IMDb > Un Chien Andalou (1929) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Un chien andalou
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Un Chien Andalou More at IMDbPro »Un chien andalou (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 13 of 15: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 150 reviews in total 

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The most disturbing film I have ever seen.

6/10
Author: Charlie Korch (korch@mail.com) from Atlanta, GA
8 December 1999

This is without a doubt, the most disturbing movie I have ever seen. Many viewers of this film seem to feel the same way I do, and that is what makes this film a success. I know that sounds weird, but I'd like to explain my reasoning. This film (in my opinion) was created to get the viewer to react and to get your emotions stirring. It is not meant to entertain in the same way that other movies do. There is no finite story. You would probably lose your mind trying to explain the plot. You are just supposed to let yourself go and enjoy. It is a film that I (and most likely everyone else who as ever seen it) will never forget. How many movies can make such a claim?

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Lulled by hype, left with disappointment

5/10
Author: Jonny_Numb from Hellfudge, Pennsylvania
19 April 2006

"Un Chien Andalou" is yet another 'classic' that people seem particularly afraid to speak negatively of, heaven forfend they blaspheme the dearly departed geniuses who birthed it. At 16 minutes, there's not much room for boredom, but a bulk of its alleged 'disturbing' imagery is farcical by today's standards, and what remains didn't provoke any outstanding reaction in me. After watching it with the commentary track, I was left even colder. If you like slit (cow) eyeballs, death's-head moths, and beach scenes, have a ball. Personally, I'm going to give this unspectacular yet influential surrealist short a "5" before my mood swings again...

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Early-Stage Cancer

6/10
Author: Pozdnyshev from Over There
19 September 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This strange little pioneering Surrealist film from 1929 has an overflowing handful of interesting images, and is also quite boring. But I also think it's an early example of societal decay being re-packaged as "groundbreaking." Just look at the images they use. There is an androgynous woman being protected by the police while she puts a severed hand into a box. Then there's a guy dressed up as a nun riding a bike, with the same box. There is a softcore porn scene, extreme violence in close-up, and a man's mouth morphing into a woman's muff.

These are provocative images that mess with facets of human sexuality and the urge for violence that really should be left alone. Men aren't women, and women aren't men, 99% of the time. Period. You mess with people's identities, and this includes gender, then you get serious mental illness.

I happen to believe that this was a film deeply informed by an understanding of human psychology, and how to manipulate it. Yes there are taboos in culture, but they are there for a reason -- if everyone is a mental patient, then the world becomes an asylum. Which most old-timers agree we have now.

Funny, I read Bunuel was also vehemently anti-religion. Huh. Doesn't like absolute morality. I bet he doesn't, people are easier to exploit that way.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Whirlwind

5/10
Author: AbhiMathews from Canada
4 May 2014

This film treads in unfamiliar waters as every scene is essentially unrelated to the next. Surrealism is often hard to capture since filming something so bizarre yet beautiful is a challenge for any director. To make it flow so elegantly is a feat many dare to try.

Un chien andalou is a nice change from common modern flicks. It plays on the idea of complete randomness and lets the plot unfold as it pleases since meaning is arbitrary. The primary goal of the directors was to come up with the story on a whim and they successfully accomplish this task.

Nonetheless, art appears differently to each person. Although I enjoyed the lack of order and freedom for the story to grow in all directions, there was nothing overwhelmingly great about it. Besides the idea, this movie failed to leave any impression.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Imaging the videotape from "The Ring", only set in the '20's and 15 minutes long.

9/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
28 October 2007

This is a rather odd, surreal movie, that is told like a dream-like sequence. It's an amazingly imaginative movie. It's a very graphic movie that features bugs, carcasses, severed limbs, sexuality and whatever more. Some returning elements also in later Luis Buñuel movies.

No, it of course doesn't always makes sense, but what dream has ever fully made sense to you? Of course a lot of elements in the movie are supposed to be symbolic and have a deeper meaning. I guess the more you'll watch this movie, the more you'll understand its purpose and the thing the creators tried to tell with it. Because you're not always sure what you're watching the movie has an eerie and unpleasant atmosphere, which is the reason why it's really comparable, as is it's graphic style, to the dangerous videotape from "The Ring" and the original "Ringu" of course.

I really liked the editing of the movie, that gave the movie lots of pace and helped to tell the story of the movie, with the help of some well placed and effective cuts. The camera-work is innovative and uses some great compositions, that were still quite unusual and new for its time.

Seeing this movie is a weird and unusual experience, but it's really one worth undertaking. Even if you don't get the movie its meaning it's worth it, thanks to amazing creativity and its visual quality.

9/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

whoa

6/10
Author: Lee Eisenberg (lee.eisenberg.pdx@gmail.com) from Portland, Oregon, USA
4 June 2005

As a surrealist, Salvador Dali naturally would want to have everything be weird. And Luis Bunuel was of course someone who sought to push the limits. You'd better believe that "Un chien andalou" (sometimes called "An Andalusian Dog" in the US) takes both to the nth degree. The whole movie is a litany of bizarre images without any dialog. The egg coming from the person's eye was particularly far out.

That said, I guess that we have to appreciate the movie for what it is. I will admit that I don't know whether or not Dali and Bunuel wanted to make a point with "Un chien andalou" (I mean, what would be the point of all that stuff in the movie?). But if absolutely nothing else, they made quite an art movie. Maybe if we find the movie repulsive, we can still admire the artistic qualities.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Dreams

10/10
Author: apeart from Pittsburgh, PA
15 December 2004

Films and dreams have a happy marriage. Eisenstein formulated montage, essentially inventing the art of film, and forever changing the way we dream: dreams are about films. It's a reflexive move, then, to make a film about dreams -- rather, a film that comes over us as a dream.

Really, this is pure cinema. There need be no logic other than the rhythm and cohesion of the editing. The art of film is in the editing.

And complete anarchy in films is always appreciated.

(That's all I wanted to say).

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Madness but not insane!

Author: paulgeaf from United Kingdom
17 July 2003

Seems some people here are trying to do the undoable! There really is no point to this film which is undoubtedly a collection of ideas, images and thoughts, like in any other piece of surreal artwork is filled with real human emotions, events and feelings that are never necessarily linked to one another or go anywhere but the moment they are displayed in.

This short masterpiece (I just watched it once for the first time and I can say that) is a great surreal film.

You could try to analyse the imagery I mean, it contains horror/terror, lust/love violence/anger and then death. I like how this is all included although I have no doubting the words of the makers of this film in that it has No Meaning. Just sit back and be taken on a journey of images to stimulate and speculate over. Nothing more, Nothing less.

10 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Something for everyone?

Author: rzajac from Taichung, Taiwan
13 December 2002

There's something about these kinds of movies--and I don't know if I'm talking about "surrealism" in general or Bunel in particular--where there's something that will come out like a bolt of lightning and zap and fuse a part of your brain that needs zapping.

For me, it was the scene where everything you need to know about sex is revealed. The man straining to drag the household goods across the floor to attain to the object of his desire is *it*. Don't miss it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Inventive

Author: Matt Barry from Baltimore, Maryland
19 September 2002

It is hard to imagine the ideas being created that would become UN CHIEN ANDALOU. It is surely the most inventive and surreal film ever made. Its shock value was a key factor in the later films of John Waters, whose film PINK FLAMINGOS was compared to Bunuel and Dali's UN CHIEN ANDALOU. The slicing of the eyeball must surely be the single most disgusting image ever recorded.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 13 of 15: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history