21 March 2013 8:30 AM, PDT | HeyUGuys.co.uk | See recent HeyUGuys news »

First Light is an organisation that importantly encourages young filmmakers under the age of 25, and helps to develop their talents.

Their annual awards ceremony returned to London this week, when the winners of the 2013 First Light Awards were announced. The young filmmakers were given the opportunity to walk the red carpet in style at the Leicester Square Odeon, rubbing shoulders with the likes of Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Olivia Williams, Rafe Spall, Jason Maza, and Joely Richardson.

All of the above were on hand to present awards at the ceremony; a perfect example of how our current industry should be (and, clearly, are) helping to nurture the talents for the generations to come.

Because, let’s face it, if you’re presented with an award from Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg for Best Comedy, or the Best Drama from Chiwetel Ejiofor and Joely Richardson, then you know you’re doing something right. »

- Kenji Lloyd

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Simon Pegg
Edgar Wright
Jason Maza

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners