23 January 2013 1:04 AM, PST | Digital Spy | See recent Digital Spy - Movie News news »

Sir Alan Parker will receive the Academy Fellowship at this year's Ee BAFTA ceremony. The honour is the highest accolade handed out by BAFTA for outstanding and exceptional contribution to film. Previous recipients of the award include Alfred Hitchcock, Steven Spielberg, Sean Connery, Judi Dench, Vanessa Redgrave, Christopher Lee and Martin Scorsese. "When you make your first film, you're sure it will be your last," Parker said. "And then you squeeze your eyes together and suddenly, 40 years later, you're at BAFTA getting an award like this. I'm of course enormously flattered and honoured." BAFTA chairman John Willis added: "Sir Alan Parker is a hugely distinctive filmmaker, and a man of uncompromising vision and personality. He has made an immense contribution to the British film (more) »

- By Simon Reynolds

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Steven Spielberg
Martin Scorsese (I)
Judi Dench

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners