8 January 2014 1:28 PM, PST | Manny the Movie Guy | See recent Manny the Movie Guy news »

The American Society of Cinematographers (Asc) has revealed the nominees in the theatrical motion picture category of the 28th Annual Asc Awards for Outstanding Achievement.

.Our members believe these cinematographers have set the contemporary standard for artful, theatrical motion picture cinematography,. says Asc President Richard Crudo. .They have mastered a complex craft which contributes vitally to the storytelling process, and augments the intentions of everyone involved with the production..

In other words, the cinematographers pick who they think created the most beautifully and thematically constructed movies of 2013!

And in a year full of great movies, even the Asc was having a tough time narrowing their choices. Normally, they select five nominees, but there was a three-way tie this year that resulted to seven contenders.

The winner will be revealed on February 1! Here's the complete list of Asc nominees:

Sean Bobbitt, Bsc for 12 Years a Slave

Barry Ackroyd, Bsc for Captain Phillips »

- Manny

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Skyfall (2012)
The Hurt Locker (2008)
Gravity (2013)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners