a bombed out mosque. Realizing by seeing his SS Nazi tattoo that he was a member of the heated German Army during WWII Burger still tries to nurse him beck to health as a POW. The soldier, Azaria Rapaport, feeling a combination of guilt in what Germany did to the Jews and rage in his obvious dislike of Jews completely lost it. Rapaport ends up going into such a wild and crazy frenzy reliving his glorious days as a solider in Hitler's Germany that he literally dropped dead, from both exhaustion and loss of blood, as he gave his last and final Hitler salute!

Was the above review useful to you?

Don't miss it

Author: GUENOT PHILIPPE (philippe.guenot@dbmail.com) from France
27 February 2011

There are not many films made about Israel birth. I won't add many things to what have already said the other users, except no one of them have talked about George Sherman's SWORD IN THE DESERT, starring Jeff Chandler, back in the 50's. I have it in my library and have not seen it since a while now, so I won't compare the two features. Say which is better than the other. I just say that this one, the Israeli, looks like a British or European film; it is directed by Thorold Dickinson, a director from UK. Another British could have made it: Lewis Gilbert, Guy Green, Ronald Neame...It looks like a UK film because of the story, filming, characterization, music score. Yes I think of a British feature.

But it is a really good movie, with interesting characters. The US industry would have made a quite different film. I can't explain more.

But, again, there are no many films about Palestine in the late 40's, and the war of independence. Only this one, SWORD IN THE DESERT, CAST A GIANT SHADOW and of course EXODUS !!!

A real gem.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Dont let this movie be forgotten

Author: theramker from cananda
20 July 2002

This is the Israeli film ever made it a masterpiece it deals with the Arab conflict and two British men and how they fight Palestine a powerful anti-war statement and how the old lead and the young die in it. They should put this movie on dvd but sadly this was forgotten, if you can see this movie go for the actors who are not famous but who cares this movie is a landmark i like its pro-Israel message see this great movie

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history