17 December 2013 7:33 AM, PST | Indiewire | See recent Indiewire news »

The Chicago Film Critics Association announced their annual award winners last night, offering Steve McQueen's "12 Years a Slave" 5 prizes from the 11 nominations it had received from the group last week. Those prizes included best picture, best actor (Chiwetel Ejiofor), best supporting actress (Lupita Nyong'o), best director (Steve McQueen) and best adapted screenplay (John Ridley). Ejiofor and Nyong'o were joined in the acting winners circle by the expected likes of Cate Blanchett and Jared Leto, who have swept their respective categories. Other winners included "Gravity" (which won three technical prizes), "Her" (which won for original screenplay and score) and "The Act of Killing" (which impressively won both best foreign language film and best documentary). Full list of winners and nominations below. Best Picture 12 Years A Slave American Hustle Gravity Her Inside Llewyn Davis Best Director Joel & Ethan CoenInside Llewyn Davis Alfonso CuaronGravity »

- Peter Knegt

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Cate Blanchett
Jared Leto
American Hustle (2013)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners