11 February 2013 2:15 AM, PST | Indiewire | See recent Indiewire news »

Roger Deakins' work on the James Bond film "Skyfall" won him an American Society of Cinematographers (Asc) Award for Outstanding Achievement in Film, it was announced last night. He was joined by winners from the television world from "Game of Thrones," "Hunted," "Wilfred" and "Great Expectations." This is Deakins third Asc Award (he previously won for "The Shawshank Redemption" and "The Man Who Wasn't There"), though he has yet to win an Oscar. The past 5 years has seen 3 of the Asc Film Award winners going on to take the Oscar for best cinematography, though last year was one of the occasions that did not occur -- "The Tree of Life" won with the Asc and "Hugo" won the Oscar. Full press release below. Los Angeles – Roger Deakins, Asc, Bsc; Balazs Bolygo, Hsc; Kramer Morgenthau, Asc; Florian Hoffmeister; and Bradford Lipson claimed top honors in the four competitive »

- Peter Knegt

Report a problem

Similar News Items

"Game of Thrones" (2011)
Skyfall (2012)
The Tree of Life (2011)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners