8 January 2014 11:19 AM, PST | ScreenDaily | See recent ScreenDaily news »

In a break from tradition, a three-way tie has forced the American Society Of Cinematographers to select seven rather than the usual five nominees.

The nominees are: Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years A Slave; Barry Ackroyd for Captain Phillips; Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster; Emmanuel Lubezki for Gravity; Bruno Delbonnel for Inside Llewyn Davis; Phedon Papamichael for Nebraska (pictured); and Roger Deakins for Prisoners.

This is Deakins’ 12th nod and he won last year for Skyfall and previously for The Shawshank Redemption in 1995 and The Man Who Wasn’t There in 2002. He received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Lubezki has been nominated three times before and won the Asc prize for The Tree Of Life in 2012 and Children Of Men in 2007.

Delbonnel has been nominated twice before and won for A Very Long Engagement in 2005.

Ackroyd has been nominted once before. This is Papamichael’s first feature nod and this is the first Asc nod for both »

- jeremykay67@gmail.com (Jeremy Kay)

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Skyfall (2012)
Gravity (2013)
The Tree of Life (2011)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners