Fun & Fancy Free (1947) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
24 Reviews
Sort by:
7/10
"Well she used to be a good milker, but now.. she's an udder failure"
TheLittleSongbird1 October 2009
Fun and Fancy Free is for me one of Disney's lesser efforts, but is still very charming, simple and enjoyable. I did think the live action sequences were dated though, and the film is quite short. Out of all the characters, the only character I didn't care for that much was the puppet. Apart from the hilarious "well she used to be a good milker, but now... she is an udder failure" he didn't really make an impact on me. Maybe it was because the ventriloquism was rather substandard.

However, I really enjoyed this on the whole. The introduction with Jiminy Cricket- voiced by the one and only Cliff Edwards- in the library was very effective, as was a vast majority of the script. The animation is stunning, and by far the best aspect of the movie, and I hope I am not the only person who found the songs beautiful and memorable, my favourite being "My what a happy day".

There are two mini-classics here, Bongo and Mickey and the Beanstalk. Both are wonderful gems, but I will admit I do prefer the latter. Bongo tells the rather simple story of the adorable Bongo and his endeavour into a world he has never known before, after being the star attraction of a circus. It is very sweet and well meaning, and the narration isn't so bad either. Mickey and the Beanstalk is a favourite of mine. Wonderful voice acting, terrific animation especially for the beanstalk and nice music made this memorable for me.

Other things that impressed were one Jiminy Cricket of course, well how can he not impress, he is a classic character in the history of animation? Two, I thought Edgar Bergen was very entertaining in this film asides from the ventriloquism, and also child actress Luana Patten was impressive.

All in all, one of Disney's lesser efforts, but has undeniable charm due to the animated segments and Cricket himself. 7/10 Bethany Cox
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This movie made me "Fun and Fancy Free!"
Seth Nelson30 July 2006
The duo of Disney and RKO continue the magic onto 1947 with this flick, "Fun and Fancy Free." In it are a couple of wonderful and terrific stories: "Bongo," and "Mickey and the Beanstalk." Again, this movie has everything that you would expect in a Disney classic. Also, look out for more great Disney friends, like Jiminy Cricket!!!!!

One interesting fact: did you know that Walt Disney, the man who created Mickey, was the voice of Mickey Mouse? In "Mickey and the Beanstalk," Walt Disney himself voiced as Mickey Mouse, and that would end up being his last cartoon to do so.

So, this shows that movies like this just aren't made anymore. (sniff) But still, watch this movie with your children, enjoy it, and have a whole lot of fun with "Fun and Fancy Free!!!!!" 10 out of 10 stars.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
tiny treasure
Ryan J. Gilmer25 January 1999
This is a good combination of two animated stories/shorts: Bongo and Micky and the Beanstalk. while watching a mixture of stories and a mixture of animation and live action was a little awkward, Jiminy Cricket held it together. This film's latest release on video gives everyone the opportunity to see this tiny treasure for the first time. While, it doesn't rank up with the Best of Disney's animation, it is still worth seeing, if nothing else for Walt Disney's last film as the voice of Mickey.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A highly uneven and odd hodgepodge.
MartinHafer8 January 2011
After WWII, the Walt Disney company released a couple feature films that were actually nothing more than a few long cartoons strung together to feature length. The result were movies like this one as well as "Make Mine Music" and "The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad" which are essentially movies that seem a bit disjoint, as the theme that links the shorts is tenuous at best. Here, "Fun and Fancy Free" is a vague term and really has nothing to do with the cartoons. In addition, the quality of the two cartoons is quite different.

The first cartoon, "Bongo", frankly is awfully lame. Despite having some nice splashy colors, the story is weak and should have supported an 8-10 minute film--not a short running over a half hour. Plus, so much of the film seemed like filler--with LOTS and LOTS of singing from Dinah Shore and others. It's the story of a miserable circus bear who longs to be free. But, when a chance opportunity occurs and he escapes, life in the wild isn't as easy as he expected. Apart from a few cute characters (including a girl bear--you can tell because she has a flower growing out of her head), there isn't much to recommend it. I assume kids of the day really were bored by the cartoon and its watchability is not great. I'd score this one a 4---mostly because the animation is pretty good.

The final cartoon is the one kids will love, as it features Mickey, Donald and Goofy. Oddly, however, unlike the first cartoon, this one features a lot of live-action--with Edgar Bergen and his puppets entertaining a cute little girl with a Disney-fied version of "Jack and the Beanstalk". In this version, the three heroes take on the mean giant--wonderfully brought to life by the voice of Billy Gilbert. While it's clearly a variation of an earlier Disney film ("The Brave Little Tailor"), it still is very watchable and cute. Not a brilliant film, nevertheless it actually makes "Fun and Fancy Free" worth seeing. Plus, fans of Edgar Bergen will enjoy seeing him and his characters. I particularly enjoyed Charlie's 'Udder failure' comment. I'd give this one an 8.

Overall, it's a highly uneven and odd hodgepodge that, frankly, is not especially great viewing. However, the accompanying documentary about this, "The Story Behind Walt Disney's Fun & Fancy Free" is a lot more interesting than the film itself--so if you get the DVD, be sure to watch this in the special features.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A lovely and adorable film
Herbest85 October 2009
This package film from the Disney studio is simple but just irresistible as it features two colorful and cute cartoons interwoven with Edger Bergen and his famous dummies Charlie McCarthy and Mortimer Snerd.

The first segment is "Bongo" based on a short story by Sinclair Lewis. With the exception of narrator Dinah Shore, the whole thing is dialog free and although it moves along at a leisurely pace, it is good enough for the kids but adults will most certainly squirm.

The next segment is "Mickey and the Beanstalk" which has Bergan doing the narration of the classic fairy tale starring Mickey, Donald and Goofy as they face Willie the Giant (voiced amusingly by Billy Gilbert). Although the cartoon is cute and amusing, Bergen and his dummies along with the adorable Luana Patten provide the bulk of the laughs. I can't help but compare the approach in this segment to "Mystery Science Theater 3000" because of the good-natured riffing done by Charlie and Mortimer. It makes you wish that Walt Disney had used this formula for other films like "Alice in Wonderland" or "Cinderella." It goes without saying that Charlie's riffing on Bergen's storytelling is a particular highlight.

I say see this film. It'll warm your heart and keep you amused. Plus, it doesn't have the blatant pop culture jokes you get in contemporary animated films.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
It's Party Time!
chrisbishop50007 September 2008
Warning: Spoilers
If you ask me, I think Walt Disney put into this movie more of his cheerful, laid-back nature than any other and I haven't even seen a possible making-of featurette to prove because, currently, I only have this on video which is at least 7 years old now. I think it's fair to say that "Fun and Fancy Free" is exactly what it says on the tin. It opens with a lively chorus singing the title song and I love how when the animations begins to start up the song follows onto Jiminy Cricket (voiced by Cliff Edwards, died 1971, (I think) at 76) singing his own verses, a laid-back, cheerful happy fellow riding on a large leaf in what soon appears to be a vase. In order to cheer up a sad doll missing her mama and a moody teddy Jiminy puts on a vinyl record telling a story...

BONGO: The expressive, vivacious and energetic enthusiasm of narrator Dinah Shore is just unbelievable! Bongo, a former circus bear who had been mistreated by the ring-master, longs to be free and eventually gets his dream! He is befriended by all the forest animals and also falls in love - but will things go smoothly? Give you a clue; "Every deer and every dove has a way of making love but a bear likes to say it with a SLAP"

MICKEY AND THE BEANSTALK: Jiminy finds an invitation to a party across the way and here's who was there; Luana Patten (died 1996, just 57) the hilariously cheeky Charlie McCarthy, the dazed and absent-minded Mortimer Snerd and the man who threw the party Edgar Bergen (died 1978, 75). Edgar Bergen tries to tell a story (in spite of his frustration at Charlie's frequent interruptions and criticisms) of Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy living in poverty leaving Mickey and Goofy miserable and Donald having some violent fits of psychotic rage. Bergen defends him to the end. What about the others? Mickey and Goofy went through it too and they didn't try to murder the family cow! The only way to bring happiness to their home is to fetch an enchanted harp from the castle of a selfish giant but it's an not easy mission because if you can fool Willie the giant you can fool anyone! Can they do it? Mortimer becomes upset at when finally became of the giant and as Edgar tries to comfort him the roof is suddenly torn off by... the giant. Not to eat them but to just pop in. This cartoon musical extravaganza truly did make history in animation; that eye-popping blend of art and live action has been done practically throughout the entire movie. And there's neither bad language nor sex scenes nor violence - just full of Fun and Fancy Free!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Not Disney's best, but has its interest points
Atreyu_II16 November 2008
The 9th animated Disney classic is something I have mixed feelings about, in similarity to what happens with "The Three Caballeros".

It's a curious cartoon with some to offer, yet not one of Disney's finest creations.

For one thing, I like its introduction. I was surprised when I heard a familiar singing voice. I thought «This voice sounds like Jiminy Cricket». And in the next moment, Jiminy Cricket appears, voiced by the same Cliff Edwards. Another interesting fact is that Jiminy Cricket is the narrator of the story in some parts. He introduces us the first of the two stories, "Bongo": it is the story of a little circus bear that runs away from the circus and discovers what it's like to be free.

I liked the story of Bongo and the character itself. He's a cute and adorable little bear. This is, without a doubt, the best segment of this motion picture. It is, however, narrated by Dinah Shore.

As for the second and final segment, "Mickey and the Beanstalk", it is narrated by Edgar Bergen, but before that there are a few live-action scenes where Edgar Bergen is working as a ventriloquist and tells the tale to child actress Luana Patten. After the end of the story, there are a few more live-action scenes like this and Jiminy Cricket appears in both.

As for the segment itself, needless to say it is based on "Jack and the Beanstalk". It's not a bad segment, but honestly I found it nothing special. It features, however, well known cartoons like Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy. It also features Willie, the famous temperamental giant from some Disney tales. Mickey Mouse is voiced by Walt Disney himself, while Donald Duck is voiced by the inimitable Clarence Nash.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Nostalgic
zanegoldy8 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this as a kid and every time I see it I just get taken back to when everything was more simple,and beautiful. Great animation, and message. Thank you Disney you made my childhood what it is today.It really should be respected higher. It is classic. The songs, the characters. Even still toady I still sing Goofy's song. And Bongo the circus bear. So much character and nothing said at all. One of Disney's best and should be on IMDb's top 250. And the ending with the Giant and coming through the roof I was so terrified of that when I saw that as a child. The ventriloquism was great to, that little girl was good as well I wonder who she was.... 10/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Great getat
rice-henry19 March 2012
This package film from the Disney studio is simple but just irresistible as it features two colorful and cute cartoons interwoven with Edger Bergen and his famous dummies Charlie McCarthy and Mortimer Snerd.

The first segment is "Bongo" based on a short story by Sinclair Lewis. With the exception of narrator Dinah Shore, the whole thing is dialog free and although it moves along at a leisurely pace, it is good enough for the kids but adults will most certainly squirm.

The next segment is "Mickey and the Beanstalk" which has Bergan doing the narration of the classic fairy tale starring Mickey, Donald and Goofy as they face Willie the Giant (voiced amusingly by Billy Gilbert). Although the cartoon is cute and amusing, Bergen and his dummies along with the adorable Luana Patten provide the bulk of the laughs. I can't help but compare the approach in this segment to "Mystery Science Theater 3000" because of the good-natured riffing done by Charlie and Mortimer. It makes you wish that Walt Disney had used this formula for other films like "Alice in Wonderland" or "Cinderella." It goes without saying that Charlie's riffing on Bergen's storytelling is a particular highlight.

I say see this film. It'll warm your heart and keep you amused. Plus, it doesn't have the blatant pop culture jokes you get in contemporary animated films.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Historical curiosity? Disney doesn't get more historically curious than this
Spleen10 October 2000
"Bambi" (1942) was the last REAL animated feature the Disney studio released in the 1940s. Until 1950, there would only be shorts - which in general weren't as good either as the innovative ones made in the 1930s, or Jack Hannah's comic masterpieces of the 1950s - and compilation features: "The Reluctant Dragon" (1941), "Saludos Amigos" (1943), "The Three Caballeros" (1945), "Make Mine Music" (1946), "Fun and Fancy Free" (1947), "Melody Time" (1948), "The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad" (1949). You're unlikely to have seen ANY of these. All of them were stripped apart into their component pieces long ago, largely because, with the exception of "The Three Caballeros", there's no reason to keep any of them in one piece. ("Fantasia" is another exception, so much so that I've left it off the list altogether - it's a completely different kind of endeavour.)

I say this even though "The Three Caballeros" is the only one I'VE seen. I have seen most of the material that went into these movies, though, and trust me: it's uneven, and there's no coherent way of gluing most of it together. -"Fun and Fancy Free", in any event, consists of just two extended shorts: "Bongo" and "Mickey and the Beanstalk". I'm writing mainly to defend the latter. People are much too hard on it. There's a marked similarity between it and the winning short cartoon "The Brave Little Tailor" (1938), another fairytale with Disney characters taking the lead roles, and while "Beanstalk" lacks the earlier short's freshness, it has the advantage of having Donald and Goofy in it, two terribly under-rated cartoon stars who, although capable of sustaining shorts on their own, play off well against one another. (That's why it's impossible to make a Mickey/Donald/Goofy cartoon that's a TOTAL failure.) "Mickey and the Beanstalk" is one of the few post-war cartoons to recapture the spirit of Disney's depression-era stuff.

"Bongo" is of almost no interest - a vapid, directionless account of a circus bear who must adapt to life in the wild, complete with songs. People interested in the history of animation should see every Disney production they can get their eyes on; there's no other reason to see this one. The sheer POINTLESSNESS of pairing "Bongo" with "Mickey and the Beanstalk" makes this Disney's most bizarre compilation feature of the decade. -I wish I'd seen the linking segments. They can't possibly JUSTIFY the film's arbitrary nature, but it might be entertaining to see them try.
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fun stuff
utgard1418 September 2017
Fun Disney picture with two stories. The first is Bongo, a cute story about a little bear falling in love and having to fight a bigger bear for his lady. Flimsy story but it moves along quickly enough. It's over a half-hour long but I didn't even really think about how long it was until after it was over so I certainly can't complain about the pacing. This story was narrated by Dinah Shore, who also sings. Lovely voice. Modern viewers, particularly those with a dark sense of humor, might see a domestic violence message in this one. Bongo was something of a 'gangsta.'

The second story is the Mickey Mouse version of Jack and the Beanstalk. I know I saw this one many times as a kid but, for the life of me, I don't remember seeing Bongo before today. So perhaps this was released on a VHS collection or something back in the day, separate from this film. This one is narrated by ventriloquist Edgar Bergen, who also appears in a live action segment doing his puppet routine in what appears to be a private birthday party for a little girl who I hoped was his daughter but turns out it was Disney child star Luana Patten. A little creepy but different times.

Jiminy Cricket also appears in the beginning and in a linking segment from the first story to the second. As always with classic Disney, the animation is excellent, with beautiful drawings and rich colors. Love the music, as well. This is far from my favorite Disney movie, even limited to the compilation ones. But I do enjoy it a lot and I can't imagine most Disney fans not liking it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Disney Animated Fun-Fun-Fun & Fancy Free Adventure
Dalbert Pringle11 December 2016
This "Fun and Fancy Free" DVD (cheerfully brought to you by Disney Studios) contains two, enjoyable, 35-minute animated films from 1947.

Hosted by everyone's favourite insect - Jiminy Cricket - These 2 tales of fun-fun-fun and fancy-free adventure also feature several musical numbers as an added bonus.

Story #1 is all about Bongo, the circus bear, who desperately wants to get himself back to the forest, like, pronto.

Story #2 has Mickey Mouse (taking the place of Jack), along with Donald Duck and Goofy, climbing the beanstalk all the way up to the nasty giant's fantastic castle in the sky - "Fee-Fye-Foe-Fum!"

*Note* - Mickey Mouse was voiced by Walt Disney, himself.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good, but subject to the same caveats as Disney's other fragmented movies
Neil Welch28 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Fun And Fancy Free contains two animated featurettes linked by live action of Edgar Bergen entertaining young Luana Patten with his ventriloquism.

Going into the 1940s, Disney found that the demand for animated features far exceeded the studio's ability to produce them. The lead time for a full-length feature was much greater than that for a shorter film, so it was possible to put together a feature-length movie comprising several shorter pieces much more quickly than a single coherent story, hence the arrival of a number of films which were made up of two or more different elements.

FAFF contains two animated sections, both of which are enjoyable without being exceptional, and an adequate linking section. That is why this is not one of the Disney films which is well remembered.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fun and Fancy Boredom, Hilarity and Creepiness
Anssi Vartiainen24 June 2015
Yet another Disney film that tried to hold them aloft after the war years. A short film collection, like all the rest, though this time we only get a two segments and a framing story featuring Jiminy Cricket.

Of these two segment, Bongo, the first one, is pure boredom. It's nothing but this circus bear escaping his confinement and gallivanting around in the forest. And you already know how it goes. At first he's thrilled, then the actual, you know, nature rears its ugly head, he meets other animals, gets into trouble, rinse and repeat ad nauseam. Granted, the animation is pretty good, some of physical stunts are pretty humorous and the music could be worse, but it's simply so uninteresting. Nothing of value happens, the main character barely has a personality and... boring!

Mickey and the Beanstalk, on the other hand, is a born classic. This is an incredible segment, featuring Mickey Mouse, Goofy and Donald Duck as medieval farmers living in an enchanted valley, ruled by a magic harp (it's not as weird as you think), who unfortunately has now gone missing and thus everyone hungers. And you know the story. Mickey goes to sell their cow, buys some "magic" beans, and the rest is story telling history. It's action-packed, the three make for a hilarious comedic trio, the animation is impressive, the story thrilling and it's just a great deal of fun.

I also have to mention that the framing story is beyond creepy, especially the ending. Jiminy Cricket is fine, he's one of Disney's finest as always, but they decided to hire a famous ventriloquist Edgar Bergen to play himself in the framing story, and his puppets are simply put pure horror. Who decided this was appropriate for little kids?

So yeah, Mickey and the Beanstalk is a really good segment, but it has since been re-released on its own so many times that there's really no reason to see its actual origins film. Watch this if you want to say you've seen them all.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good (Not Great) Vintage Disney.
tvnutboy4 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I was almost tempted to put in a spoiler for this one, (A Key one, not the minor ones I have in here) but Somebody was kind enough to go into more than great detail about "Bongo" and anyone who was a kid once already knows the story of "Jack & The Beanstalk", so going over the plot of "Mickey & The Beanstalk" would seem a little frivolous. So instead, I will say that this was just an OK Disney film for the era which it came from.

I do have a soft spot for Bongo, 'cause we could use a sweet story during times like these. The only downfall is that sometimes it gets so sweet, I need one of those OneTouch machines to keep track of my insulin levels. One such example (MINOR SPOILER) is when Bongo meets Lulubelle and they go into this whole sequence where just about every single love cliché/device/gimmick is being shown. Which begs me to wonder how much sugar the animators had in their coffee during the making of it. Otherwise, it's a cute story that goes beyond cute.

Afterwards, The live action stuff with Edgar (Candace's Father) Bergen boosts the film a little. Albeit, it's filler when you stop to think about it. Also, not a lot of people this day and age knows who he and his dummy co-horts are unless you did a little researching. Apparently, they were huge back in the day.

Enter Mickey & The Beanstalk and it's essentially the same story as the one we read as kids (CONTINUITY SPOILER). Only there's three heroes instead of just one, and A Golden Harp, but no goose that lays golden eggs. Other than that, nothing to write home about.

All in all, it's a crowd pleaser at best. No "Shooting Through the Roof" deal, but still just OK for a 1940s Disney Animated film.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A very fun Disney anthology film!
jonconnormustlive-4629811 February 2018
Fun & Fancy Free starts with the beloved character Jiminy Cricket, he tells the story of Bongo. Bongo is about a circus bear who falls off his train and gets lost in the woods, he finds some wild bears and must learn to fit in. Jiminy then meets his ventriloquist neighbor who tells him the story of Mickey and the Beanstalk. Mickey, Donald & Goofy star together in the short take on Jack and the Beanstalk, in which they are stressed from lack of money and food, they get their hands on magic beans and use to reach the land of giants.

As a whole the film fits tonally well. There's a feeling of fun and humor throughout. Bongo adds a great catchy song and dance and it's all around a blast to watch. Mickey and the Beanstalk adds some thrills but keeps iself fittingly funny. The wrap-around bits feature some memorable and funny characters all centered around Jiminy Cricket's lovable character.

Anthologies often struggle to feel consistent, but Fun & Fancy Free is an all around fun blast of storytelling. Thumbs up!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Only 1/3 of this film is worth seeing
Sherrill77726 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The Bad:

This film is divided up into two animated segments, with live-action intermission, so it doesn't feel like a full-length feature. The first animated piece, staring Mickey, Donald, and Goofy, is a retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk. The second, an original story about a dancing bear, Bongo, that discovers the wilds of nature. The live animation pieces are down right awful. It is a birthday 'party' consisting of two children and an adult who is a ventriloquist. First, ventriloquism is not an act that translates well to a TV medium. Especially when you can see the human's mouth move. Second, these live-action scenes feel heavy-handed, not natural and certainly not funny or enjoyable. If you bought this video, you'd probably end up fast forwarding past these parts every viewing to get to the animation. Which brings me to the animated parts. The first one is decent (I'll get to that in a minute), but the second one, centering around Bongo is especially cringe- worthy. Over the course of the short, Bongo discovers a female bear, falls in love, and learns that the best way to show love to someone is to slap them. Wow. What a lesson. There's even a whole song dedicated to showing someone you love them "with a slap". Can I just take a moment to wonder what the script writer was thinking here?

The Good:

The saving grace of this film is the first animated segment. Mickey and pals go on a semi-epic quest, and it's honestly fun and humorous, and enjoyable. If I were rating just this part of this video, I'd give it a solid 7 or 8 stars.

The Mom View:

Two-thirds of this movie is not worth watching, but I really like the Mickey and the Beanstalk part. That makes this a tough one for me. For just that one animated segment, I'd say this is appropriate for pre-schoolers and up and that it's certainly a recommended show. However, since that cartoon comes attached to the rest, I can't recommend anything more than a rental (or perhaps YouTube). That's what I'm planning with my kids – try to stream it somewhere and skip everything that's not Mickey and the Beanstalk.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not the best, but an entertaining ride
SlyGuy2124 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
While not as good as other package films Disney released around the same time, "Fun & Fancy Free" has enough to like about it to justify the watch. It's great seeing characters like Jiminy, Mickey, Donald, and Goofy, the animation's fantastic as always, and both stories are good enough to stand on their own. "Bongo"s a straight-forward "the-grass-is-always-greener" story, but with some darker elements to it. And "Mickey & the Beanstalk" is just Mickey, Donald, and Goofy, doing their own version of the famous story. The only real problem I had with the film was the constant cuts to the live-action characters towards the end. I thought it killed the momentum of the segment a lot.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Boring with lousy songs
preppy-34 July 2009
Two shorts strung together with material involving Jiminy Cricket and Edgar Bergen and his dummies. The two stories are--"Bongo" about a circus bear escaping and his "comic" misadventures in the wilderness and "Mickey and the Beanstalk" with Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy recreating "Jack and the Beanstalk". The animation is great (that's why this gets three stars) but the stories are trite, padded and downright boring! They're also full of songs so unmemorable, bland and sweet that you'll be thinking cutting off your ears! To make matters unendurable Edgar Bergen has got to be the world's worst ventriloquist! His lips are plainly moving when his dummies "talk". A sleep-inducing mess. VERY patient young kids might go for it.
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Let it be known: a giant has a blues singer name!
Lee Eisenberg12 November 2014
"Fun and Fancy Free" is nothing that I would recommend in and of itself. However, I thought it neat that the giant in "Mickey and the Beanstalk" is named Willie. What's the significance, you ask? Quite simply, Willie with the IE spelling is a stereotypical name of blues singers, such as Willie Dixon. I wonder how a blues song about Jack and the Beanstalk would go.

As for Edgar Bergen, I suspect that Candice Bergen used to be known as his daughter, and now he's probably known as Candice Bergen's father. I liked Charlie McCarthy's and Mortimer Snerd's mildly sarcastic commentary; it wasn't like on "Mystery Science Theater 3000" but still funny.

In the end it's no great movie but nothing harmful. You gotta pay your dues if you wanna sing the blues.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Jack and the Beanstalk in a short story.
OllieSuave-00713 October 2013
This movie consists of two cartoons combined to make into a full-length feature film: Bongo and Mickey and the Beanstalk.

From what I recall, Bongo was the story about a circus bear who escapes the Big Top to seek adventures and survive on its own in the wild. It was an OK cartoon without dialog, but I believe its pretty obscure to today's audiences.

The more exciting story is the Mickey and the Beanstalk short, a cartoon based on the Jack and the Beanstalk fairytale and stars Mickey in the lead role. Other characters include the huge but somewhat clueless Giant and a beautiful singing Golden Harp; she sings a very soothing and serene song, typical of the 1940s era, but very comforting. Donald and Goofy join Mickey in this adventure, first starting off as starving farmers, then finding the magic beans that grow into a huge beanstalk. They climb it and it leads them to the Giant's castle, where they attempt to rescue the Golden Harp. It's non-stop fun you would expect in a cartoon from beginning to end.

It is one of the more shorter in length Disney classics. But, it's great for the kids - perfect duration for their attention span. I personally prefer the second story over the first one. though.

Grade B+
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Clichéd but still fun and entertaining with that nice little sparkle of Disney Magic!
ian-12116 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This is yet another short story combination from Walt Disney which is pretty much a commonplace with the likes of "Saludos Amigos" and "The Three Caballeros" but it is still good fun and will take you to see a different twist to your fairy tale you grew up with. Here, Pinocchio's Jiminy Cricket takes centre stage as he hops though a bunch of records and comes across "Bongo", a story about a little bear who runs away from the circus and finds the girls of his dreams then bounces over to a nearby house to see real life people (Walt Disney was into having real life scenes at this stage of the Disney era) telling the story of "Mickey and the Beanstalk" where (you guess it) Mickey, Donald and Goofy climb up the beanstalk that tells the classic fairy tale the Disney way. I find this inferior to "Make Mine Music" which came out before it but this is a great way to past 70 minutes and if there's nothing on T.V then this will be a good alternative.

7/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Fancyful Fun
Rindiana31 July 2009
Another watchable Disney package film, consisting of only two segments this time.

While the Bongo episode is quite cuddly in its own right, its thin narrative feels rather overstretched and Dinah Shore's syrupy narration and singing add too much schmaltz to the mix.

So it's up to Mickey, Donald and Goofy to save the day in the beanstalk segment, which is narrated by Edgar Bergen and his ventriloquist's puppets in a wonderfully ironic tone. The episode itself is effectively paced, with funny, somber and thrilling moments in perfect balance and some catchy tunes thrown in for good measure. It's one of the three cartoon stars' best teamings. (And the final joke is nice.)

7 out of 10 harp loving giants
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews