MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Down 1,905 this week

Anthony Adverse (1936)

6.6
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 6.6/10 from 1,006 users  
Reviews: 20 user | 8 critic

In 18th-century Italy, an orphan's debt to the man who raised him threatens to separate him forever from the woman he loves.

Directors:

, (uncredited)

Writers:

(by), (screen play), 2 more credits »
0Check in
0Share...

Editors' Spotlight

Gortimer Gibbon's Life on Normal Street

Gortimer Gibbon's Life on Normal Street Debut's Today!


User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 21 titles
created 14 Dec 2011
 
a list of 24 titles
created 20 May 2013
 
a list of 45 titles
created 09 Jun 2013
 
a list of 511 titles
created 9 months ago
 
a list of 40 titles
created 9 months ago
 

Related Items

Search for "Anthony Adverse" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: Anthony Adverse (1936)

Anthony Adverse (1936) on IMDb 6.6/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Anthony Adverse.

User Polls

Won 4 Oscars. Another 3 nominations. See more awards »
Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Comedy | Music
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

The daughter of a struggling musician forms a symphony orchestra made up of his unemployed friends and through persistence, charm and a few misunderstandings, is able to get Leopold ... See full summary »

Director: Henry Koster
Stars: Deanna Durbin, Adolphe Menjou, Alice Brady
Comedy | Musical | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Three sisters scheme to reunite their divorced parents before their wealthy father marries a conniving gold digger.

Director: Henry Koster
Stars: Binnie Barnes, Charles Winninger, Alice Brady
Music | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

Mary Barrett is an aspiring Opera singer who is taken under the wings of a famous operatic maestro, Guilio Monterverdi. After spending endless working hours together and arguing, their ... See full summary »

Director: Victor Schertzinger
Stars: Grace Moore, Tullio Carminati, Lyle Talbot
Juarez (1939)
Biography | Drama | History
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.3/10 X  

Louis Napoleon III takes advantage of the American Civil War to circumvent the Monroe Doctrine and expand his power by helping Emperor Maximillian Hapsburg to add Mexico to his empire. of Mexico.

Director: William Dieterle
Stars: Paul Muni, Bette Davis, Brian Aherne
Certificate: Passed Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Kitty Vane, Alan Trent, and Gerald Shannon have been inseparable friends since childhood. Kitty has always known she would marry one of them, but has waited until the beginning of World War... See full summary »

Director: Sidney Franklin
Stars: Fredric March, Merle Oberon, Herbert Marshall
Drama | Musical
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

In order to avoid a prearranged marriage, a rebellious French princess sheds her identity and escapes to colonial New Orleans, where she finds an unlikely true love.

Directors: Robert Z. Leonard, W.S. Van Dyke
Stars: Jeanette MacDonald, Nelson Eddy, Frank Morgan
Action | Drama | Musical
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

The O'Leary brothers -- honest Jack and roguish Dion -- become powerful figures, and eventually rivals, in Chicago on the eve of its Great Fire.

Director: Henry King
Stars: Tyrone Power, Alice Faye, Don Ameche
Disraeli (1929)
Certificate: Passed Biography | Drama | History
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

Prime Minister of Great Britain Benjamin Disraeli outwits the subterfuge of the Russians and chicanery at home in order to secure the purchase of the Suez Canal.

Director: Alfred E. Green
Stars: George Arliss, Doris Lloyd, David Torrence
Maytime (1937)
Drama | Musical | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.5/10 X  

An elderly Miss Morrison recounts her life as the once young and beautiful opera singer Marcia Morney-then the toast of Napoleon III's Paris. One evening, she encounters an American voice ... See full summary »

Director: Robert Z. Leonard
Stars: Jeanette MacDonald, Nelson Eddy, John Barrymore
Adventure | Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Amid the anarchy of China, an American mercenary tangles with a ruthless warlord.

Director: Lewis Milestone
Stars: Gary Cooper, Madeleine Carroll, Akim Tamiroff
San Francisco (1936)
Drama | Musical | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  

A Barbary Coast saloonkeeper and a Nob Hill impresario are rivals for the affections of a beautiful singer, both personally and professionally in 1906 San Francisco.

Director: W.S. Van Dyke
Stars: Clark Gable, Jeanette MacDonald, Spencer Tracy
Comedy | Romance | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

A cocky guy joins the Navy for the wrong reason but finds romance and twice is cited for heroism.

Director: Lloyd Bacon
Stars: James Cagney, Pat O'Brien, Gloria Stuart
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
...
Donald Woods ...
...
...
...
...
...
Steffi Duna ...
...
...
Signore Debruille
Fritz Leiber ...
Luis Alberni ...
Tony Guessippi
Billy Mauch ...
Anthony Adverse at Ten
Henry O'Neill ...
Edit

Storyline

In late 18th century Italy, a beautiful young woman finds herself married to a rich but cruel older man. However, she is in love with another, younger man. When the husband finds out, he kills the lover in a swordfight, and takes his wife on a long trip throughout Europe. Months later, she dies giving birth to a son. The husband leaves the child at a convent, where he is raised until the age of 10; then he is apprenticed to a local merchant, who gives him the name "Anthony Adverse" because of the adversity in his life. But his adversity has only begun, as fate takes him to Cuba, Africa, and Paris. Written by John Oswalt <jao@jao.com>

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

love | debt | convent | merchant | orphan | See All (97) »


Certificate:

TV-G | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

|

Release Date:

29 August 1936 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Adversidade  »

Box Office

Budget:

$1,050,500 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Production Co:

 »
Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Aspect Ratio:

1.37 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Tony Curtis was a huge fan of the book. He changed his name from Bernard Schwartz to Tony Curtis in homage to the lead character and was even buried with a copy of the novel. See more »

Quotes

[first lines]
Marquis Don Luis: I dare say you wish you'd never left Versailles. You had a very pleasant time at court with those gallant young officers. With one in particular, I recall.
See more »

Connections

Referenced in Brush with Life: The Art of Being Edward Biberman (2007) See more »

Soundtracks

La Marseillaise
(uncredited)
Music by Claude Joseph Rouget de Lisle
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Child of Adversity
4 May 2007 | by (Buffalo, New York) – See all my reviews

Hervey Allen's great blockbuster novel Anthony Adverse, a major seller during the Depression Years provided both its leads, Fredric March and Olivia DeHavilland with some choice roles in their respective careers. The book turned out to be a one hit wonder for its author, but it certainly allowed him to live comfortably. Something like that other blockbuster novel Gone With the Wind did for its author which also gave Olivia DeHavilland an even bigger role in her career.

Imagine if you will a Charles Dickens hero like Pip or David Copperfield born in very humble circumstances, but escaping to lead a life of high adventure away from the Dickensian settings of Victorian Great Britain and you've got Anthony Adverse. The supporting characters in the book and film could have also come from Dickens.

Young Anthony is the product of an affair between a young officer, Louis Hayward, and the wife of a Spanish diplomat, Anita Louise. Husband Claude Rains kills Hayward in a duel and when his wife dies in childbirth, leaves the infant at a convent. The nuns give him the name of Anthony Adverse as the boy arrives on St. Anthony's Day and is a child of adversity if there ever was one.

The grown up Anthony, played by Fredric March is apprenticed to his maternal grandfather Edmund Gwenn who does not know it as doesn't March at first. A sly and cunning housekeeper, Gale Sondergaard in her screen debut, puts the puzzle together, but she's got an agenda of her own which later meshes with the dissipated and dissolute Rains.

March also falls for young Olivia DeHavilland who is an aspiring opera singer who also wants some of the finer things in life. Though they marry and have a son, both take different paths on a quest for material security and comfort.

Anthony Adverse was a good follow up role for Olivia DeHavilland after Captain Blood. In both she's a crinolined heroine which she was destined to be cast as in her career at Warner Brothers. Still this part has a lot more to it than most of those she was doing at that time in her career.

March was 39 when he made Anthony Adverse, still he's a good enough player to gradually age into the part. The story does take place over a long period of years, right into the Napoleonic era from 1773 when Anthony is born.

Edmund Gwenn's character is pure Dickens, the Scot's merchant John Bonnyfeather (even the name) could easily have been Fezziwick from A Christmas Carol. Gale Sondergaard as the housekeeper could have been the bloodless Jane Murdstone combined with the vengeful Madame DeFarge.

Sondergaard won the first Best Supporting Actress Oscar given out for her performance. It set a pattern of villainous female roles which she played until she got blacklist troubles in the late Forties.

The novel was a lengthy one and Warner Brothers should have had something as long as Gone With the Wind in order to be really faithful to the book. Jack Warner didn't want to take a chance, but he did get a product that caught all the main points the author was trying to make.

Even today with it's magnificent Erich Wolfgang Korngold score which also won an Oscar and its photography by Tony Gaudio, also a winner Anthony Adverse holds up very well for today's audience. Fans of March and DeHavilland should love it as will others.


29 of 29 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Gale Sondergaard's performance jrhpax
When is this title to be released on DVD? zendragon77
De Havilland's last scene singing opera cocoamix
Why Hasn't This Been Remade? littlekaren
Historic Meeting powersroc
Discuss Anthony Adverse (1936) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?