20 January 2013 5:04 PM, PST | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

On a snowy night in the city, in a ceremony held at the Mayfair Hotel, the London Critics' Circle expressed their admiration for Michael Haneke's "Amour" by awarding it three prizes: Film of the Year, Actress of the Year for Emmanuelle Riva and Screenwriter of the Year for Haneke. The victories add a nice head of steam to "Amour"'s awards-season campaign, with Riva in particular getting a boost in the run-up to the BAFTAs and Oscars. "The Master", which had been neck and neck with "Amour" with seven nominations, claimed wins for Joaquin Phoenix and Philip Seymour Hoffman respectively as Actor of the Year and Supporting Actor of the Year. Neither was on hand to receive their prizes in person, although Phoenix did send an eccentric thank you that was read out by Kate Muir, the film critic for the London Times (it's transcribed in full below, along »

- Matt Mueller

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Philip Seymour Hoffman
Joaquin Phoenix
The Master (2012)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners