18 February 2013 2:55 AM, PST | The Playlist | See recent The Playlist news »

We're now in the final seven days of the 2012/2013 awards season. This time next week we'll be bleary eyed, a little hungover, and probably quite ready to never see Seth MacFarlane tell another joke about "Django Unchained" for the rest of our lives. But there's still been some time to squeeze in some precursor awards, and after the Eddies on Saturday, last night saw the last major pre-Oscars ceremony, in the shape of the final of the four big guilds, the Writers' Guild of America. And, true to the form of the season, it was Ben Affleck's "Argo" that walked away with one of the big prizes, the film's writer Chris Terrio taking the award for Outstanding Achievement in Writing - Adapted Screenplay, beating out David O Russell, David Magee, Tony Kushner and Stephen Chbosky. It's one of the tougher categories we've seen this year, but given the swell »

- Oliver Lyttelton

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Ben Affleck
Django Unchained (2012)
Seth MacFarlane

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners