11 February 2013 3:01 AM, PST | Gold Derby | See recent Gold Derby news »

Roger Deakins won the American Society of Cinematographers award Sunday for "Skyfall." This marks his third Asc win from 11 nominations, having previously prevailed for "The Shawshank Redemption" (1994) and "The Man Who Wasn't There" (2001).   However, as Deakins knows all too well, these guild kudos have only predicted 10 of the past 26 Oscar winners. He did not repeat at the Oscars for either of his previous Asc wins: in 1994, John Toll won for "Legends of the Fall" and in 2001, Andrew Lesnie won for "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings."  "Skyfall" marks Deakin's 10th Oscar bid. Among those he edged out for the Asc award were three of his Oscar rivals -- frontrunner Claudio Miranda ("Life of Pi") who won the BAFTA Sunday; Seamus McGarvey ("Anna Karenina"); and Janusz Kaminski ("Lincoln") -- as well as  »

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Skyfall (2012)
Life of Pi (2012)
Anna Karenina (2012/I)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners