Week of   « Prev | Next »

1 article

'X-Men: Apocalypse' & 'Alice Through the Looking Glass' to Lead Memorial Day Weekend

26 May 2016 12:00 PM, PDT

Two of the five largest four-day, Memorial Day opening weekends belong to films in the X-Men franchise and this weekend the latest installment, X-Men: Apocalypse, hopes to secure its own spot in the record books. Additionally, Disney arrives with their fifth release of their already, record-breaking year with the sequel Alice Through the Looking Glass. Both films enter a weekend that pits them against some stiff demographic and genre competition, all of which should combine for an increase over Memorial Day weekend last year. Assured to finish #1, X-Men: Apocalypse is Fox's latest installment in the X-Men franchise and it's coming on the heels of X-Men: Days of Future Past, which scored an impressive $90.8 million three-day opening, which ballooned to $110.5 million over the 2014 Memorial Day weekend. Reviews for Apocalypse, however, have been mixed as it currently stands at a 48% rating on RottenTomatoes compared to the 91% for Days of Future Past. In fact, »

- Brad Brevet <mail@boxofficemojo.com>

Permalink | Report a problem

1 article

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners