And the winners of the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards are...

It was the final stop on the road to the Academy Awards last night as Hollywood celebrated the very best in independent cinema with the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards. The big winner on the night was Oscar hopeful Silver Linings Playbook, which was honoured with Best Feature, Best Director (David O. Russell), Best Screenplay (David O. Russell) and Best Female Lead (Jennifer Lawrence). John Hawkes was named Best Male Lead for The Sessions, while Helen Hunt (The Sessions) and Matthew McConaughey (Magic Mike) were both successful in the Supporting categories.

Other winners included Michael Haneke's Amour, which was named Best International Film, along with Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Best First Feature) and Safety Not Guaranteed, with Derek Connolly receiving the award for Best First Screenplay. Here's the full list of nominees for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards, with the winners highlighted in red:

See full article at Flickeringmyth »

Similar News