31 July 2013 10:40 AM, PDT | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

The 23rd Annual Gotham Film Awards will take place on Monday, December 2, at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. For the first time, the Gothams will present newly added competitive categories for Best Actress and Actor. Additionally, the Breakthrough Director Award has been renamed in honor of late distribution executive Bingham Ray. The Gothams give early critical recognition for stand-out independent films and their writers, producers, director and actors. Past winners include "Moonrise Kingdom," "Beasts of the Southern Wild," "Beginners," "The Tree of Life," "Winter's Bone" and "The Hurt Locker," all of which went on to receive Oscar nominations. (Our coverage of last year's winners is here.) Submissions are now open for the 2013 awards. Applications along with full criteria are available at the Gothams' website. »

- Beth Hanna

Report a problem

Similar News Items

The Hurt Locker (2008)
The Tree of Life (2011)
Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners