8 January 2013 1:43 PM, PST | Filmofilia | See recent Filmofilia news »

A strong indicator of who will win the Best Director Oscar in February has arrived this afternoon, as The Directors Guild of America has released nominees for its 2013 awards.

Four DGA and Oscar-directing winners and one newcomer were nominated for the 65th annual award for directorial achievement in feature film for 2012.

The only newcomer is Ben Affleck, who landed his first Directors Guild film award nomination for Iran hostage thriller Argo.

Four past winners of the DGA Award are Kathryn Bigelow, nominated for Zero Dark Thirty; Tom Hooper, Les Miserables; Ang Lee, Life of Pi; and 11-time nominee Steven Spielberg, Lincoln.

Among the directors absent from the list this year are previous DGA Award nominees: Django Unchained’s Quentin Tarantino, Silver Linings Playbook’s David O. Russell, The Master’s Paul Thomas Anderson along with Moonrise Kingdom’s Wes Anderson.

DGA members are often members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Science. »

- Nick Martin

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Warner Bros. [us]
Steven Spielberg
Ben Affleck

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners