28 February 2013 1:16 AM, PST | Alt Film Guide | See recent Alt Film Guide news »

Cannes Fest gets Lincoln director to preside jury Steven Spielberg may have lost the Best Director Academy Award last Sunday evening, but he has won the presidency of the jury of this year's upcoming Cannes Film Festival. Following on the footsteps of Italian filmmaker Nanni Moretti, who headed last year's jury that awarded Michael Haneke's drama Amour the coveted Palme d'Or, Spielberg will preside the jury at the next Cannes Film Festival, which runs from May 15 to 26. (Pictured above: Steven Spielberg looking straight at the camera.) So far, Spielberg has won only one award at the Cannes Fest: as one of the writers (along with Matthew Robbins and Hal Barwood) of the 1974 drama The Sugarland Express, starring Goldie Hawn and William Atherton, and which Spielberg himself directed. Also, E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial had its world premiere at Cannes as the closing-night gala film in 1982, while the melodrama The Color Purple »

- Zac Gille

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Tom Cruise
Steven Spielberg
Ben Affleck

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners