27 January 2014 6:12 AM, PST | Scott Feinberg | See recent Scott Feinberg news »

By Terence Johnson

Managing Editor

The Writers Guild awards are going to be held this weekend and if there’s one race that’s still up for grabs it’s the Original Screenplay category. Despite the limited fields dude to eligibility rules, there’s still a lot riding on the choices the WGA will make. The two big contenders for the prize this year are American Hustle and Her. But which film is in the top position to win the Oscar?

If we look at the era of the Bfca, Golden Globe, and WGA all handing out prizes (ie. since 1995), there has never been a film that has won all three precursors and lost the Oscar. The films that have won are:

1998: Shakespeare in Love

1999: American Beauty

2011: Midnight in Paris

In addition, these are the films that won two or more of those precursors and won the »

- Terence Johnson

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Django Unchained (2012)
American Hustle (2013)
Midnight in Paris (2011)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners