8 January 2013 10:15 AM, PST | Thompson on Hollywood | See recent Thompson on Hollywood news »

The Directors Guild of America's five feature film nominations often indicate the frontrunners in the Oscar race. Very rarely (six times since 1948) has the DGA winner not gone on to accept the gold statue. Left out of this list are David O. Russell ("Silver Linings Playbook") and Quentin Tarantino ("Django Unchained").  This means that all five nominees are for studio releases, for the first time since 1991. ("Zero Dark Thirty" was an indie-financed Sony pick-up.) The winners will accept their award at the 65th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, February 2, 2013 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.  The nominees are (in alphabetical order): Ben Affleck Argo (Warner Bros. Pictures)  Mr. Affleck’s Directorial Team: ·         Unit Production Manager:  Amy Herman »

- Anne Thompson

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Warner Bros. [us]
Ben Affleck
Quentin Tarantino

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners