9 January 2013 9:52 AM, PST | Hollywoodnews.com | See recent Hollywoodnews.com news »

Seamus McGarvey, Asc, Bsc (Anna Karenina), Danny Cohen, Bsc (Les Miserables), Claudio Miranda, Asc (Life of Pi), Janusz Kaminski (Lincoln) and Roger Deakins, Asc, Bsc (Skyfall) have been nominated in the feature film category of the 27th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (Asc) Awards for Outstanding Achievement. The winner will be announced at the Asc Awards celebration on February 10 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom. “The films our members have nominated are visually distinctive, and very diverse: a theatrical epic, a grand musical, an imaginative 3-D fable, a sweeping biographical drama, and a stylish spy thriller,” notes Asc President Stephen Lighthill. “What they all have in common is that each project’s cinematographer contributed captivating visuals that enhanced and elevated the storytelling.” This year’s nod brings Deakins’ total to 11. He won Asc Awards for The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations were for Fargo (1997), Kundun (1998), O Brother, »

- vmblog@hollywoodnews.com (Vitale Morum)

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Skyfall (2012)
True Grit (2010)
Life of Pi (2012)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners