No National award for The Lunchbox?

No National award for The Lunchbox?
The 61st National Films Awards Jury Chairperson Saeed Akhtar Mirza, Feature Film Jury (Central Panel) holding a press conference to announce the 61st National Films Awards for the year 2013, in New Delhi on April 16, 2014. Photo source: Ministry of I&B, Govt. of India

After the Oscar selection committee, it’s now the National Film Awards jury that has snubbed Ritesh Batra’s The Lunchbox. The film, which has gained immense success and critical acclaim internationally, doesn’t figure in the list of 31 Indian films that have won national awards in 40 categories.

The 61st National Film Awards jury headed by veteran filmmaker Saeed Akhtar Mirza announced the winners Wednesday. While the 11-member jury has shown a clear inclination towards independent films which took the awards in all the major categories; the absence of The Lunchbox from the long list of winners is striking.

Batra’s The Lunchbox started its journey at
See full article at »

Similar News