Playwrights '56 (TV Series 1955– ) Poster

(1955– )

Episode List


Season 1

4 Oct. 1955
The Answer
A nuclear test in the Pacific results in the death of an angel. The philosophical questions regarding the angel's message are explored by an army general who witnesses and believes in the incident.
18 Oct. 1955
The Battler
Wandering around America, young Nick Adams encounters a washed-up punch-drunk boxer known as "The Battler".
25 Oct. 1955
The Heart's a Forgotten Hotel
A flashy, irresponsible widower tries to make ends meet running a seedy Florida hotel and raising his son. Problems arise when the boy's aunt and uncle want to take him away.
8 Nov. 1955
Snow Job
The son of working class parents gets in trouble at school for fighting.
22 Nov. 1955
Daisy, Daisy
A minor novelist becomes a literary sensation when he pretends that the flimsy story he wrote in one night as really the diary of a simple Australian girl's first love.
3 Jan. 1956
The Day the Trains Stopped Running
After fifty years of service to the railroad, Sam Rasher must come to grips with the fact that he is retired and that the railroad will go on without him.
17 Jan. 1956
The true story of a man who disappears from his South Boston home shortly after recovering from a nervous breakdown and wanders the streets of New York City as an amnesiac for several days.
31 Jan. 1956
This Business of Murder
A weekend trip among five businessmen is clouded by double dealing and mistrust. When one of the men is murdered, the extent of the deceit is revealed.
14 Feb. 1956
Return to Cassino
While on vacation in Cassino, Italy, where he served in WW2, a man must confront the anger and hatred he still holds toward residents of the town.
28 Feb. 1956
A woman, alienated from her parents, secretly marries a boy of whom they disapprove. The secret comes out, her husband deserts her, and she leaves her family to start a new life.
27 Mar. 1956
The Undiscovered Country
Wealthy and powerful Royce Thurmond refuses to face the consequences of his past actions after his daughter and foreman turn against him and leave.
10 Apr. 1956
You and Me and the Gatepost
In this comedy of manners which spoofs the New York society crowd, a wealthy, aging socialite champions a play by an untalented but likable boy from Utah.
24 Apr. 1956
The Center of the Maze
A wealthy liberal is forced to confront the discrepancies between her political and domestic life when her daughter decides to marry the gardener and live on a farm.
19 Jun. 1956

 Season 1 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page