Nora inu
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Connect with IMDb

News for
Stray Dog (1949) More at IMDbPro »Nora inu (original title)

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

5 items from 2015

30th Film Independent Spirit Awards: Birdman/Boyhood Split… Nightcrawler & Whiplash Double-Up

22 February 2015 11:00 AM, PST | ioncinema | See recent ioncinema news »

Richard Linklater won for Best Director and Patricia Arquette won the Best Supporting actress for team Boyhood, while Iñárritu’s Birdman claimed Best Picture, Best Actor (Michael Keaton) and Cinematographer (Emmanuel Lubezki) at the 30th Film Independent Spirit Awards last night. The split might foreshadow how the Oscars play out tonite, as the Middleweight Saturday ceremony and Heavyweight Sunday gig are more or less interchangeable. The two films that might gain a little further traction from the tent spotlight include Nightcrawler (which picked up Best First Feature and Best Screenplay) and Whiplash, Damien Chazelle’s deservedly won for Best Supporting Actor and Editing categories. Also worth pointing out is a Land Ho! win in the category we love the most: the John Cassavetes Award. Here are the winners and noms.

Best Feature:

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” *Winner


Love is Strange



Best Director

Damien Chazelle, »

- Eric Lavallee

Permalink | Report a problem

Winners of the 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards announced

22 February 2015 2:28 AM, PST | Flickeringmyth | See recent Flickeringmyth news »

Ahead of tonight’s Academy Awards, the 30th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced last night in Santa Barbara, California.

Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Birdman claimed the most awards, taking home three gongs including Best Feature, although Iñárritu lost out in the Best Director category to Richard Linklater for Boyhood.

In the acting categories, Julianne Moore (Still Alice) and Michael Keaton (Birdman) claimed Best Actress and Best Actor, while Patricia Arquette (Boyhood) and J.K. Simmons (b) were honoured in the supporting categories.

Here’s a full list of the nominations, with the winners highlighted in red…

Best Feature

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)


Love Is Strange



Best Director

Damien Chazelle, Whiplash

Ava DuVernay, Selma

Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Richard Linklater, Boyhood

David Zellner, Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter

Best Screenplay

Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski, Big Eyes

J.C. Chandor, A Most Violent Year

Dan Gilroy, »

- Gary Collinson

Permalink | Report a problem

2015 Independent Spirit Award Winners: 'Birdman' Tops the Field

21 February 2015 4:34 PM, PST | Rope of Silicon | See recent Rope Of Silicon news »

The 2015 Spirit Awards were handed out today and it was Birdman taking Best Feature and Best Actor (Michael Keaton) while Boyhood went home a double winner taking Best Director (Richard Linklater) and Best Supporting Actress (Patricia Arquette). However, while that's the result for the two big guns that will be going head-to-head at tomorrow night's Oscars, Nightcrawler was also a double winner taking Best Screenplay and Best First Feature, both awarded to writer/director Dan Gilroy. Otherwise, no big surprises with Julianne Moore (Still Alice) taking Best Actress and J.K. Simmons (Whiplash) taking Supporting Actor, Citizenfour took Best Documentary and Birdman scored a third win for Emmanuel Lubezki for Best Cinematography. Justin Simien (Dear White People) took home Best First Screenplay and, whoa!, Look!, Whiplash was also a double winner, with Tom Cross winning for Best Editing (well deserved!) and anticipated Oscar winner in the same category, Ida won Best Foreign Language Film. »

- Brad Brevet

Permalink | Report a problem

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2015 Live-Blog

21 February 2015 1:55 PM, PST | Hitfix | See recent Hitfix news »

HitFix Award Gurus Kris Tapley and Greg Ellwood are both attending Saturday's Film Independent Spirit Awards on Saturday (February 21) afternoon in Santa Monica and they left me to handle HitFix's Independent Spirit Awards Winners & Losers list.  And once I'm watching Saturday's show, I might as well be live-blogging Saturday's show as preparation for Sunday's Oscars live-blog, especially since is the last time that "Birdman" and "Boyhood" will be going head-to-head for Best Picture (along with "Selma" and "Whiplash") before the Academy Awards. So follow along and say "Hi" in the comments below... And remember that Saturday's show, hosted by Kristen Bell and Fred Armisen, is airing live on IFC, not that obnoxious tape-delayed thing they used to do! 1:50 p.m. Pt. The show hasn't started, but if you're following the Winners list, you know that "Birdman" has already won for for cinematography, while "Whiplash" won for editing, both results I can accept. »

- Daniel Fienberg

Permalink | Report a problem

2015 Independent Spirit Awards: Complete Winners List

21 February 2015 10:39 AM, PST | Moviefone | See recent Moviefone news »

The 30th Independent Spirit Awards was held in Santa Monica Saturday afternoon, and "Birdman" and "Boyhood" were the ceremony's big winners. Hosted by Kristen Bell and Fred Armisen, the more casual Oscar precursor honored the best in independent filmmaking from the past year. Only three films -- "12 Years a Slave," "Platoon," and "The Artist" -- have won best feature at the Spirits and gone on to nab the Best Picture Oscar. Time will tell if this year's Spirit winner will follow in their footsteps. Get a complete list of the nominees with the winners in bold, below:

Best Feature

"Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)" - Winner


"Love is Strange"



Best Director

Richard Linklater, "Boyhood" - Winner

Damien Chazelle, "Whiplash"

Ava DuVernay, "Selma"

Alejandro G. Iñárritu, "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)"

David Zellner, "Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter"

Best Screenplay

Dan Gilroy, "Nightcrawler" - Winner

Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski, »

- Alana Altmann

Permalink | Report a problem

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

5 items from 2015, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners