IMDb > Always Leave Them Laughing (1949) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Always Leave Them Laughing More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

18 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Valuable, Underrated Slice of Show Biz History

Author: westegg from New York
23 January 2005

Probably not intended as such in 1949, in retrospect this film shows an interesting juncture between old time show biz and the imminent influence of television, which changed everything. The film captures some fascinating relics of an earlier time, such as Bert Lahr reprising a famous burlesque-type routine of his from the early '20s. Milton Berle excels in acting out all sorts of comedic styles and formats then in vogue or already seen as passe. Despite its chirpy title song, the film has a surprising toughness and unsentimentality for its era (witness the happily cruel "Men's Club" scene). Recommended for those into show biz history, and also a great way to see some genuinely funny stuff.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Campbell's pork and beans should have this much ham

7/10
Author: helpless_dancer from Broken Bow, Oklahoma
26 April 2002

My favorite comic will always be Uncle Miltie and he was a scream in this one. Hammy and corny beyond belief, this slapstick had me rolling on the floor. The story involved a up and coming third rate comic trying to break into big time show biz. He must first work second rate clubs and resorts, but finally gets his big shot when taking over a routine for a fellow actor. Lots of good hoofing, sight gags, and joking around in the famous Berle style.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Vaudeville meets the Movies

10/10
Author: (eyesed@iname.com) from BOSTON, MA
2 June 2000

This is not much of a story but it is a GREAT chance to see 2 Old-Timers, Berle & Lahr , do some classic routines , that were so familiar the audience, they could have followed along word for word. Inside info says they both couldn't stand each other but it doesn't show in the work ! I know Uncle Miltie has had his time in the spotlight but I hope someone says "Thanks " before he's gone !

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pure corn....

3/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
19 September 2015

"Always Leave Them Laughing" is an interesting curio in many ways, but isn't a particularly good movie. Let me explain. When this film was made back in 1949, Milton Berle was the biggest name on television and much of his show's success was based on Berle doing t the sort of shtick he'd been doing for years in Vaudeville. So, here you get to see a semi-autobiographical film where Berle does a lot of the corny and over-the-top routines that made him famous. However, and this is VERY important, a lot of it just isn't funny. The jokes are so old and familiar that many viewers will recognize them and the rest fall pretty flat. Worst of all is the cop routine by Bert Lahr--that REALLY aged poorly. Yes, he was popular in the good old days but today this seemed very tired and cringe-worthy at times. Another thing that will make you cringe is seeing Berle do a third-rate Jolson routine--in black- face! Plus, Berle's character was, at times, really difficult to like.

Is it all bad? No. When Berle isn't trying to be funny he's pretty good. And, it's surprising to see how limber and graceful he is when he dances--and several of the dance numbers (particularly with Lahr) were nice. But this just isn't enough. The film is a window into a bygone era...one that just doesn't work or entertain in the 21st century.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

always leave them laughing ---- does

8/10
Author: froberts73 from United States
24 May 2011

What surprised me most about this movie were the few moments watching Ruth Roman doing some fancy dancing. As my old girl friend used to say -- "I didn't know you had it in you." Miss R usually plays it straight, and always well. I have no idea why she was not used more often in song-dance roles.

She looks good, acts good. And, the ever lovely Virginia Mayo was excellent as an opportunist. I'll watch her anytime so, don't hold the Mayo.

The star, obviously, was Uncle Milty who was admired by all the critics, with the exception of one sourpuss. As another reviewer pointed out many of the comedians excelled in straight roles. In this movie, the Unc alternated between very funny and very serious, but always convincing.

The Cowardly Lion was his usual self, and there's not a thing wrong with that.

I would have enjoyed more skits but this flick was not a review. There was a good story attached. The movie always left me laughing, except when it was not supposed to.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Milton Berle acting and gay subtext too

7/10
Author: ricmarc2001 from United States
16 April 2005

I happened upon this film by accident whilst I was channel surfing. Having never seen "Uncle Milty" in an acting role before I just had to stop and watch.

While this films story is one of those behind the scenes show biz stories of a comic trying to get into the big time, what I found to be absolutely fascinating was the character of Rene played by Iphigenie Castiglioni in what can only be read as a very, very lesbian night club owner for whom Berle auditions doing a comedic routine playing the piano and singing Miss Otis Regrets, a song written by the very gay Cole Porter.

The nightclub owner Rene with her mannish hairstyle, tuxedo (worn during the day!) and long, long cigarette holder with her aperitif is the quintessential gay stereotype for the era. How the combination of Rene in her garb and the suggestive Cole Porter song got past the censors is beyond me, but I am sure it was quite appreciated by gay audience members as an acknowledgment of their presence in show business.

Was the above review useful to you?

Bad Script Ruins This Revisit of Vaudeville

3/10
Author: atlasmb from United States
10 March 2014

The reviews for this film seem to be split between those who don't think much of it and those who adore it. I can understand the enjoyment in reliving some old comedy bits, but that is not enough--for me--to make this film a success.

Unfortunately, the writing is terrible. In parts, the script is so melodramatic that it pulls you right out of the scene. And even worse, the writers often have Milton Berle performing for the film's audience when he should be performing for the theater audience in the film. I guess they just couldn't help themselves. But it takes the viewer out of the story, more than once. If they had done that consistently throughout the film, then we might be able to forgive them and consider it a stylistic choice. But when Bert Lahr is on screen, he stays in character the entire time and does not play to the viewer. His performance is the best part of this film and the main reason I give it three stars.

I wanted to give it two stars just for the luminous beauty of Virginia Mayo (Zsa Zsa like in her perfection) and Ruth Roman, but Ms. Mayo's "serious scenes" are excellent examples in how to chew scenery; she can blame part of it on the dialogue they gave her. Ms. Roman, on the other hand, has the chops to shine right through words.

It IS fun to hear some of the tried and true (repackaged and reused) bits from Vaudeville and lesser locales. But that is about all this film has to offer.

The life of a comic is, no doubt, full of unpredictability, self-doubt and wearisome travel. It's too bad the script of Always Leave Them Laughing couldn't stop laughing long enough to be taken seriously.

For a better example of the comic as serious actor, see Jerry Lewis in The King of Comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Always Leave Them Laughing Takes Dramatic Turn ***

8/10
Author: edwagreen from United States
22 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

We are faced with a lot of slapstick comedy here as Milton Berle traces his rise in an average film. One must take note of the bit musical routines done by none other than Ruth Roman. Kudos to her for being able to pull this off.

The picture gets very good when it turns dramatic. Berle, going on stage to substitute for an ailing Bert Lahr, becomes a hit only to find out that Lahr will return to the show. Of course, when Lahr dies suddenly on stage, Berle is bereft with guilt for asking him to come on stage. We then learn that Lahr's much younger wife, Virginia Mayo, wasn't really the nice person she was supposed to be. In fact, she shows elements of her character as the wife of Dana Andrews in "The Best Years of Our Lives."

The picture succeeds because it deals with the discovery that success isn't necessarily everything, especially if it comes from imitating someone else. In other words, it's the old story of having to work hard to achieve success by yourself.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Berle Showcase

5/10
Author: dougdoepke from Claremont, USA
7 December 2011

A small-time comic works his way up to the big time.

The two hours is mainly for fans of Uncle Miltie. Berle is in just about every scene, along with a number of his costumed skits. As expected, some skits are funnier than others; however, I wish this overlong movie had stayed on a light comedic level. Instead, it veers off near the end into heavy drama, which could have been easily lopped off.

Catch that bouncy opening—as I recall, it plays much like Berle's hit TV show that helped put TV on the map in the early days. Anyway, if guys get tired looking at the star, there's the delectable Ruth Roman standing around in various stages of undress, and also a shapely Virginia Mayo doing some surprisingly good dance steps. Comic actor Bert Lahr gets his turn on the stage. But to me, his brand of humor is a matter of taste.

I suspect Warner Bros. was testing the waters to see if Berle's appeal carried over to movies as well as TV, in the way it did for Bob Hope over at Paramount. However that may be, I think the movie would be better if shorter and strictly light-hearted.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Dreadful role for Milton Berle, then at the top of his TV career...

5/10
Author: Neil Doyle from U.S.A.
15 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This boring salute to vaudeville type gags and sophomoric humor stars MILTON BERLE as an egotistical song-and-dance man who fancies himself to be the next big TV star once he gets his big break. Aside from the dreadful skits sharing the spotlight with lovely VIRGINIA MAYO or RUTH ROMAN, it's hard to see why he became the overnight sensation depicted here.

The only halfway decent routine is the tap-dancing routine he shares with BERT LAHR, who plays a rival entertainer who has suffered a heart attack and is now able to perform again. Unfortunately, after this delightful routine supposedly performed shortly after Lahr's release from the hospital, he falls dead. The plot then becomes a cliché ridden one laden with somber moments that don't really seem genuine.

It's a film like this that deadened any chance of Berle making it to the big screen in a flashy starring role. Only die-hard fans could possibly call it a "great" film. It's more like a great disappointment.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history