16 December 2013 3:47 PM, PST | Manny the Movie Guy | See recent Manny the Movie Guy news »

With the Indiana Film Journalists Association, we get the usual suspects -- "12 Years a Slave" winning the top award! But I'm happy to report that the Association also gave the film's helmer, Steve McQueen, the best director award (not the favorite Alfonso Cuaron for "Gravity").

Other surprising choices -- Adèle Exarchopoulos won Best Actress for "Blue is the Warmest Color," and Barkhad Abdi winning the Best Supporting Actor trophy for "Captain Phillips."

Here's the complete list of winners of the 2013 Indiana Film Journalists Association:

Best Film: "12 Years a Slave" (Runner-up: "Her")

Other Finalists (alphabetical)

"All is Lost"

"Before Midnight"

"Captain Phillips"

"Frances Ha"



"Spring Breakers"

"The Wolf of Wall Street"

Best Director: Steve McQueen, "12 Years a Slave" (Runner-up: Spike Jonze, "Her")

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, "12 Years a Slave" (Runner-up: Matthew McConaughey, "Dallas Buyers Club")

Best Actress: Adèle Exarchopoulos, "Blue is the Warmest Color" (Runner-up: Brie Larson, "Short Term 12 »

- Manny

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Jennifer Lawrence (III)
Matthew McConaughey
Jeremy Renner

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners