9 January 2011 11:45 PM, PST | Shadowlocked | See recent Shadowlocked news »

The movie world is chock full of classic trilogies: Sergio Leone’s 'Man With No Name' (or 'Dollars') (1964 - 1966), Francis Ford Coppola’s Godfather (1972 - 1990 -- the first two films of which were so outstanding that they made up for the shortcomings of the lacklustre third instalment), Robert Zemeckis’s Back to the Future (1985 - 1990), and Pixar’s Toy Story (1995 - 2010) trilogy are but four examples.

The crucial thing that makes them classic trilogies, however, and this may be an obvious point but one that seems to have been overlooked time and again by the powers that be in Hollywood, is that they all contain three films. No more, no less.

As a result, they are frozen for all eternity with their classic status intact, and due to a number of factors they will stay that way - namely the fact that Eastwood is all but retired from the acting side of the camera, »

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977)
Joss Whedon
Ridley Scott

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners