IMDb > Hare Trigger (1945) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Hare Trigger More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Watch this a million time, you'll still be laughing for the millionth time

9/10
Author: Cihan Sean Victorydawn Vercan (CihanVercan) from Ottawa, Canada
31 December 2009

It's hard to rely on someone else's advice to choose a comedy to watch. Every joke may not be funny for everybody, for everyone has different sense of humour. Although, there are some jokes made up of pure intellect; and especially those jokes have a hidden kernel which always keeps its freshness. They just don't get staled by time. That's what, when Bugs Bunny and Yosemite Sam came together for the first time, they have created.

There are more than a couple of cross-referencing sequences from Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short's western-comedy epic "Three Amigos(1986)" to this little episode of Bugs Bunny. The most memorable one for me is when someone lies dead in a scene, his pal suddenly comes right in front of our eyes playing a Mexican guitar, singing a Mexican Indian song, wearing a traditional Mexican hat and says: "It's only a red ink bleeding from the top of your head. This is just a comedy. In comedies, people don't die." even before Yosemite Sam wonders: "Why did you pour ink on my head?".

From start till the end, Hare Trigger shines at all levels. A simple story has made very gripping with less script and more action. It's very rare to come across that much of a short script before the modern Sylvester&Tweety chapters. The best jokes and the loudest laughters come through the direction of the animation. It's also a pioneer on adding a wasted 35mm. footage of real life filmmakers and their films, appearing as a surprise segment. Freleng and his animation crew has created a truly epic. At this level, the character intros have been done very wisely. So it became easier than thought to create this intimate friend for Bugs: Yosemite Sam... Quick-tempered, vengeful, selfish, the midget cowboy who always seeks trouble.

Among all of his pals, Yosemite Sam is the best one who gets very closer to overcome Bugs Bunny every time. In this first episode of their endless quarrel, Yosemite Sam actually overcomes Bugs Bunny. He does for a short time. When we left Bugs Bunny tied up and hanging upside down from the top of the train going over a bridge, we fearfully thought "there must be something wrong with this" ; this time Bugs Bunny overcame the screenwriter, Michael Maltese. Bugs changes the screenplay before it occurs to his life's end. He still bears his title; he's still the one and the only unbeatable(even though there is sometimes no clear explanation "How?" at all).

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"I Hate That Rabbit" -Yosemite Sam

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
21 February 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

The Super Chief railroad train was speeding down the tracks. Bugs Bunny was on board in the mail car. Suddenly, a diminuitive outlaw by the name of Yosemite Sam boarded the train and aimed to rob it. That's when he met Bugs Bunny who dressed as a desparado and the two have a shoot out. Sam chases him all over the train until they have a showdown on the roof. Sam over powers Bugs and ties him on a rope dangling over jagged rocks. Just as Sam cuts through the rope, the cartoon is interrupted with cliffhanging questions reguarding whether Bugs Bunny will survive. Bugs walks on screen then carrying a sack filled with reward money and dragging a bound and gagged Sam behind him.

This was the very first Yosemite Sam cartoon. Until now, Elmer Fudd was Bugs' Number 1 nemesis. Mel Blanc would later use the Yosemite Sam voice for George Jetson's boss, Mr. Spacely. Bugs Bunny and Yosemite Sam would go on to make many more cartoons together. You could always count on fun if those two were involved. My favorite Bugs Bunny/Yosemite Sam cartoons are From Hare to Heir, Wild and Woolly Hare, and a few others. But anyway, all you Yosemite Sam fans who want to see Sam's origins, I recommend Hare Trigger!

-

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

trigger happy

10/10
Author: Lee Eisenberg (lee.eisenberg.pdx@gmail.com) from Portland, Oregon, USA
25 October 2008

And thus was born the self-proclaimed rip-roaringest, Edward Everett Horton-est hombre what ever packed a six-shooter. Friz Freleng created Yosemite Sam because he didn't consider the dim-witted Elmer Fudd a formidable opponent for Bugs Bunny. So, he created the smallest man possible and gave him the loudest voice possible. "Hare Trigger" stresses Sam's diminutive stature by having the train pass right over him, and then he has to use a staircase to board his horse.

It's worth noting that Sam is sort of a composite of a few previous characters. There was Cottontail Smith in "Super-Rabbit", the southern sheriff in "Stage Door Cartoon" and Red Hot Ryder in "Buckaroo Bugs" (that last one is usually considered Sam's definitive prototype, albeit without the mustache or loud voice). Whatever Sam's origin was, you can't deny that with his loose cannon personality, he is truly one of the funniest of the Warner Bros. animated characters. And it all started with this cartoon three score and three years ago. Thank you Friz Freleng!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Pretty smart cartoon with good characters

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
23 November 2003

Bugs Bunny is riding cross country in the mail car section of a train when it is held up by infamous train robber Yosemite Sam. Keen to continue his journey without disturbance, Bugs uses little tricks to foil Sam's attempts to rob the train.

Although this cartoon has nothing that will set the world alight, it is a pretty funny little cartoon that is very well put together. The plot is full of nice little sketches, be it Bugs hiding from his scab relatives or drawing his gun ultra-fast, it's all pretty funny and well worth seeing.

The animation is quality and feels like it was painstakingly drawn rather than rushed together. This is a big deal, the cartoons where care has been put in are usually better in all other regards as well and don't just look good. The characters here as also good, Bugs is very sharp and Sam is a great foil who helps carry the load of the cartoon.

Overall this looks good and that quality is shown throughout. The plot is good, the jokes are funny and the characters are well scripted and delivered to be more than just animated rabbits or people but actually have characteristics of their own!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Introducing Yosemite Sam; the villain whose short temper is matched by his short stature

8/10
Author: Tweekums from United Kingdom
1 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The gags start early in this Bugs Bunny short; the opening shot shows a train crossing the desert; its headboard proclaims that it is the 'Super Chief' and features an Indian chief in a superman costume! On board Bugs is in the mail car singing a song when pint sized bandit Yosemite Sam tries to hold up the train; what follows is a series of shootouts interspersed with gags, visual puns and even a couple of live action sequences!

This short provided a new adversary for Bugs Bunny in the form of the short, red-haired gunslinger Yosemite Sam; on the strength of this outing I'm not surprised he became a regular character. The train robbery setting nicely spoofed westerns where characters fire their six-shooters constantly without needed to reload. Other funny gags include Bugs sketching a gun when Sam tells him to draw and later Bugs sitting on Sam's head while pretending to be entering the carriage from various directions and ultimately pouring red ink on Sam's head so he thinks he's been hit. Mel Blanc does a fine job providing totally different voices for both Bugs and Sam.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

10/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
16 February 2011

I love Looney Tunes, always have done, always will do, and I love the pairings of Bugs Bunny and Yosemite Sam. With them, I am used to razor-sharp dialogue, clever sight gags and explosive character interaction. With Hare Trigger I was not disappointed at all! The animation is colourful and looks as though care has gone into it. And the music is very energetic and fits with the story and action well.

The cartoon goes at a fast pace, and has a good and rarely predictable story. The chemistry between Bugs and Sam is a sheer delight, Bugs is his witty and likable self, while Sam bags the best lines and utters them with relish. Mel Blanc's stellar vocals only add to the fun, Blanc's voice work is always consistent and as I've said many times he had a knack of elevating even the weakest of material.

Hare Trigger's real creme de la creme is in the humour. The dialogue is razor-sharp and very witty and with the chemistry between Bugs and Sam as explosive as it already is it has the impact of firecrackers going off. But it is actually the action and sight gags that drive it. The action is exhilarating, while the sight gags do not fall into the trap of being predictable and work on repeat viewings.

All in all, a hilarious cartoon and a must for fans of Bugs or Yosemite Sam. 10/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Very funny!

8/10
Author: Mightyzebra from Scotland
9 January 2010

So far, this is my favourite Yosemite Sam + Bugs Bunny cartoon for the following reasons:

1. It has very intelligent humour that works very well with the usual roles of Bugs Bunny and Yosemite Sam. 2. Partly because this is his first episode ,Yosemite Sam is portrayed in a way contrary to the other episodes I have seen on him and Bugs Bunny (as being particularly small). This portrayal of his minuteness works very well and adds a good deal of humour to the beginning of the cartoon. 3. It is not quite so slapsticky as the following YS + BB cartoons. I know this might be a disadvantage of this episode to some people, but personally I prefer a witty Looney Tunes joke to a slapstick one (generally).

Anyway, in this episode, we see Bugs Bunny on a train in the mail carriage, playing a banjo and being very relaxed. Unfortunately for him, a small but dangerous gangster, played by Yosemite Sam, invades the carriage and takes everything of value, including Bugs. The bunny soon puts Yosemite Sam to the test, will Bugs Bunny receive his revenge..?

I recommend this episode to people who like the old Bugs Bunny, to people who love/like Yosemite Sam and to people who enjoy Looney Tunes in general. Enjoy "Hare Trigger"! :-)

8 and a half out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

"Your money or your life!"

Author: slymusic from Tucson, AZ
24 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Introducing Bugs Bunny's newest nemesis - YOSEMITE SAM! A villain with a large, droopy moustache, a harsh, fiery temper, and an exceedingly short stature, Sam turned out to be a perfect foil for Bugs, thanks to director Friz Freleng, who simply hated the stupid Elmer Fudd. In "Hare Trigger", Sam attempts to hold up a train, on which Bugs just happens to be a passenger.

My favorite scenes: At the very beginning of the cartoon, the train's whistle blows "Yankee Doodle", complete with some great sound effects by Treg Brown. Sam gives Bugs one second to "draw" a gun, so Bugs whips out a pad & pencil; Carl Stalling's musical accompaniment of this scene is hilariously PERFECT! Sam introduces himself with such adjectives as "rip-roarinest" and "Edward Everett Horton-est".

"Hare Trigger" can be found (finally) on the Looney Tunes Golden Collection Volume 6 Disc 1. One question that has existed in my mind for quite awhile: Was director Friz Freleng Yosemite Sam? Many say Friz was, but he denied it. We may never know the answer.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

LOL hilarious!

10/10
Author: malikroberts16 from United States
24 March 2008

"Why, ev'rybody knows ME! I'm Yosemite Sam: the meanest, toughest, rip-rawlin'est, Edward Everett Horton-est hombre what ever packed a six-shoota!"

That's one of my most favorite quotes. Another one is where Sam says really calmly...

"Why did you pour ink on my head?"

This legendary cartoon series had some damn good writers, something that tons of toons these days miss terribly. Hopefully, these kind of cartoons will be revived soon 'cause they was some kinda magic. Michael Maltese was probably my favorite Warner Bros. cartoon writer. His stuff was just so funny it'd make a guy cry! Mel Blanc is hilarious; he can do hundreds and thousands of voices and still remember his real one!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history