Two Girls and a Sailor (1944) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
20 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Two Girls, A Sailor and a host of MGM talent!
Greensleeves6 October 2005
Perky June Allyson and lovely Gloria DeHaven are two vaudevillians given a chance to open their own canteen for military personnel by a mysterious benefactor. The very thin plot revolves around this simple premise and at over two hours running time it becomes very stretched indeed. However, as this is an MGM movie, there is much to enjoy thanks to the plethora of studio talent involved. The highlights for me were gorgeous Virginia O'Brien doing her usual 'deadpan' number, June Allyson's terrific 'Young Man With A Horn', beautiful Lena Horne singing 'Paper Doll' and who could resist Jimmy Durante performing 'Inka Dinka Doo'? The production is lavish with huge sets, hundreds of extras and fabulous costumes. The bizarre dream sequence is quite eye-popping and even includes a fashion parade with some truly beautiful models. Quite an extravaganza!
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
a forever musical worthy of Hollywood's golden era
javi-3114 February 2006
Saw this delightful musical, filled with great performers: James, Durante, Cugat, Iturbi, and many others, when I was eleven while in New York with my mother in 1944, and never saw it again until today 14 Feb, 2006 in TCM... easy going plot, well articulated with good acting, fine music and mainly everlasting songs... All in all, just great fun all the way... the fine start of June Allyson brilliant career...

What a great feeling to live back those far gone days when even though in war, America was united as ever, with natural sorrow and hardships, but full of dreams, commitment, proud of itself, with high hopes for a better world... Made me nostalgic? Yes indeed!
22 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Deyo sisters' canteen
jotix10024 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This delightful MGM film came out during WWII. This picture was a product of those years. In a way, it was a way to inspire patriotism and play tribute to those young men that went to the war for their country. It's hard to imagine anything like this in these turbulent times we are living. These pictures were mindless entertainment to get the public's mind away from the realities the war was causing to a lot of people at the time.

The story of the perky Deyo Sisters, a singing and dancing duo, working in the night clubs of the Manhattan of those years it at the center of the story. They were products of vaudeville, as shown in the sequence at the beginning of the story where Patsy and Jean are seen with the star, Billy Kipp, years before his downfall.

The sisters decide to invite to their humble apartment the young men they met on the streets after they finished performing. The idea was to give these boys a good time in a wholesome setting. Jean, falls for a sailor who follows the sisters' act every night. Little do the girls know about the identity of this innocent looking young man. When Patsy points out to John Dyckman Brown, the sailor, her ambition to fix the abandoned warehouse next to them, she never expected her dreams to come true. When they open the place, they are able to get some of the performers working in the night clubs to come entertain the boys before they go to war.

The film is highly entertaining because MGM made sure to give this project the priority it needed. Richard Thorpe, the director, did wonders with the material and the stars at his disposal in a truly inspired movie that is delightful to see anytime it's shown.

June Allyson, in her screen debut, is marvelous as the sensible Patsy. Gloria DeHaven, at the height of her beauty and freshness, is quite a sight to see. Van Johnson and Tom Drake, play the girl's love interests with charm. The fabulous Jimmy Durante is rescued by the girls from oblivion. The musical numbers are wonderful. We see some of the best talent of that era such as Lena Horne, Harry James, Xavier Cugat, Gracie Allen, Jose Iturbi, and others that contribute to make this a winning film that gives other generation a taste of what it was like to be young in those years. Viewers paying close attention will see a young Ava Gardner among the girls in the chorus.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great collection of talent in war-time musical romantic comedy.
TxMike4 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The "two girls" in the title are June Allyson (26) as Patsy and Gloria DeHaven (18) as Jean, the singing and dancing Deyo sisters. The "sailor" is Van Johnson (27) who plays John Dyckman Brown III, a new recruit in the Navy. What the girls don't find out until the very end is that the sailor is very wealthy, son of Brown II and grandson of Brown I. It is a nice and simple story of two girls falling for the same guy, and the three of them having to sort it out.

Harry James (27) and orchestra are major players, as themselves. This was especially enjoyable for me, a trumpet player since I was 11. Harry James was one of my idols, and I consider him to have had the sweetest swing trumpet sound ever. He did 4 or 5 trumpet solos during the movie, and was a pleasant character playing himself.

The movie is filled with other stars. One of them is Jimmy Durante doing his stage comedy song & dance routine, and continuing as a character sharing issues with the sisters. Other 'names' include Xavier Cugat and band, Lena Horne, Gracie Allen (who plays her composition for index finger with orchestra), and a few others I am not familiar with.

This was war time and the movie includes lots of entertainment for the Army, Navy, and Marine servicemen honored here. The sisters have the servicemen come home with them one evening to serve sandwiches and refreshments. They comment that it would be nice to have a larger place, like the old Wigson's Warehouse, which turns out to be filled with theatrical props and supplies. They 'wish' for more cleaning staff and they appear. Durante 'wishes' for a baby grand and in it comes. The warehouse is turned into a canteen for soldiers, food, drink, entertainment.

SPOILERS FOLLOW. Much of the rest of the story is sisters trying to figure out who the benefactor was. They eventually find that it was the sailor himself, Brown III. Patsy knows her sister Jean is smitten with the sailor and assumes she will marry him. However Jean finds another love, and Patsy ends up with the rich sailor.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Happy Movie
mrsbocek3 March 2000
This movie was made in the years when life was turmoil, when Europe was at war and the US military was more than visible. Consequently the plot twists and turns but you know it will turn out happy. I was enthralled by the movie. Lots of humor and sisterly love draw you into the plot. The mystery of who will end up with whom keeps you riveted. But most of all June Allyson and Van Johnson together, in their 1940's lovemaking way, make this one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fine wartime musical comedy of young love. (June Allyson's first starring role.)
rayh-723 August 2000
I was nine in 1944, living in Cincinnati during WWII when this movie came to RKO Royal Theatre.I saw it twice then. Later, when we had moved back to Tennessee, I saw it again the Roxy Theatre in Clarksville, Tenn. About 1995 I read that "Two Girls And A Sailor" was released on VHS,I rushed to have my video store order me a copy. Now I have it, and watch it every couple of months. It's almost like being 9 years old again ! (And I'm still mad about June Allyson !)
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Love it!
hellenore8 July 2009
This was one of my grandmother's favorite films and she bought it when it came out on video. I have watched it so many times, I am afraid that the tape is going to fall apart. I hope that it becomes available on DVD soon! The characters are interesting and the story is touching. The songs, costumes, and dance numbers are unforgettable. The array of stars in this film makes it fun to watch to see who's coming up next. I want my children and grandchildren to be able to watch it as well. It is family tradition for myself, my sister, and my grandmother to watch it together.If you can find this video somewhere, I definitely recommend it!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A wartime morale-booster from MGM
Jimmy L.24 July 2012
TWO GIRLS AND A SAILOR (1944) is mindless fluff featuring a string of guest stars and musical acts, meant to cheer audiences up while WWII raged on overseas.

In the tradition of many other wartime musicals, the film is almost like sitting through a concert. A simple plot serves as an excuse for a parade of musical numbers that aim to entertain the cinema-goers as much as the in-movie club patrons. It's pure escapism. Throw in some romance, some comedy, and a dash of patriotism and you have a very pleasant movie indeed.

And TWO GIRLS AND A SAILOR is a very pleasant movie. Fluff, yes, but it's fun. June Allyson and Gloria DeHaven play showbiz sisters who sing at a nightclub and entertain servicemen at their apartment. Thanks to the generosity of a mysterious admirer, the girls are able to open their own canteen to put on shows for the men in uniform. But what happens when both sisters start falling for the same guy (Navy sailor Van Johnson)?

Both actresses are charming and do a nice job. Gloria DeHaven is very beautiful, but it is June Allyson as the protective older sister who wins us over. I've never considered myself much of a June Allyson fan, but she certainly was talented and her performance here (singing, dancing, acting, comedy) is great.

Jimmy Durante provides solid comic relief and even sings his hit "Inka Dinka Doo". Van Johnson plays an all-American good guy, a sailor who happens to be a multi-millionaire. Tom Drake is Johnson's rival for DeHaven's affections, an Army sergeant who's really kind of a jerk.

MGM showcases many of its top musical acts throughout the film, including popular trumpeter and bandleader Harry James, the exotic Xavier Cugat Orchestra, jazz vocalist Lena Horne, deadpan singer Virginia O'Brien, the singing Wilde Twins (sisters Lee and Lyn), and piano maestro Jose Iturbi. Even Gracie Allen shows up for a comedic piano number.

Thinly plotted musicals aren't always my thing, but there's something very likable about this production. Allyson, DeHaven, Johnson, Durante, and Henry Stephenson (as Johnson's grandfather) are all great. The musical acts serve as a 1940s time capsule. The story is sweet and innocent. Just sit back and be entertained.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
What can I say! Anchors awash!
raskimono7 October 2003
This slight musical comedy from 1944 was a blockbuster of its year. Its one of those Stage door canteen where G.I.s are entertained by hit musicians of their including the popular band and orchestra leader Harry James and Xavier Cugat. The big hit "Young man with a horn" is featured prominently. The songs are lovely and generally feel orchestrated and operatic as this is a Joe Pasternak production. Like a Bruckheimer, a Selznick, a Freed or a Ross Hunter, you know a Pasternak when you see it. That is, slight plots with certain scenes that are written and play better than the whole movie and make you wish they were in another movie. There is usually a love plot involving dueling sisters, mother and daughter, or jealous daughters to their dads. The actresses are pretty and young. The songs, hits of their day but taken out of their time and the situations, they lack the oomph for classic appreciation unlike the movies of Arthur Freed. Take note, there is a dream sequence in this movie that is begging for one of those Freed musical numbers but instead we get Jimmy Durante shenanigans that lifts the weight from the scene. Thorpe, the journeyman director at MGM who made a lot of hits, directs in his usual flat and placid style that gets the job done and not much more. If only Pasternak aimed higher, varied the formula a little, he could have been a champion, not just a contender.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Doing Their Bit For The Men In Uniform
bkoganbing23 October 2009
With the basic plot element taken from Great Expectations, the two girls of the title try throughout most of the Two Girls And A Sailor to figure out what did they do to become the benefactors of such incredible generosity by person or persons unknown.

June Allyson and Gloria DeHaven are the singing Devo Sisters who come from an old vaudeville family and who now sing and dance for money and then after the show hold their own informal cabaret at home. In 1944 there wasn't anything one didn't do for the service men and women.

One night they mention about that they'd really like to get a hold of an old warehouse down the street to open a really swanky nightclub/serviceman's center and the next thing you know there is Donald Meek knocking on their door with a deed in hand, signed over to them by a mysterious benefactor. And after that every time they need to pay a bill for construction, Meek's there with the money.

In between all this are a whole bunch of musical and comedy acts with songs from a variety of sources. Two Girls And A Sailor got an Oscar nomination for Best Original Screenplay and if there's nothing terribly original in taking the plot from Great Expectations, the really creative part of the script was getting all that talent in and not disturbing the story too much.

This wartime musical was MGM's launching pad for Van Johnson where he was given billing over the title. He's the sailor in the title. In fact the film was a showcase for Allyson, DeHaven, and Johnson all of whom were among the newer stars in MGM's shimmering firmament.

The film also featured one of the best of the swing era bands led by Harry James featuring one of the best singers from the Forties, Helen Forrest. Latin American music has periodically invaded mainstream America from the Tango to the Macarena and here it's represented by Xavier Cugat with Carlos Ramirez and Lina Romay doing the vocals. Comedy is supplied in ample measure by both Jimmy Durante and Gracie Allen. Durante had a featured part as an old vaudevillian that the girls remember from their childhood who is actually living in the warehouse they are gifted with. I only wish MGM had the sense to put him and Gracie Allen in a scene together.

Gracie was put in a scene however with Jose Iturbi. Louis B. Mayer always considered himself a bit more highbrow than the other Hollywood moguls, hiring opera and concert performers. Still having Jose Iturbi and his equally talented sister Amparo playing double piano is always a treat in any film.

As for who the benefactor is, the identity shall remain nameless. It's not an escaped convict like in Great Expectations. But take a look at the character names the cast has and remember the times and I think you can figure it out. Actually a mammoth size clue is given almost at the beginning of the film. But see the film for the clue and the identity.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Stellar Cast -- Meandering Movie
dougdoepke14 July 2008
Considering the talent involved, the movie should be better than it is. What's needed is a lot more bounce and about twenty minutes less of the romantic guessing game, which drags along too much of the time. Too bad we don't get more of the sparkle and zip of the Young Man with a Horn number. Allyson really comes alive during those moments. Durante is of course Durante lending his inimitable style of pizazz, while the baby-faced De Haven shines, along with Johnson who really deserves more screen time. The love-struck soldier is a novel touch for a movie of this type, though somewhat creepy at times. And what in the heck does the subplot of the two elderly gentlemen do other than meander a story-line that's already too drawn-out. Note how high-brow musicians Albert Coates and Jose Iturbi do musical spots. Having the classically trained making guest appearances was not unusual for popular musicals of the time. I suppose producers thought this would broaden audience appeal. Anyway it's a good chance to scope out Harry James at his peak and vintage Lena Horne. Fortunately, the kids themselves would go on to bigger and better things.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Much Ado About Something-2 Girls & A Sailor ***
edwagreen26 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
While the plot is very thin, the entertainment is long. This usual World War 11 type of canteen movie works nicely due to the chemistry of Gloria De Haven and June Allyson, two sisters who wind up vying for the affection of Van Johnson,a sailor, who unknown to the two girls is worth $60 million.

As the love interest of De Haven, Tom Drake is given very little to do here.

Jimmy Durante is charismatic as the guy they meet living in the warehouse after so many years of abandoning everyone when his wife took their young son and left him.

The entertainment at the canteen is excellent with Harry James, Xavier Cugat, Lena Horne and Jose Iturbi.

As the picture goes along, you know who the wealthy Johnson character will wind up, but the music, dancing and atmosphere make it all worthwhile.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Two Girls, a Sailor, and a Variety Show
wes-connors20 August 2007
Extremely long World War II story about "Two Girls and a Sailor" (portrayed by June Allyson, Gloria DeHaven, and Van Johnson). The threesome from the customary "love triangle" - will Sailor Johnson choose pert June Allyson or sexy Gloria DeHaven? The film would be more accurately titled, "Two Girls, a Sailor, and a Variety Show" because the singing sisters aren't just shown at work - every act in their musical revue is shown. It's like a Musical spliced with a Variety Show; and, it clocks in at over two hours without ever becoming anything more than low average.

June Allyson, Jimmy Durante, Harry James, and Gracie Allen have fine moments; and, it's nice to see "Inka Dinka Doo" and all of the other 1944 era acts preserved on film.

***** Two Girls and a Sailor (1944) Richard Thorpe ~ June Allyson, Van Johnson, Gloria DeHaven
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Lively Romantic Musical Comedy.
Robert J. Maxwell9 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
June Allyson and Gloria DeHaven are two sisters who fall for the same sailor, Van Johnson, at a party for servicemen in 1944. Johnson comes from a very wealthy family and anonymously buys the girls (they were "girls" then, not yet "women") a huge warehouse where our boys (they were "boys", etc.) can REALLY be entertained. Of course only one of the girls can wind up with Van Johnson but, not to worry, Sergeant Tom Drake is always hanging around in the background and he gets the other.

More MGM stars than you can shake a baton at -- Harry James, Xavier Cugat, Gracie Allen, Jimmy Durante, Jose Iturbi, everybody. Most of the names will not be familiar to people who weren't around at the time but they were big ones in 1944. Every girl had a crush on Van Johnson.

All of the musical numbers are pleasant in their own quiet way but none are outstanding although they were popular at the time. Never entered the Great American Songbook. Sic transit gloria mundi. Exception: Harry James gets to play "Estrellita", a sentimental love song written around 1912 by the Mexican composer Manuel Ponce, which was immensely popular and never aspired to membership in the Great Songbook. You will probably recognize it.

June Allyson, in her first major role, already looks and sounds like the steadfast, loyal wife she would become in later movie. Gloria DeHaven, on the other hand, had a relatively short career and wound up hosting a TV program in New York. Don't know why her impact was so ephemeral. She has long, fluffy hair, the eyes of a gazelle, and a lower lip that droops sensually, invitingly. She should have gone on to erotic thrillers, the kind in which the babe is rescued from the murderer with her dress half ripped off and some of her underwear showing. What a waste.

Nothing much to the plot -- a series of coincidences and pedestrian interludes between musical numbers. But what a time capsule this is.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Very, very short on story...
MartinHafer6 March 2017
In 1943, United Artists brought out "Stage Door Cantee"--a film about the Broadway facility run by the actors to make the soldiers passing through the city feel welcome and at home. The following year, Warner Brothers brought out "Hollywood Canteen"--pretty much the same sort of film but with screen actors. It also saw MGM's entry into this sort of patriotic song and dance extravaganza, "Two Girls and a Sailor". This time, instead of Hollywood or Broadway stars, this USO-like place was created by state performers of all sorts--more the Vaudeville types. However, being MGM, the performers are often just MGM contract players--along with several top band leaders and, inexplicably, Gracie Allen (without her husband, George Burns). And, like these two other films, this one was very shallow on plot and mostly came off like a talent show. And, too often, the emphasis was on showing these acts instead of creating an enjoyable story. So, despite a nice starring cast (June Allyson, Gloria DeHaven, Van Johnson and Jimmy Durante) and a lot of unusual stars it's a bit of a bore...too long in music, too short on everything else.

By the way, of the three films, the first, "Stage Door Canteen" is the best. And, after you've seen that one, you can pretty much imagine what the other two are like.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Great World War II "Canteen" Genre Movie!
rfgaines1 March 2017
Turned on the TV and found a TCM movie from 1944 I have not seen before (which is rare). Two Girls and a Sailor World War II "soldier's canteen" type movie with a hell of a cast, and many of the young male character actors you see in many of the wartime movies. You recognize the faces but not the names. Great music, Harry James and Xazier Cugat and James plays a small part. June Allyson and Gloria DeHaven and that ever-present WWII actor, Van Johnson. AND Jimmy Durante! AND Gracie Allen! AND dozens of entertaining parts by famous singers and dancers and musicians of the time. It's a smorgasbord of the very best of the entertainment industry during the war (AND a far cry from the GARBAGE today). Every now and then I get lucky and find a real gem! Sad to realize that virtually ALL of the folks in this movie have joined Bob Hope and others, over the rainbow. The Greatest Generation is fading fast. Gloria DeHaven died just last summer at age 91. If you missed the TCM broadcast, it's free on the Internet!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I've been avoiding this one for years...
calvinnme2 January 2017
...because...I dunno... there were just bad signs everywhere. An MGM musical in black and white? I was afraid of even more of "the Nazis are eeeeeevil" pronouncements that get overdone in WWII films. Believe me, I get that they were evil. And plus I have just never gotten the allure of June Allyson and that husky voice.

But I was on Christmas break and it was part of a Turner Classic Movies tribute to those in the film industry who died in 2016 - in this case Gloria DeHaven - so I thought I'd give it a whirl. This one pleasantly surprised me.

In a way the title does give the paper thin plot away - one sailor (Van Johnson as swabbie John Dyckman Brown III) in love with one of two girl performers (DeHaven and Allyson as the Deyo sisters, Jean and Patsy respectively). Complications ensue. But the fun is in the journey not the destination.

There are some possible dark sides to this film. It starts out with Jean as an infant and Patsy a toddler watching over her backstage while mom and dad perform in vaudeville. A few years pass and now Jean is the toddler and dad is performing alone. It is said "mom made the big time" but you wonder - did mom run out on dad and her daughters? Is mom actually dead and dad just doesn't want to tell them? You're never told.

The scene skips to present day - 1944 - and the girls are a sister act in a night club and then run a canteen for soldiers out of their apartment after that. But those childhood years of Patsy watching Jean have taken their toll, because now Patsy watches Jean like a hawk, making sure she doesn't take up with the wrong man while she doesn't seem to have time for a man at all. Is this a residue of what happened as children? Does Patsy not want Jean or herself to end up like mom? Again, nothing deep is ever said, but you have to wonder.

And then somebody starts sending orchids to Jean. This alone has Patsy watching the nightclub audience wondering which one is the secret admirer. But when this (probably) same anonymous person gives them an old abandoned warehouse so they can enlarge their canteen - what they thought was a secret wish - and supplies all of the food and manpower to transform it, Patsy really goes into PI mode because now she is afraid some rich guy is out to make Jean a sadder but wiser girl. And the misunderstandings just go from there.

In the meantime there is plenty of great music from Harry James,Jose Iturbi and orchestra, Lena Horne, Xavier Cugat and orchestra, and even Gracie Allen comes over from Paramount for a comical bit - minus George. Jimmy Durante performs here, but he also has a bit of drama and tragedy that figures into the plot - he's living like a hermit in the warehouse when the girls take possession - and he really surprised me with his dramatic range.

Then there are those weird outfits Allyson and DeHaven wear. A couple of times one is wearing what appears to be the top to a dress with a particular pattern and the other is wearing the skirt. Is this some visual way of saying that one is pretty on the inside while the other is pretty on the outside? Jean is LOOKING for a rich guy and is pretty naïve yet mercenary, so Patsy has reason to worry. Meanwhile Patsy is not at all interested in the trappings of wealth. Or maybe I'm reading way too much into what was just meant to be some MGM musical fluff.

I'd recommend this one. It was released right before D-Day, so things were looking optimistic on the homefront for the first time in a long time and the mood of this film rather goes along with that. It's almost an early "welcome back" film for all of the guys and gals in the service at the time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Similar to and released amidst Stage Door Canteen (1943) and Hollywood Canteen (1944)
jacobs-greenwood4 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Though somewhat similar to Stage Door Canteen (1943), which preceded it, and Hollywood Canteen (1944), which followed it, this Musical Romance Comedy has a storyline with a canteen for soldiers inside, instead of being about a canteen with a romantic story inside. Hence, it earned Richard Connell and Gladys Lehman a Best Original Screenplay Oscar nomination.

Directed by Richard Thorpe, the plot involves two sisters, played by June Allyson and the lovely Gloria DeHaven, whose parents had been stage actors, that start their own free nightclub for those in military service during World War II. Van Johnson plays the titled sailor, who becomes involved in a love triangle with these "girls"; Tom Drake plays another soldier who's in the Army. Johnson's character is also very rich, a fact he keeps secret from the sisters while, through his assistant Mr. Nizby (Donald Meek), he fulfills their wishes and bankrolls their charity enterprise. Henry Stephenson plays Johnson's grandfather, Henry O'Neill his father. Jimmy Durante plays a now washed up comic the girls knew when they were two years old (Gigi Perreau, uncredited, plays one of them).

Every night, after their performance at an urban (New York?) nightclub, Patsy (Allyson) and Jean (DeHaven) Deyo invite military personnel from all three branches of service (the Army, the Navy, & the Marines) back to their humble flat where they make sandwiches and entertain them with song. It's their way of saying thanks and participating in the war effort by boosting morale. Jean is a bit too flirtatious for her sister Patsy's liking; Patsy has had to look after her younger sister since their actress mother left their actor father (Frank Jenks) years ago. When Jean spends a little too much time with any one admirer, Patsy pinches her to effectively end the courting. For the past few nights, Jean has received orchids from a person who signs the cards "Somebody".

Of course, John Dyckman Brown III (Johnson), known to the girls as a sailor named Johnnie, is the secret admirer. One night, he is one of the lucky ones hanging around the nightclub who gets invited back to the Deyo's apartment, along with Army Sergeant Frank Miller (Drake), Marine Private Adams (Frank Sully, uncredited), and many others. While there, he learns from Patsy about a deserted warehouse, around the corner, and the girls' desire to open a canteen. The next thing you know, John's agent Mr. Nizby (Meek) is giving them the deed. Upon inspection, the sisters discover that the bum living in it is their old acquaintance Billy Kipp (Durante), who'd quit the business when his wife up and left him with their son.

With generous assistance directed by Mr. Nizby, and funded anonymously by Johnnie, Kipp and the Deyo sisters get the warehouse fixed up, furnished, and catered such that they can open their dream canteen. Entertainment is provided by various well-known performers who donate their time such as Ben Blue, José Iturbi, Gracie Allen, Lena Horne, Virginia O'Brien, Lee & Lyn Wilde, trumpeter Harry James and His Music Makers, Helen Forrest, Xavier Cugat and his Orchestra, and more. Meanwhile, Frank and Johnnie are courting Jean but, simultaneously, Patsy is falling in love with Johnnie herself (there is a dream sequence which includes Ava Gardner). For his part, Johnnie begins to recognize that Patsy has more to offer and admires her selfless devotion to her sister and the canteen. There are some sweet, sentimental, even tear-jerking moments, and the scene during which Patsy discovers Johnnie's identity, through his grandfather (Stephenson) and father (O'Neill), and subsequent sequences are keepers.

Predictably, all works out well in the end for both sisters, each get engaged. There is also a funny bit involving Durante's character as well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Tons of stars
gkeith_124 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Tons of stars here. Tom Drake 1944 same year also in Meet Me in St. Louis; aka The Boy Next Door (to Judy Garland). June Allyson always a delight. Blonde freckle faced Van Johnson always a winner. Gloria DeHaven excellent. Henry O'Neill I actually thought was George Raft. I looked again in opening credits, but alas he was not to be found. O'Neill was a dead ringer. Henry Stephenson always lovely. Jimmy Durante; what can I say? Always a delight; perfect comedic timing. Playing his son (whom I was waiting for near the end) was charming. I kept waiting for the son to show up, because we kept seeing Jimmy's goofy baby picture throughout the entire film. I was hoping one of the other military personnel would be Jimmy's son, but that did not happen.

Dancing: I loved the dancing of the dark haired young man whom June dragged out on the dance floor, who was first shy and awkward then later a dancing pro and even leaped over June's head. I kept thinking he was Jimmy's missing son, but even he wasn't that ugly or goofy looking as the baby in the picture.

More star turns. Great bandleaders: Xavier Cugat, Jose Iturbi, Harry James. Wonderful to see the late, great Ms. Lena Horne, and I did catch short glimpses of Ava Gardner. Gracie Allen was wonderful, as always. It was good to see her without her sidekick, George Burns.

I really loved the Jimmy-doll, complete with his black top hat and black tuxedo. I loved the little girl actresses in the beginning, including the baby, portraying the two Deyo sisters.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Generally good wartime musical variety, but could have been much better
weezeralfalfa14 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
June Allyson and a young Gloria De Haven made a very appealing stage pair of sisters, especially for the many men far from home in wartime. Thus, I suppose that we, in subsequent decades, can excuse the overly drawn out quest to discover the identity of their unbelievably generous anonymous benefactor, which occupies much of the time between musical numbers. This gives us more time to be with the girls and their colorful surrogate father, Jimmy Durante. However, it's rather disconcerting to have June often sad and sometimes crying over her apparently fruitless crush on Van Johnson's character: John Brown III: a navy sailor from a local family.The actual screen play is total nonsense, if sometimes intriguing. Tom Drake( the boy next door in "Meet Me in St. Louis") plays an army NOC from an onion-growing Texas farm, who competes with Van for Gloria's attention. Durante is the girls' down and out elderly show business friend. In the later part of the film, Henry Stephenson, as Van's wealthy grandfather, supplements Durante as the girls' surrogate father and adviser in romantic matters.(The girls' vaudevillian parents inexplicably vanished after the first scene of the film, when the girls were just tiny tots).

I think most people would agree that the musical highlights of the film include the following:(1) the "Sweet and Lovely", followed by "A-Tisket-a-Tasket", duet by the girls, backed by the Harry James Orchestra (2)a series of closely spaced performances, beginning with another duet by the girls: "A Love Like Ours", backed by the James Orchestra, quickly followed by the Xavier Cugat Orchestra, first featuring Lina Romay doing the "Rhumba Rhumba", then backing Carlos Ramirez's excellent rendition of "Granada". (3) The June-James collaboration in "Young Man With the Horn" and (4)Durante's classic "Inka Dinka Doo". Helen Forrest's "In a Moment of Madness", James' "Estrellita", and Lina Romay's all too brief "Babalu" were also good, as was Lina's somewhat comical dance with Ben Blue. If you would like to see more of Lina, she did several stage numbers, as well as being a significant part of the drama, in the complex Randoph Scott western "The Man behind the Gun". Columbian Carlos Ramirez would again be the featured singer in the elaborate "Begin the Beguine" production in the Porter biop "Night and Day". The "Take It Easy" number briefly featured several singers, but mostly focused on Virginia O'Brien. I would have much preferred focusing on the gorgeous Wilde twins and skipping the signature wide-eyed deadpan performance of O'Brien. For a better look at the Wilde twins, check out "Andy Hardy's Blonde Troubles", or "Twice Blessed", as well as a very brief song bit in "'Til the Clouds Roll By".

Why, oh, why was Lena Horne given a song with lyrics obviously meant for a man (like Nat Cole) to sing??. To see her at much better advantage, check out the Technicolor "Broadway Rhythm", released the same year, "'Til the Clouds Roll By", or the B&W "Stormy Weather". Why was famous comedienne Grace Allen just given an idiotic sour note piano recital to do??. Why wasn't she teamed with Durante(in the absence of George Burns) for a comedic skit or scene?? Why weren't Van Johnson's vaudevillian talents exploited in his interactions with the girls, instead of his being presented as a rather faceless sailor?? Perhaps we could then better understand the girls' sudden infatuation with him. To me, Jose Iturbi's diverting inclusion in the drama and musical performances didn't really add anything significant. Check out "Anchors Aweigh" or "Music for Millions" for a much more favorable presentation of his piano talent. I would much rather have listened to another of Helen Forrest's better songs, or another classic Latin song by Carlos Ramirez, or perhaps a duet by Carlos and Lina Romay, or a number by Van and one or more of the Deyo or Wilde sisters.

In summary, while this B&W musical-variety show hybrid includes some classic musical performances, and the stars provide a generally good time, given all the talent included, it could have been much better. Also, it would have been nice if MGM had splurged and filmed it in Technicolor, as they had the previous year with "Best Foot Forward", which also featured June and Gloria, among others. Gloria was also featured in two other MGM musicals in '44: the B&W "Step Lively", with Sinatra and George Murphy, and the Technicolor musical-variety show hybrid "Broadway Rhythm". I can't tell you which of the 3 is best, they are all so different. June was reunited with Durante and Jose Iturbi that same year in the wartime drama-musical "Music for Millions". A few years later, she would again be teamed with Durante, with Kathryn Grayson replacing De Haven as her sister, in the B&W musical comedy "Two Sisters from Boston". I haven't seen either these, but reviewers generally say they are good.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews