3 February 2013 8:59 AM, PST | Pop2it | See recent Pop2it news »

The Directors Guild Awards has been an extremely reliable predictor of the Oscar winner for best director over the years. It won't be this year, though.

Ben Affleck, who isn't nominated for a directing Oscar for "Argo," won the DGA Award for feature films Saturday night (Feb. 2). He beat out fellow nominees Kathryn Bigelow ("Zero Dark Thirty"), Tom Hooper ("Les Miserables"), Ang Lee ("Life of Pi") and Steven Spielberg ("Lincoln").

Affleck's Oscar snub is looking ever more curious as he's now won the DGA Award, a Golden Globe and a Critics' Choice Award for his direction of "Argo."

Related: Oscar snubs and surprises

All the DGA Award winners:

Feature film: Ben Affleck, "Argo"

Documentary: Malik Bendjelloul, "Searching for Sugar Man"

TV movie/miniseries: Jay Roach, "Game Change"

Drama series: Rian Johnson, "Breaking Bad" - "Fifty-One"

Comedy series: Lena Dunham, "Girls" - "Pilot"

Musical variety: Glenn Weiss, "66th Annual Tony Awards"

Reality programs: Brian Smith, »

- editorial@zap2it.com

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Steven Spielberg
Ben Affleck
"Breaking Bad" (2008)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners