9 February 2013 11:42 PM, PST | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

Unstoppable awards juggernaut "Argo" won yet another award Saturday night as New York screenwriter Chris Terrio, Wired journalist Joshuah Bearman ("The Great Escape") and ex-cia analyst Tony Mendez ("The Master of Disguise")  won the 25th annual Scripter Award. Scripter awards go to adapted scripts as well as the original writers. It may have been just as well that the expected Scripter winners, "Team of Rivals" author Doris Kearns Goodwin and "Lincoln" screenwriter Tony Kushner, were snowed in on the East Coast. "We're an anxious breed," said Bearman as he accepted for the BAFTA-bound Terrio and Mendez. Adaptations are scary, he added. But in this case producer Chris Brigham, who encouraged him to write the Tony Mendez story after it became declassified in 1997, saying it would make a great movie, and Smokehouse's Grant Heslov and George Clooney, who optioned the material adapted by Chris Terrio, and »

- Anne Thompson

Report a problem

Similar News Items

George Clooney
Argo (2012)
Chris Terrio

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners