IMDb > Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid (1942) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A First Of Sorts

8/10
Author: Markc65 from Burbank, CA
28 June 2001

This was Clampett's third Bugs Bunny cartoon, but it marks the first time Bugs Bunny looks like the rabbit we all know. Prior to this Bugs had a more oval head giving him a rat-like appearance. It was as an animator in Clampett's unit that Robert Mckimson developed the model sheet of Bugs that all the other units eventually used. In the cartoons of the other directors at this time Bugs looked pretty ugly while he kept getting better looking in the Clampett cartoons. This is also the first appearence of Beaky Buzzard, a Mortimer Snerd caricature. This cartoon is funnier than Clampett's first two Bugs films and the animation is pretty solid, especially Mckimson's. However, Clampett would go far beyond this one with such cartoons as What's Cookin', Doc?, The Old Grey Hare, The Big Snooze, and Tortoise Wins By A Hare. Overall, a good cartoon, though.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Clampett's Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid is very funny

9/10
Author: tavm from Baton Rouge, LA
8 January 2008

This is a Bob Clameptt Bugs Bunny cartoon that gives us the Bugs look as we now know him as done by animator Robert McKimson. Pretty cute, huh? Anyway, a buzzard with a voice that sounds like Mortimer Snerd is trying to capture him for his mama. As always, Bugs outsmarts him at every turn but there is one gag in which Bugs thinks he's dying (though even here he cracks, "Grusome, isn't it?"). There's also a wonderfully choreographed big-band dance that is one of the most entertaining animation I've ever seen in these Looney Tunes/Merrie Melodies cartoons. Plenty of hilarious Clampett touches abound like the trombone sound Bugs makes when he fingers the buzzard's Adam's apple or the "bee-op" sound you hear in many of these cartoons. That was made by Bob himself. Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid is highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Great Short

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
19 April 2009

Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid (1942)

**** (out of 4)

A mama buzzard sends her four children out to get food but the dimwitted one, named Beaky Buzzard, is unlucky as he has to bring home a rabbit and he just happens to run into Bugs Bunny. This here has always been one of my favorite animated shorts because Bugs and Beaky just make the ultimate duo because both are just so damn cute here. The animation is perfectly done and the story contains enough great moments for two films. The best sequence is when Bugs goes to "take a shower" before going with Beaky who finally starts to realize a joke is being played on him. What happens next is just priceless. The final joke with Bugs also gets a big laugh just for the wonderful voice. To me what works best is actually Beaky because he's just so adorable and stupid at the same time. The voice work is downright brilliant and in itself brings a lot of laughs.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A good surprise. :-)

8/10
Author: Mightyzebra from Scotland
16 March 2009

This cartoon may be slow moving and dull for some, but personally I found it very entertaining and is one of my new favourites. This cartoon is one of the first with Bugs Bunny (this was made two years after his official debut) and the debut of a minor-ish Looney Tunes character named Beaky Buzzard.

This cartoon was a good surprise for me for the following reasons: 1. I was not expecting this to be nearly so old and I enjoyed the old-fashioned humour you have in a few WB cartoons, featured here. I think that the plot along with "old" jokes would work better than the plot along with new jokes.

2. I was expecting this to be quite a fast paced, slapstick cartoon, instead I found that hardly any of the jokes featured slapstick (as a whole, all WB cartoons have some slapstick in them) and there were some good verbal jokes inserted in too. It certainly kept my interest going! The other good things about the cartoon were the ever familiar Bugs Bunny in his trick mode (escaping baddies using clever ways) and the introduction of Beaky Buzzard and this was also my first cartoon with him in as well. I will certainly look out for more with him in. The animation was pretty good and overall, I found it a great episode. :-)

The cartoon starts with a mother buzzard (vulture to my fellow British) instructing each of her offspring to go and bring some meat back to the nest. She gives her babies serious challenges, such as horse and deer. However, one of her babies does not want to hunt at all (Beaky Buzzard), but he is pushed out of the nest anyway to go and find something. He ends up finding Bugs Bunny, who he is ready to hunt...

I recommend this cartoon to people who do not mind old, slightly slow-moving Looney Tunes. Enjoy "Bugs Gets the Boid"! :-) 8 and a half out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Marvelous!

9/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
14 June 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is an especially memorable Bugs Bunny cartoon thanks to the introduction of the character "Beaky Buzzard"--an inept little vulture who is trying to catch and eat Bugs. The story begins with Beaky's Italian-voiced mom sending her children out to bring back supper. All seem to have left--except for Beaky who says he "ain't interested". She tells him he doesn't have to get anything big--maybe just a nice little rabbit.

This cartoon is high on my list because Beaky was a wonderful and cute character. It's really impossible to describe him unless you see him yourself--his wonderful voice and mannerisms are just hilarious! And, this is a rare case where you actually LIKE the guy trying to catch Bugs--he's that cool! Give this cartoon a try and if you like it, there were a few followup toons featuring Beaky.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid

9/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
5 November 2012

Looney Tunes were part of my childhood and still hold a special place in my heart. Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid may not be quite classic status but it is a truly great cartoon indeed. The pacing is not as crisp and somewhat manic as it is in many other Looney Tunes cartoons, but again this is a matter of preference and there is so much to love about Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid anyway. The animation is colourful and fluid, with both characters well-drawn, while the music- especially in the big-band dance sequence- is cleverly orchestrated and enhances the humour so well. The humour here is more verbal than it is physical, but that is not a hindrance in any way, as the dialogue is fresh and witty and the gags are equally inspired. In terms of standout scenes, I did love the animal bone and "take a shower" gags but the highlight was definitely the big-band dance sequence, magnificently choreographed and perhaps among Bugs' best overall scenes out of all his cartoons. Bugs is on fine form, doing what he does best, while Beaky Buzzard while stupid is cute and funny rather than overly-dumb and annoying. These two work really well together. I have nothing to criticise in regard to Mel Blanc's vocals either. All in all, a great cartoon but not quite a classic. 9/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

"My momma done told me, bring home something for dinner."

Author: slymusic from Tucson, AZ
20 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid" is a superb Bugs Bunny cartoon directed by the wild & unpredictable Bob Clampett. This time around, Bugs is pitted against the dopiest of birds, a bashful buzzard who later became known as Beaky. Under Mr. Clampett's direction, Bugs is ever the prankster!

My absolute favorite scene in this picture is that of Bugs and Beaky physically struggling with each other and then suddenly going into a dance, in which composer Carl Stalling wrote a wonderfully swinging big band score. I also like the jazzy walking bass line and muted brass as Beaky crawls on top of the clouds. In addition, Bugs is funny with his feminine makeup and coy voice when Beaky catches him in the shower.

I've enjoyed "Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid" ever since I had first seen it during my high school days (early 1990s), and I'm very glad to see this cartoon released on DVD (the Looney Tunes Golden Collection Volume 1 Disc 3).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"You know somethin'? I think he's a-trickin' me."

8/10
Author: utgard14 from USA
8 August 2016

Classic Merrie Melodies short, directed by Bob Clampett, that introduced Beaky Buzzard to the world. Beaky is a shy, somewhat slow-witted buzzard who is not very good at catching prey, unlike his brothers. When his mother sends him out to catch a rabbit, Beaky meets Bugs. I won't spoil what follows but it's hilarious and even adorable in spots. Beaky is a wonderful character, one of the best Clampett created and certainly one of the more underrated. He's impossible to dislike. It's a well-animated cartoon with rich colors and some great action. Lots of funny gags and lines. Solid voice work, sound effects, and music. One of the earliest Bugs classics. The "Gruesome, isn't it?" scene alone makes this a must-see for Bugs fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

Perhaps Bugs Bunny's Best At That Point In Career

8/10
Author: John T. Ryan (redryan64@hotmail.com) from United States
16 May 2014

WE HAVE JUST watched this one on video; as a bonus feature on the special 2 disc DVD release of YANKEE DOODLE DANDY. Although the cartoon has been around and available on television for well over the half century point, it seemed to be new.

THE SHORT BECAME familiar to us as one of those "Associated Artists Productions" TV releases. In our case, we saw it (often) on the old BUGS BUNNY & FRIENDS local kids TV show on WGN TV, Channel 9, in Chicago. As was the custom, there was a host; in this case, it was one Dick Coughlin. He always sported a sort of "Lumberjack Wardrobe"; featuring dungarees and flannel shirts (always).

THE SET WAS done up to look like a farm or woodland locale. A puppet version of Bugs would interact with the host in comic sketches; between the screening of the 2 or 3 cartoons that were shown each evening, from 6:30 to 7:00 PM. (there were some other character puppets, such as "Radcliffe Racoon" and others, whose names we can't recall). Mr. Coughlin provided the voices, although no ventriloquist himself.

AT THE TIME of seeing BUGS BUNNY GETS THE BOID, we found it to be funny and would have rated it at or near to the top of the pack. The gags were energetic and genuinely tickled the funny bone. The animation was smooth and the short storyline had not a wasted frame of film.

AS WITH ALL Warner Brothers Looney Tunes & Merry Melodies, a hallmark identifier is its music. This was no exception; as its soundtrack has the lively and totally customized Carl Stalling original score. Although the sound era animated shorts are visual, with the advantage of having snappy dialog & comical voices as an adjunct, just try viewing & listening to the same cartoon; but without the music.

ONE ASPECT OF the humor, that was not readily apparent to us as kids in the 1950's was that Warner's cartoons often time parodied some of the then popular entertainers or Radio characters. In this case, the young vulture, "Killer" is a spoof of ventriloquist Edgar Bergen's Mortimer Snerd. The buzzard, his brothers and Italian accented mother would be reprised for other, recurring appearances.

ON THE PARTICULAR DVD that we viewed, the cartoon must have been remastered. The color is brilliant and the images are crystal clear. (Clever, these Americans!)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not really working

4/10
Author: Thomas (filmreviews@web.de) from Berlin, Germany
23 August 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Bugs Bunny Gets the Boid" is a 7-minute cartoon from 1942, so this one will have its 75th anniversary next year. It is a Warner bros. production and you will find many big names in the list of cast and credits such as Clampett, Foster, Blanc and Berner. The story here is about a buzzard who is in charge of getting rabbit for his family's dinner. But that rabbit (you know who) is not too willing to end up getting eaten by a bunch of birds. I think it may be the likable buzzard that may be the reason why it's tough to cheer for Bugs here and consequently like this cartoon. But maybe it is just my personal perception. i must say though that I preferred the other buzzard cartoon from three years later when Beaky Buzzard is back, but Bugs is not. Instead he goes chasing for other animals in there. But back to this one. I did not find it as funny and I can see why the protagonist here only appears in one other cartoon. Maybe he does not really have that star potential. Still, his Goofy-like appearance may have been the best aspect about this film. I give it a thumbs-down. Not recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history