27 November 2013 9:06 AM, PST | Digital Spy | See recent Digital Spy - Movie News news »

12 Years a Slave is leading the nominations for the 2014 Independent Spirit Awards.

Steve McQueen's slavery drama has been shortlisted for seven awards in total, picking up nods in the Best Feature, Director, Screenplay and Cinematography categories, while stars Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender and Lupita Nyong'o were all among the acting nominees.

12 Years a Slave will compete for Best Feature alongside All Is Lost, Frances Ha, Inside Llewyn Davis and Nebraska, which earned six nominations in total.

The Spirit Awards will be held in Los Angeles on March 1, 2014, the day before the Academy Awards. The ceremony will be hosted by actor and comedian Patton Oswalt.

Nominees in the major categories are listed below:

Best Feature

12 Years A Slave

All Is Lost

Frances Ha

Inside Llewyn Davis


Best Director

J.C. Chandor (All Is Lost)

Jeff Nichols (Mud)

Alexander Payne (Nebraska)

Steve McQueen (12 Years A Slave)

Shane Carruth (Upstream Colour)

Best »

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Michael Fassbender
Matthew McConaughey
Cate Blanchett

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners