4 January 2011 9:43 PM, PST | SoundOnSight | See recent SoundOnSight news »

The Writers Guild of America has announced their nominations for the best screenplays of 2010. If you are like me and you like to bet on who’s going to win at the Oscars, you will want to take a close look at the nominees. The Writers Guild of America is one of the strongest voting bodies in Hollywood and usually a reliable predictor for Oscar gold. In fact the winner of the WGA award has gone on to win the Oscar in the same category 11 of the last 16 years. Oscar favourites Winter’s Bone, Toy Story 3 and  The Kings Speech failed to meet eligibility requirements to be considered, and was therefore disqualified (as were a number of other scripts).

Check out their 2010 nominees below from the press release:

Original Screenplay

Black Swan, Screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; Story by Andres Heinz; Fox Searchlight

The Fighter, »

- Ricky

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Christopher Nolan (I)
Ben Affleck
Paramount Pictures [us]

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners