3 February 2013 8:00 AM, PST | Vulture | See recent Vulture news »

Argo continued its pre-Oscars prize-winning streak at last night's Directors Guild of America ceremony, where Ben Affleck received the award for outstanding movie direction, beating out Kathryn Bigelow, Tom Hooper, Ang Lee, and Steven Spielberg. "I don't this makes me a real director," said a humble-ish Affleck during his acceptance speech. "But I think it means I'm on my way." That sounds about right to us — after all, it's hard to feel like a real director without Academy approval. Meanwhile, on the TV end, Rian Johnson won the drama series award for directing an episode of Breaking Bad ("Fifty-One") and Lena Dunham took home the comedy series prize for the Girls pilot. »

- Caroline Bankoff

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Steven Spielberg
Ben Affleck
"Breaking Bad" (2008)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners