31 January 2014 9:35 AM, PST | Scott Feinberg | See recent Scott Feinberg news »

By Søren Hough


* * *

3D. Motion capture. High frame rate.

We live in an age where technological perfection is not only possible, but expected. Computer generated sound and visual effects are better than ever before. As a result, modern cinema is bound only by the imaginations of filmmakers. This year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences saw fit to reward one film with an astounding seven nominations for such technological achievements: Alfonso Cuarón’s Gravity. The movie is now in the race for Best Cinematography, Best Film Editing, Best Original Score, Best Production Design, Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing and Best Visual Effects.

Historically only four films other than Gravity have scored these nominations. Starting with Titanic in 1997, the other movies to earn this honor were Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2002), Hugo (2011) and Life of Pi (2012). Even Peter Jackson’s Oscar-sweeping The Return of the King »

- Søren Hough

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Christopher Nolan (I)
Ben Affleck
George Clooney

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners