20 March 2014 2:20 PM, PDT | Hitfix | See recent Hitfix news »

Coming off its 30th anniversary showcase at SXSW, Def Jam continues to celebrate its milestone year by releasing four reissues this month: Kanye West’s “808s & Heartbreak”; Public Enemy’s “Icon”; Ludacris’ “Back For The First Time” and T La Rock/Jazzy Jay’s “It’s Yours.” Check out the details below. Rick Rubin and Russell Simmons started Def Jam in a New York University dorm room and went on to release some of the most significant albums in hip-hop. The label’s current roster includes 2 Chainz, Frank Ocean, Big Sean and Jhene Aiko. “We have seen this homegrown American music grow from a local underground scene to a worldwide phenomenon,” Rubin and Simmons said in a statement. “Today Def Jam remains the gold standard for taste, culture, and revolutionary thought. To quote the Chuck D line: 'Def Jam tells you who I am…'"   Here’s the complete list »

- Whitney Phaneuf

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Kanye West
Russell Simmons
Big Sean (I)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners