IMDb > The Gorgeous Hussy (1936)
The Gorgeous Hussy
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

The Gorgeous Hussy (1936) More at IMDbPro »

Photos (See all 15 | slideshow)


User Rating:
5.5/10   845 votes »
Your Rating:
Saving vote...
Deleting vote...
/10   (delete | history)
Sorry, there was a problem
Popularity: ?
Down 3% in popularity this week. See why on IMDbPro.
Ainsworth Morgan (screen play) and
Stephen Morehouse Avery (screen play) ...
View company contact information for The Gorgeous Hussy on IMDbPro.
Release Date:
28 August 1936 (USA) See more »
President Andrew Jackson's friendship with an innkeeper's daughter spells trouble for them both. Full summary » | Add synopsis »
Nominated for 2 Oscars. See more »


  (in credits order) (verified as complete)

Joan Crawford ... Peggy Eaton

Robert Taylor ... 'Bow' Timberlake

Lionel Barrymore ... Andrew Jackson

Franchot Tone ... John Eaton

Melvyn Douglas ... John Randolph

James Stewart ... 'Rowdy' Dow

Alison Skipworth ... Mrs. Beall

Beulah Bondi ... Rachel Jackson

Louis Calhern ... Sunderland

Melville Cooper ... Cuthbert

Sidney Toler ... Daniel Webster

Gene Lockhart ... Maj. William O'Neal

Clara Blandick ... Louisa Abbott
Frank Conroy ... John C. Calhoun

Nydia Westman ... Maybelle

Willard Robertson ... Secretary Ingham

Charles Trowbridge ... Martin Van Buren

Rubye De Remer ... Mrs. Bellamy (as Ruby de Remer)

Betty Blythe ... Mrs. Wainwright

Zeffie Tilbury ... Mrs. Daniel Beall
rest of cast listed alphabetically:

Edith Atwater ... Lady Vaughn (uncredited)

Wade Boteler ... Agitator (uncredited)

Harry C. Bradley ... President's Secretary (uncredited)

Bess Flowers ... Guest at Ball (uncredited)

Phoebe Foster ... Emily Donaldson (uncredited)
Lee Harvey ... Agitator (uncredited)
Oscar 'Dutch' Hendrian ... Agitator (uncredited)
Leyland Hodgson ... Guest at Ball (uncredited)

Allen 'Farina' Hoskins ... Pageboy at Ball (uncredited)

Elsa Janssen ... Dutch Minister's Wife (uncredited)

Edward LeSaint ... Maurice Andrew (uncredited)

Sam McDaniel ... Eaton's Butler (uncredited)

Greta Meyer ... Frau Oxenrider (uncredited)
Edmund Mortimer ... Guest at Ball (uncredited)
William Orlamond ... Herr Joab Oxenrider (uncredited)
Franklin Parker ... Mob Leader (uncredited)
Lee Phelps ... Bartender (uncredited)
George Reed ... Braxton (uncredited)

Frank Reicher ... Commander of U.S.S. Constitution (uncredited)

Larry Steers ... Cabinet Member (uncredited)

Carl Stockdale ... Jackson's Aide (uncredited)

Fred 'Snowflake' Toones ... Horatius (uncredited)

Directed by
Clarence Brown 
Writing credits
Ainsworth Morgan (screen play) and
Stephen Morehouse Avery (screen play)

Samuel Hopkins Adams (from the book by)

Produced by
Clarence Brown .... producer (as Clarence Brown's production of)
Joseph L. Mankiewicz .... producer
Original Music by
Herbert Stothart (musical score)
Cinematography by
George J. Folsey (photographed by) (as George Folsey)
Film Editing by
Blanche Sewell (film editor)
Art Direction by
Cedric Gibbons 
Set Decoration by
Henry Grace (uncredited)
Costume Design by
Adrian (gowns)
Second Unit Director or Assistant Director
Charles Dorian .... assistant director (uncredited)
Art Department
William A. Horning .... associate art director
Edwin B. Willis .... associate art director
Sound Department
Douglas Shearer .... recording director
Camera and Electrical Department
Edward Cronenweth .... still photographer (uncredited)
Music Department
Wayne Allen .... orchestrator (uncredited)
Paul Marquardt .... orchestrator (uncredited)
Leonid Raab .... orchestrator (uncredited)
Edward Ward .... composer: additional music (uncredited)
Other crew
Val Raset .... dance stager
Crew verified as complete

Production CompaniesDistributors

Additional Details

Also Known As:
103 min
Aspect Ratio:
1.37 : 1 See more »
Sound Mix:
Mono (Western Electric Sound System)
Australia:G | Australia:PG (TV rating) | Finland:K-16 | UK:A (cut) | USA:Passed (National Board of Review) | USA:Approved (PCA #2439) | USA:TV-PG (TV rating)

Did You Know?

Many people who are in studio records/casting call lists as cast members did not appear or were not identifiable in the movie. These were (with their character names): Louise Beavers (Aunt Sukey), Bert Roach (Major Domo), Oscar Apfel (Tompkins), Richard Powell (Doorman), Syd Saylor and Hooper Atchley (Agitators), Morgan Wallace (Slave Buyer), William Stack (W.R. Earle), Ward Bond (Officer) and Samuel S. Hinds (Commander). A modern source also lists Harry Holman (Auctioneer) and Harry Strang (Navigator) as cast members, but they were not seen either.See more »
Movie Connections:
Yankee DoodleSee more »


If you enjoyed this title, our database also recommends:
- - - - -
Gone with the Wind Strangers on a Train Peyton Place The Manchurian Candidate Love Actually
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
Show more recommendations

Related Links

Full cast and crew Company credits External reviews
News articles IMDb Drama section IMDb USA section

You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.