26 March 2013 11:23 AM, PDT | The Geek Files | See recent The Geek Files news »

Paramount Pictures and MGM Studios today announced several new members have signed on to the movie Hercules, starring Dwayne Johnson and directed by Brett Ratner.

The new cast members are Ian McShane (above; Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Jack The Giant Slayer, Snow White and the Huntsman), Rufus Sewell (below; Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter), Joseph Fiennes (Shakespeare in Love, American Horror Story, Camelot, FlashForward), Rebecca Ferguson (The BBC's The White Queen), Aksel Hennie (Headhunters) and John Hurt (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy).

The film is set to begin production in May.

Based on Radical Studio's graphic novel Hercules: The Thracian Wars, the ensemble action film is a revisionist take on the classic myth set in a grounded world where the supernatural does not exist. The screenplay is by Ryan Condal and Evan Spiliotopoulos.

Producers are Beau Flynn, Barry Levine and Brett Ratner; executive producers are Peter Berg, »

- David Bentley

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Warner Bros. [us]
Paramount Pictures [us]
"American Horror Story" (2011)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners