30 January 2013 4:06 PM, PST | IF.com.au | See recent IF.com.au news »

It was a glorious evening for The Sapphires at the 2nd Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards Ceremony last night, with the feature film bagging six Aacta awards, including Best Film and Best Director.

The awards top off what has been a sparkling year for the Sapphires team, who have already won a host of international audience choice awards and enjoyed great box office success in Australia.

Other than Best Film and Best Director (Wayne Blair), the musical drama took home the Aacta award for Best Lead Actress (Deborah Mailman), Best Lead Actor (Chris O'Dowd), Best Supporting Actress (Jessica Mauboy) and Best Adapted Screenplay (Keith Thompson, Tony Briggs), bringing their Aacta award total to eleven. (The film picked up a further five awards at the Aacta luncheon held on Monday.)

The film also bagged the news.com.au Audience Choice Award for Most Memorable Screen Moment.

The »

- Emily Blatchford

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Russell Crowe
Chris O'Dowd
The Sapphires (2012)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners