IMDb > Animal Crackers (1930) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Animal Crackers
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Animal Crackers More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 77 reviews in total 

A Delightful Marxian Curio

Author: jajwm-1 from Long Island
19 July 2003

Fans of the Marx Brothers should find this early stage-to-screen gem critic proof. Granted, like many another early 30's product, it's cinematically static and loaded down with an icky romantic subplot. It's pretty much a filmed stage play. But every time the Marxes appear, Animal Crackers becomes pure eye/ear candy as the Brothers reel off great routines perfected by constant repetition. (Note to quibblers: A&C's beloved "Who's on First" was honed through decades of practice too.) Groucho's rapid one liners, Chico's malaprops and just about anything Harpo does can still draw laughter some 75 years later. Extras: the art deco sets and Margaret Dumont's raised eyebrow performance. One final note: Animal Crackers was filmed at Astoria studios, a few miles from the film's Long Island locale, and the scenario lampoons the island's Roaring Twenties parties made legendary by Fitzgerald's Great Gatsby.

Was the above review useful to you?

funny? oh i think so...

Author: MHochee from usa
17 December 2001

The marx brothers are hilarious,this movie is no exception. Groucho has the hilarious mix of sillyness and wordplay and harpo balances that out with hilarious slapstick. The marx's brothers visual and verbal humor are unmatched. This movie is very funny, I recommend it, especially if you like the marx brothers. They were a great comedy team and worked well off each other like Martin & Lewis or Abott & Costello. This movie is very silly. At various point Groucho has hilarious random monologues to the audience, totally out of context. I could not stop laughing. Basically, SEE THIS MOVIE FOR A LAUGH. A-

Was the above review useful to you?

Still lots of fun with dialogue but their music is a treasure

10/10
Author: lora64 from Canada
2 September 2001

Generally I enjoy all the Marx brothers' movies, their quips, quotes, and quirky antics. However, the main attraction I'd say is the music performed by Chico on piano (amusing), and Harpo on his harp (simply sublime). For me they are the real show stoppers.

I only wish someone in the film industry would compile all the filmed musical performances of these two and put it on a separate video/or other. That would be a wonderful treasure to own for music fans of theirs. If only wishing could make things come true!

Was the above review useful to you?

Final Moment is a Classic

Author: marquis de cinema from Boston, MA
13 August 2001

Maybe not the best of the Paramount Marx Brothers films but its one of the most memorable. This is known for many of the lines that come out of Groucho Marx's mouth. The lines of the eldest Marx Brother as Captain Spaulding would become part of American popular culture. Anarchic comedy that follows in the same pattern as The Cocounuts(1929).

The acting is very good and a few of the scenes are highlights in the Marx Brothers Comedy Cannon. Groucho Marx gives his most memorable and perhaps wittest acting role as Captain Spaulding. An interesting note on this picture is that several lines of Groucho Marx were cut because they did not find much approval with the Hayes Office. A film that was ahead of its time in dialogue.

The story involves the theft of a painting by a famous painter. Harpo Marx just gives me plenty of laughs whenever I see this or any other Marx Brothers picture. Animal Cracker(1930) reminds of the comedy antics of Monty Python. One can see where many later comedy teams and individuals got their influences from when you see a Marx Brothers film.

Good picture that's not in the same league as a Duck Soup(1933) or a Night at the Opera(1935) but is much better than The Big Store(1941) or Love Happy(1950). Also features a terrific interreaction between Harpo Marx and Chico Marx as The Professor and Ravelli. The final scene is one of my favorites in a film starring the Marx Brothers. Animal Crackers(1930) is an enduring comedy that certainly beats out any lame comedy that is out there in the theaters today.

Was the above review useful to you?

Funny as funny can get

9/10
Author: Mike-764 (michaelnella@yahoo.com) from Flushing, NY
7 February 2001

In my opinion, not the best Marx Brothers movie ever made but certainly the most quotable. Groucho is the world famous African explorer Captain Geoffrey T. Spaulding ( who doesn't know how an elephant get into his pajamas. ), Chico as the famous musician Emmanuel Ravelli, and Harpo as the Professor. Basically the scenes are probably some of the funniest you'll see in any movie ( the bridge game, where's the flash, Groucho's tale of Africa, Hungadoonga, etc. ), but the still the film has a very unpolished feel to it and really B acting from the rest of the cast, surprisingly including Margaret Dumont. Still if you need a laugh, rent a Marx Brothers movie and hope you don't die laughing in the morning. Rating 9 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

the first triumph of the Marx brothers, heroic comedians

Author: silentgpaleo
27 April 2000

The Marx Brothers had performed ANIMAL CRACKERS on Broadway several times, and the jokes were quite familiar to them before they decided to finally film it in 1930. Unlike with their previous motion picture, THE COCOANUTS, the sound equipment had improved, and the director understood the jokes.

ANIMAL CRACKERS is a wonderful (though stage-bound) show that features some of the funniest material the Marx brothers ever did. Groucho is downright hilarious as Capt Spaulding, the African explorer("Did someone call me snorer?") Harpo and Chico play musicians who make more money by not playing, and they make even more if they don't rehearse("You couldn't afford it.").Zeppo is the secretary(the biggest part he ever had), and Margret Dumont is the trusty high-society foil. There's a fish peddler, two young kids in love, a stolen painting, and cockroaches. ("Yeah, and the biggest one has got asthma!")

ANIMAL CRACKERS is simply one of the funniest movies ever made, and if you don't mind a few dated jokes, then DO CHECK THIS OUT. You'll never play bridge the same way again.("He thought it was contact bridge.")

Was the above review useful to you?

A "Roaring" Success

Author: Michael Hoffman (mikemoto@aol.com) from Fort Worth Texas
15 June 1999

Although Duck Soup is my favorite Marx Bros. film, Animal Crackers is a very close second. What I especially like is that even though it is an early talkie, it nontheless has the feel of a "roaring 20's" production which in fact it had been as a Broadway show. Also the secondary characters such as Roscoe Chandler (aka Avi the Fishman) are actually slightly interesting which really can't be said of many of the other Marx Brothers films or about Zeppo for that matter.

Was the above review useful to you?

Amazing anarchy

Author: Bill Anderson (anderson@nehp.net) from New Hope, Alabama USA
31 January 1999

The early Marx Brothers films are reliably delightful. "Monkey Business." "Duck Soup." Doesn't matter. They're all full of amazing anarchy. "Hello, I must be going." "One night I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas I'll never know." The plots and the supporting actors are sometimes creaky and always irrelevant. Just sit back and let the brothers have their way with you. "Hooray for Captain Spaulding!"

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Has not aged well

3/10
Author: smatysia (feldene@comcast.net) from Houston
19 March 2014

I realize all about this being such early cinema, and all of its (and the Marx Brothers) vaudevillian roots. But the general senses of humor have changed since then. (and changed again, and again, for that matter) So I feel that Animal Crackers has not aged well. It can't decide if it wants to be a musical or not. Of course Chico and Harpo were talented musicians, and it was the vaudeville style to show off whatever abilities one had. Groucho's rapid-fire wisecracks are classic, with the befuddled, but good-natured Margeret Dumont as his foil. But watching yesterday, I scarcely ever cracked a smile, and felt largely bored.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

An abundance of gags to distract from the story.

9/10
Author: mark.waltz from New York City
13 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When you've got Groucho cracking wise, Chico destroying the English language, and Harpo chasing the girls, you're not really going to care either about the plot or the stilted, boring romance between Zeppo and Lillian Roth. All you want is a ton of Groucho insulting imperious Margaret Dumont, Harpo playing the leg game and as many malapropisms from Chico as possible. The minor plot concerns the search for an original painting replaced by a fake, but is totally over-shadowed by the vaudeville style gags which influenced many fairly recent comedy film makers. You'll howl as Groucho not only crows about the elephant in his pajamas but a traveling polar bear as well. Harpo manages to steal all of Dumont's silverware and sheds it like raindrops when confronted. Chico confuses Groucho by twisting everything he says, and Dumont keeps her cool even when being insulted. While others in their series, particularly at Paramount, had better plot, this is non- stop laughter, and it is easy to see why this ranks as probably their most famous film, even if "Duck Soup" and "A Night at the Opera" are slightly better.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history