11 August 2013 10:02 AM, PDT | Gold Derby | See recent Gold Derby news »

Maggie Smith (“Downton Abbey”) is the defending Best Drama Supporting Actress champ. She also won in 2011 for the same role but in the movie/miniseries category. The last person to take this category two consecutive times was Blythe Danner (“Huff”) in 2005 and 2006. Christine Baranski (“The Good Wife”) is the only other nominee who has won an Emmy (“Cybill,” 1995). Morena Baccarin (“Homeland”) and Emilia Clarke (“Game of Thrones”) are first-time Emmy nominees. At age 26, Clarke (“Game of Thrones”) would be the second youngest person to win this category. Kristy McNichol (“Family”) was 15 and 17 when she won in 1977 and 1979. Katherine Heigl (“Grey’s Anatomy”) was 28 when she won in 2007. Smith would break her own record as oldest winner of this category. She was age 77 last year. Related: Emmy fun facts & »

Report a problem

Similar News Items

"Game of Thrones" (2011)
"The Good Wife" (2009)
"Downton Abbey" (2010)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners