The Saxon Charm (1948) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
8 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
Excellent
Roman115 February 2003
Not the greatest film ever made but it holds due to the fine cast and the superb portrayal of a true scoundrel by Robert Montgomery. I was never much of a Montgomery fan but this was surely worth a nomination. Good story with an insight into the world of Broadway and what happens to naive folk who venture there.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Hollywood Barb at a type of Broadway Producer
theowinthrop10 July 2005
Robert Montgomery was able to break out of the mold that Hollywood and MGM pushed him into in the early 1930s - he was usually playing weaklings and society bounders. While this kept him working, he did fight to get atypical parts like Danny in NIGHT MUST FALL, the paranoid industrialist in RAGE IN HEAVEN and Prince Florizel in TROUBLE FOR TWO that demonstrated range and acting ability (not completely successful - his mad industrialist is supposed to be British, and Montgomery just can't bring up an accent to match George Sanders - here his friend and victim). By 1941 he was branching out with films like THE DUKE OF CHICAGO and HERE COMES MR. JORDAN. Unfortunately World War II broke out, and Montgomery signed up. He was out of Hollywood for three years in the Pacific, and then returned. Immediately he shared acting honors with John Wayne in THEY WERE EXPENDABLE, and then he did something interesting again: He began to direct films. THE LADY IN THE LAKE (with his "I am a camera" approach) was the first film he directed, and it became a noir classic. RIDE THE PINK HORSE followed. Then came THE SAXON CHARM.

It was different from the other two films, for it does not deal with criminals or an underside of life that most of us avoid. Instead, THE SAXON CHARM dealt with the legitimate theater. Montgomery's Matt Saxon was a successful Broadway producer who did not stop at anything to get his way. As such, he represented many Broadway performers or writers or choreographers worst nightmares, for Broadway was full of people like Saxon. Years later David Merrick would have such a reputation - brilliant producer/absolute rat. In 1946/47 the person most people would have thought of was Jed Harris. Jed Harris should not be confused with George M. Cohan's partner Sam Harris (a nicer man from most accounts - portrayed by Richard Whorf in YANKEE DOODLE DANDY). Jed Harris was a first rate heel. If you read Katherine Hepburn's memoirs ME:STORIES OF MY LIFE, Harris was the producer of her famous Broadway flop THE LAKE. Today it is recalled because it is used by Hepburn in the movie STAGEDOOR, where we hear it's dialog, beginning with "The kallallillies are in bloom again..." In 1936 it was not a laughing matter to Hepburn, who found that Harris had botched the production out of malice towards her. She had to pay him a huge sum of money to get out of her contract on the play when he took it on the road. Harris also made an enemy of Laurence Olivier, whom got his revenge in a neat way. When making up his features for RICHARD III, Olivier made his evil king look like an exaggerated Jed Harris (and most of Broadway approved).

Matt Saxon is similarly selfish, ready to turn on everyone and anyone who does not do as he says. He wrecks the home life of his playwright (John Payne) to get a play according to his specifications. He demolishes the career of his girlfriend (Audrey Totter) with rumors, although she's able to continue without him. He even turns on Harry Von Zell when that harmless fellow just makes a mild comment of disagreement to him. In the end, he destroys almost everyone - even himself. Only at the last moment does he get a bit of advice that MAY save him.

THE SAXON CHARM is not a great film about the theater, but in showing a particular type that infests it's body politic it is an interesting film on the subject.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Malice in that charm
bkoganbing14 July 2015
At the height of his career at MGM Robert Montgomery was famous for those society playboys he was always cast as. But if he's remembered at all today it is for the oddball performances that were nothing like those playboy roles. Yellow Jack as a cavalry sergeant, Here Comes Mr. Jordan as a prizefighter, Night Covers All as a homicidal maniac or They Were Expendable as a PT boat skipper and others, these are what we remember Robert Montgomery for. Fitting right in there is The Saxon Charm made after his years with MGM were over. Montgomery is debonair but there's malice in that charm.

Anyone who knew anything about the theater knew that Montgomery was basing his character on Broadway producer Jed Harris. Harris was a theatrical genius with an ego the size of South America and the antics you see here are mild compared to the real deal. Harris was used also by John Barrymore in 20th Century and Warren William in Varsity Show as a model. But in those he was eccentric, here he's a first class heel who thinks he's the center of the world.

Based on his reputations novelist John Payne seeks out Montgomery to produce his play. But Montgomery has to have his own imprint on the work and he weaves Payne into his web. It breaks up Payne's marriage with Susan Hayward in the process. Of course not helping is the clumsy pass Montgomery makes at Hayward.

Best in the film and possibly a career role for her his nightclub singer Audrey Totter who is Montgomery's main squeeze. She's loyal to a fault until Montgomery does deliberate dirt in fact goes out of his way to do it to her. Montgomery is married to Heather Angel, but they have an arrangement that also doesn't end well.

The real Jed Harris probably could have sued. But I suspect he rather enjoyed his reputation as a heel and enjoyed The Saxon Charm just as you will.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
When Matt Saxon comes calling....run!!
MartinHafer10 September 2016
As my wife and I sat watching "The Saxon Charm", I could see my wife getting very frustrated with the film. After all, the lead in this film (Robert Montgomery) was a thoroughly despicable and awful person...and she obviously was hating him...hating him so much she wanted me to turn off the film. Well, needless to say, I convinced her to keep watching and we both are glad we stuck with this one...as it was terribly well written and acted.

Matt Saxon (Robert Montgomery) was apparently based on a real Broadway producer, Jed Harris, and that is a big strength of the film. This is because although Saxon's behaviors and manipulations were hard to believe, it made it easier to watch the film knowing that he was not some exaggerated and unreal character! And what a character...charming but also very manipulative, cruel, selfish and without any trace whatsoever of a conscience. As a retired therapist, he was an excellent portrait of an Antisocial Personality Disorder with Borderline traits. In other words...a hellishly awful person from top to bottom!!

So how does Saxon fit into the story? Well, a successful young writer (John Payne) has decided to try writing a play and Saxon has convinced him that he is willing to put on the play. But again and again, Saxon strings him along--having him write and re-write the play...and taking him away from his young wife (Susan Hayward) and effectively destroying the marriage. Why? Mostly because Saxon is like a cat...and he needs to mouse to torment to give his sick life meaning.

The bottom line is that this is really very well written and it's among Robert Montgomery's best performances. Not always pleasant...but very captivating!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A good film given too little credit
marcia taylor28 June 2011
For me, one of the best one-liners I've ever heard in a movie was in "The Saxon Charm". Robert Montgomery and company enter a German restaurant in New York City. They are seated at a very bad table. Montgomery insists on a change. Management demurs and won't budge. Montgomery throws a fit and commands his party to follow him out of the restaurant by hissing, "Let's quit this Fascist pest-hole!". I don't remember when I first saw the film, 40 years ago at least, but I've been using that line ever since. I believe, agreeing with an earlier comment, that it was based on David Merrick with Jed Harris being used as a beard; although the author of the comment uses a different turn-of- phrase. I think that the comparison was intended by Frederic Wakeman, who wrote the novel upon which the film was based, and Claude Binyon, it's screenwriter and director. An earlier novel by Wakeman, titled "The Hucksters", was made into the eponymous film starring Clark Gable and Deborah Kerr. His "missing years" were spent in Greece with his wife, Elli Lambeti, a brilliant actress and a great star.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Alright, I guess..
calvertfan24 February 2002
I accidentally saw this movie when the library put it in the case of Pygmalion and I didn't realise I had the wrong film until I'd gotten home, so it didn't start off on a good footing. Don't see this if you're tired, it has a fair storyline, but it'd probably put you to sleep.

OK, there's this producer who has an ego the size of Texas, and doesn't care who he steps on to get his way. First victims: the producer tries to hit on a woman at a party, and she tries to warn her husband, who is a writer (who wants the same producer to produce his play), but he doesn't listen, and they end up separating. Then, the producer manages to destroy his own girlfriend's career by spreading vicious rumours about her, so she loses her contract. The poor author is forced to revise his play, and he makes such a mess of it that the actor he had pegged for the lead doesn't want to do the part anymore. Luckily, the author's ex-wife shows an original draft of the play to that actor, who loves it, and helps her to find another producer. After doing such a good deed, the author goes back to his wife. I can't remember anything else, but I think someone died as well.. I'd give The Saxon Charm about a 6 out of 10.
2 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
It was soooo boring (to a 7 year old at least).
vosamis-127 September 2006
Our play group, The Frank Moeschen Club, was treating us to an afternoon at the movies, it was a story about tank battles of WWII! Anyhow, we got into the theater, I believe it was the Loew's (in those days they still used apostrophes) 86th St., and...where was the tank battle. This d--n thing was playing instead. We waited and waited for it to finish, so the second feature (they also had double bills in those days and, up in Harlem, TRIPLE features, altho those were mostly 1930s westerns from studios like Monogram or a place called "PRC.") But I digress. By the time this vile thing finally did get thru, sorry time's up, your parents are waiting for you at home. You can imagine the lifelong annoyance I have had just seeing the name Saxon Charm.
1 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
The type of charm that digs its own grave.
mark.waltz15 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
If self destruction has a face, it has Robert Montgomery's picture on it as a truly nasty Broadway producer who intends to take down as many actors and playwrights as he can. Add on to that list ex-wives, writers wives, head waiters and even yacht captains. Playwright John Payne is his latest attempt at a victim, and that brings down his happy marriage to loyal wife Susan Hayward. Actress/singer Audrey Totter finds out the hard way what kind of skunk Montgomery really is, a victim of a truly wretched lie. Add in singer Cara Williams, his own ex-wife Heather Angel as well as personal assistant Henry (aka Harry) Morgan who all find out through their own potential destruction what a self- destructive he really is.

Hard to take at times, this exposure of a power-hungry producer can't seem to figure out its mood. Montgomery keeps trying to explain his motivations, but I saw through him within minutes. Payne and Hayward are totally overshadowed by the hammy Montgomery who is even more psychopathic than he was in the subtle "Night Must Fall" and twice as over the top as he was in the wretched "Rage in Heaven".

There isn't really enough of a strong plot line to make this noteworthy as even psychological melodrama. On the height of her rise to stardom with " Smash-Up", Hayward has a few strong moments but they seem to be imitations of what she had been nominated for with that film, released earlier by Universal. Payne is quiet most of the time, but with Montgomery spouting every line, he pretty much had no choice. Chill Wills, playing the no- nonsense yacht captain, manages to hold his own over Montgomery in his brief role. Had this stuck to one mood, it could have been more dramatically effective, but often Montgomery plays the part with buffoonish silliness and that is ultimately what brings on his character's well deserved downfall.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews