7 October 2013 9:58 AM, PDT | Variety - Film News | See recent Variety - Film News news »

Three people have been named the first governors of the new casting directors branch at the  Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

David Rubin is elected to a three-year term; Bernie Telsey is elected to a two-year term; and Lora Kennedy is elected to a one-year term.

“The addition of these exceptional professionals to our Board is another positive step toward making our organization more inclusive and more reflective of the broader industry,” Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs said in a statement. “We welcome them, their ideas and their insights wholeheartedly.”

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The addition of the casting directors Branch was approved by the board in July of this year.


- Tim Gray

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Cheryl Boone Isaacs
Bernard Telsey
Lora Kennedy

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners