5 June 2014 7:58 AM, PDT | We Got This Covered | See recent We Got This Covered news »

Director Darren Aronofsky is moving from mastering the scale of a great Biblical flood in his 2014 drama Noah to taking on The Year of the Flood. The Black Swan director has been tapped to possibly helm a drama series on HBO, based on an acclaimed trilogy of dystopian “speculative” sci-fi novels from author Margaret Atwood. Aronofsky is already signed on to executive produce MaddAddam through his Protozoa Pictures banner, and he definitely has the credentials to direct as well.

The trilogy of novels include Atwood’s Oryx and Crake (2003), The Year of the Flood (2009) and MaddAddam (2013). The series takes place during the mid-21st century, where corporate villains reign, governments have fallen, and society has embraced genetic modifications. Much of the story occurs after a Waterless Flood (i.e. a man-made plague) has wiped out most of civilization. The characters focused on in Atwood’s novels consist of some of »

- Jordan Adler

Report a problem

Similar News Items

"True Blood" (2008)
Black Swan (2010)
Darren Aronofsky

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners